We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff was very friendly but the room was not very...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Vallejo
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The staff was very friendly but the room was not very clean. It was never vacuumed the entire time we were there and I don't even think it was vacuumed before! Toilet didn't work very well. Not happy with me experience there . Will not stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOVALLEJO, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

I am sorry to hear that your stay was unsatisfactory. I would like to get more information about your stay if you would please contact us so that we may address these issues. If I could get your room number and date of stay I would be able to track the housekeeper responsible for cleaning your room. We will take steps necessary to make sure this doesn't happen again. Please e-mail me at sales@howardjohnsonvallejo.com. If there is anything we can do to change your mind about staying here again please let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 488 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Staying there was a nightmare all around. Room was not very clean and had an indescribable odor. Shuttle service to Six Flags allegedly broke down while my family was waiting to go to the park. Ended up having to pay to park and was told I would get reimbursed However after getting the run around several times I was only reimbursed half of the cost for parking. The breakfast was not as described nor did any of the food they did have look desirable so we chose to eat elsewhere. As it turned out I ended up paying more for the stay there than I would have if I stayed at the courtyard by the park. However they did let me check in early so there was something positive about the stay. The do have a sign in the lobby stating there are no refunds on the rooms so speculate many people are not satisfied.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOVALLEJO, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

I apologize about the inconvenience you had during your stay. It is unfortunate that the shuttle was not running the day of your stay, our guests safety if very important to us so when we notice anything strange with the van that we use we take it to be serviced right away instead of taking the risk of an accident. I also apologize for the miscommunication with getting your parking fee reimbursed. This is why we have posted a no refund policy on our lobby, so that our guest doesn't ask our front desk personnel for any refund because they are not authorized to do so. The management was not aware of this agreement but to meet you halfway we have decided to return at least half of the cost of the parking. We will work better in insuring our van is guest ready on the park's operating days. Thank you for staying with us. If you would give us the chance to serve you again I would like to offer a special rate for your next stay. Just send me an e-mail at sales@howardjohnsonvallejo.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed two night with my 3 kids. The rooms were basic, but they did have a microwave and refrigerator. Very nice to have when you have kids in the room. The bedding did have some stains on them, but they were clean. We were there on a windy day and there was a draft in the door so the room was a little bit cold. The only thing I could say bad about the room was there was a smell of mold in the room. I have a very sensitive nose and can smell everything. I didn't bother me though. Overall great stay!!! Will be coming back in the summer to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOVALLEJO, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. We would love to have you stay with us again. If there is anything I can do to help make sure your next stay would be better than this one please contact me at sales@howardjohnsonvallejo.com. I would love to hear from you! Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The worst place to stay EVER! I have been in many hotels but this is the worst. Stains on carpet, sink clogged, nasty smell, horrible bedding n furniture is so out dated with decor. I will NEVER stay here again even if given to me as free stay. They charged me $216.00 dollars for one night stay n i felt like I was in a dump. Don't even think about taking your kids to this. They might need shorts or antibiotics after that. Nasty

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shareena002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOVALLEJO, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

I am sorry to hear that your stay was this bad. However, we have never charged any guest $216 for a one night stay even if there was any special event going on. If you could please contact us so that we can get more information like the room number and date of stay so that we can speak to the housekeeper assigned to clean your room. We will take necessary actions to make sure this doesn't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

When I called down to reception for extra pillows I was told to come and get them myself. The exterior was unkept and overgrown. I was uncomfortable leaving the room after dark. The shuttle was not working and was suppose to be part of the package. In turn I was charged as additional 20.00 in parking.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Dale N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vallejo hotels
1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Six Flags/Vallejo/Napa Valley
2 mi away
Courtyard Vallejo Napa Valley
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn near Six Flags Discovery Kingdom-Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom
2.3 mi away
Regency Inn Vallejo
Regency Inn Vallejo
#5 of 17 in Vallejo
29 reviews
1.9 mi away
Budget Inn Vallejo/Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom

Address: 44 Admiral Callaghan Ln, Vallejo, CA 94591-4004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Vallejo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Vallejo
Price Range: $64 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites of Vallejo! Centrally located and very affordable, we provide a basic clean and comfortable room for all of your business or leisurely accommodations. With 78 rooms, two meeting and banquet halls, a beautiful pool and ample parking for small RV's and buses, this is a welcoming abode for travelers of all types! We try to maintain the historical feel while offering many modern amenities. Our rooms have free wireless internet, cable and local calls. Our rooms have coffee makers, refrigerators and microwaves. Additionally, there is an internet station but no printer. We also provide easy access to all of the Bay Area's most popular attractions! From everyone at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, we look forward to having you stay with us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Vallejo Hotel Vallejo
Vallejo Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing