We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE! Wanted a nice, family vacation to Six Flags. NOT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Vallejo
Winston, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE! Wanted a nice, family vacation to Six Flags. NOT!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel July 27 and 28 of 2013. The first night, we arrived in the late evening, and were given a room on the second floor. We walked a VERY long way from the parking lot to our room (we had to lug our family and luggage through a black metal gate, through the courtyard, by the pool, up a set of stairs and around the top of the building to get to our room). We about fainted when we saw the condition of the room. The non-smoking room smelled like old cigarette smoke. The carpet was stained and appeared to have not been vacuumed. The pillow cases and bed spread had stains on them. The mini refrigerator had a big gap around it where it didn’t quite fit in the cabinet, and there was dirt and cobwebs all around it. The drawer above the fridge was filthy. The faucet by the microwave did not work at all. The bathroom floor was dirty and had hairs on it. The bathtub had mold growing around it. Although we booked in advance, and let the hotel know we were a family coming, they gave us only TWO bath towels. We asked for two port-a-beds (cots) and they were in the room. However, when our son went to use it, it was completely broken, and he had to sleep on the thin mattress on the floor. Dated and dirty wallpaper hung on the wall, and someone named Jon signed their name on it. There were staples all over the ceiling, as if someone had thrown a party there. Our children were so disgusted with the room that they slept with their clothes on, on top of the sheets. The couch had gross stains on it as well. The breakfast buffet was terrible. They ran out of coffee, and it took forever for them to make more. There is only one waffle maker, so there were 20 people in line to get a waffle. Unless you love loads of carbs for breakfast, there is nothing else to eat! The intake vent in the breakfast room was FILTHY! I took pictures of everything, and reported our disappointment to the person in charge. They said since we booked from hotels.com, they couldn’t do anything but switch us to a different room in the morning. Reluctantly, and because it was very late and we were tired, we went to bed. I pulled back the sheets and noticed that there were long hairs and dirt between the sheets. I pulled off the bedspread, and there was even more dirt under it! The next morning, the staff gave us a different room on the first floor near the pool. The room smelled MUCH better and appeared to be remodeled; however, it was STILL dirty! I again pulled back the sheets and noticed long, dark hairs between the sheets, a cigarette butt and a half-eaten cracker in the window sill (this, too, was a non-smoking room), cigarette burns on the white sheer curtains, and dirt and dust all around the edges of the room. The people above us sounded like wild elephants tromping around. Again, we reported this to the front desk person who told us that because we booked this online through a DOT COM place, they could do nothing about it. Due to the fact that we were in Vallejo, and we could not get another room on such short notice, we were stuck. NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. Loud people, paper-thin walls, torn wallpaper, hair in the sheets, broken bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thevandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon J, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We're sincerely sorry for your experience. We completely understand your frustration us, and that level of service you experienced is not tolerable. We have already began to take steps to make sure our rooms are more thoroughly cleaned before our guests check in. If you have any additional suggestions for us to improve, please let us know.

Best,
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    44
    49
    95
    233
See reviews for
239
78
28
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel was good, the grounds weren't well kept, a lot of trash around. The breakfast was well lets say a train wreck.
The bathroom has mold around the window seal. The shower head is made for shorter people. The AC didn't work and it was over 100 outside, they had no extra rooms to give us, so we suffered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Charity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon J, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Charity, thank you for taking the time to review us. We're truly sorry about the air conditioner; we understand how uncomfortable it is to stay in a room that hot. We have since fixed it. We'll be sure to use your feedback to make sure the other issues you mentioned are fixed right away as well.

Best,
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce City, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked two rooms for July 17-19, 2013. We entered our rooms the first smell was mold. There was mold growing 1 inch thick in the bathroom window sill. The sheets were so dirty that EVERY stain showed up when we used our black light. Mattresses were stained & worn. The bathtub still had hair in it, refirgerator hadn't been clean in months! We went to the hotel desk to switch rooms but was told there was nothing available & was told these were their older rooms. The rooms on Ares Hotel were the newly revenated rooms which didn't say so on the website. We were given "clean" sheets to remake our beds. Needless to say we checked out the next day & I have been fighting with Ares Hotel and Tickets to get a refund. DO NOT STAY HERE UNLESS YOU LIKE SLEEPING IN SOMEONE ELSE FILTH!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here the rooms are filthy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vallejo
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 18 in Vallejo
130 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Vallejo Napa Valley
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Six Flags/Vallejo/Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom
2.3 mi away
Regency Inn
Regency Inn
#6 of 18 in Vallejo
26 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom

Property: Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom
Address: 44 Admiral Callaghan Ln, Vallejo, CA 94591-4004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Vallejo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Vallejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites of Vallejo! Centrally located and very affordable, we provide a basic clean and comfortable room for all of your business or leisurely accommodations. With 78 rooms, two meeting and banquet halls, a beautiful pool and ample parking for small RV's and buses, this is a welcoming abode for travelers of all types! We try to maintain the historical feel while offering many modern amenities. Our rooms have free wireless internet, cable and local calls. Our rooms have coffee makers, refrigerators and microwaves. Additionally, there is an internet station but no printer. We also provide easy access to all of the Bay Area's most popular attractions! From everyone at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, we look forward to having you stay with us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Vallejo Hotel Vallejo
Vallejo Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing