We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but brace yourself its very Ghetto!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Vallejo
Reviewed May 4, 2011

As soon as we arrived there was 3 hookers in the parking lot..one of them exclaiming loudly "I have to go to work". There was noisy unsavory characters in their trashy looking parking lot. Every night we worried about something happening to our car but thank God nothing happened. The staff weren't too friendly either. There was a high speed police chase at 3am on the road near the hotel...the breakfast was terrible. My husband tried to make a waffle and the machine was broken, there was no toaster for the tiny bagels they had. The room was ok but basically the experience was awful...and scary! on a positive note the room was clean and the bathroom was nice and big - so if your on a low budget then it does the job....

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arcticblueice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 490 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2011

I rented a room here via price line and recieved a great rate. I was a little skeptical because of some of the reviews but ended up very glad that I decided to check it out for myself. The staff were very courteous and efficient. The room was very nice and super clean with a comfortable bed and beautiful bathroom. Though my room was facing the street I was not disturbed my the sounds of traffic. I was even given a complimentary late check out when I woke up late. The only thing that needs to be improved here at the Howard Johnson is the internet speed, and that's be just being super picky. And also the parking is pretty limited, we had to park on the otherside of the hotel from our room. Overall it was a great stay and a great value and I would not hesitate to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WineNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I stayed at the Howard Johnson Vallejo while on business. Overall my stay was very pleasant. The room was spacious and clean, I appreciate the amenities provided. pull out couch, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer along with toiletries. The Continental breakfast was very good, I was pleasantly surprised they had hot pancakes and waffles which is a big step up from the standard muffin or bagel Continental breakfasts usually offer. Fortunately, I was able to lay out by the pool, read a good book and go for a brief swim it was very quiet and relaxing. The hotel staff was very warm and inviting and were very helpful in making my stay enjoyable. I would definitely recommend to a friend and I will stay there again during future business and leisure trips.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank consultingservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This is our 2nd time and I picked it because it was cheaper than the Comfort Inn & Suites up the street (which we have also stayed at). Never again. The "continental breakfast" is a joke and worse, it is served in their restaurant. You get one choice of coffee, one choice of juice, stale cubed pieces of muffin or coffee cake, hot waffles and hard boiled eggs. The egg was good. Dingy looking. Stay at Comfort Suites, pay the $10 difference and get a clean breakfast room with 3 cereal choices, 3 juice choices, milk, coffee, toast - real toast. We won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christeenmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

The first room we were put in smelled nasty, the wallpaper was peeling off everywhere, the ceiling looked like it was caving in and the a/c wasnt working. So they moved us to another room. This room seemed to be bareable so we stayed. The next morning we went to head to six flags, and noticed the door did NOT lock!!! This is obviously not a good neighborhood and we were NOT going to leave our stuff in there all day unsecured. And of course there were no rooms cleaned yet so we packed up all our stuff and left it at the front desk. Our only request was that our next room not be at the building in front of the street because the highway noice would keep my kids awake. And of course we get back from six flags at night and they assigned us in that building. We ended up asking for a refund for that 2nd night and went home. We had plans for the next day but didnt get to enjoy them because this hotel was so bad!!! ALSO, they advertise a complimentary shuttle to six flags. but it is NOT! Its $5 a person!!! and they didnt tell us we had to reserve what time we want to go!! So by the time we found that out of course we were at the end of the list....OH!! and the CRAZIEST thing. They give you a paper with your room # on it. They must use scrap paper because on the back of mine was a reservation for another person and it has his credit card # and exp. on it!!!!!! Luckily we are good honest people who blacked it out tore it up and threw it away!!! I will be checking my credit card statement daily now because of this....

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truxr4girlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOVALLEJO, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2010

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We have a couple questions regarding your post. We would like to know, for our reference, the number of the first room you were put into and the number of the room that did not lock. Where was a complimentary shuttle advertised? We only offer a complimentary shuttle to people who book a package. Our shuttle is otherwise $5 per room, not person. Reservations for the shuttle are done at check in if you indicate you require that service; however our shuttle driver is always on-duty during the hours of shuttle operation.

Other than the sleeve we give our guests upon check-in, the only other paper we give is either a voucher for the continental breakfast or a coupon for Danny's Kitchen. Anything printed through our property management system automatically has the CC blacked out. At most if we did (which we don't) recycle guest receipts or reservations there is no way for a guest to have another's CC information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed two nights at this chain hotel and found it to be very average. The breakfast wasn't particularly nice. Cold pancakes and waffels and a selection of cakes. Too much sugar for first thing in the monring. The pool was always crowded with kids splashing about and making lots of noise, Luckily we didn't hang out here much or the noise would have been annoying. Our room was a bit smelly and even when we switched, it was just as bad. The fridge was so noisy I have to turn it off and the bathroom had a tub but no plug so impossibly to have a bath. I wouldn't recommend it but it worked for us as it was releatively easy to explore Napa from here and we couldn't afford the Napa hotel price tags!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOVALLEJO, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2010

There was absolutly no reports of feces in our pool during the duration of this "guests" stay. We highly suspect this is a review made by a competitor damning our property by making a horrible claim. Our pool is cleaned every morning by housekeeping and monitored throught the day. No reports what-so-ever were made about this. We also have not had any refuse laying around our property like described. At most we have a few desks which are in secluded corners of the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This stay was awful. The first room we were put in was filthy....broken light bulbs on the balcony, used perfume/cologne bottle on the floor, it had not been vaccumed. We were moved to a different room that was cleaner. The parking lot next to our door was filthy - old mattresses leaning on the building, trash, looked like there should be prostitutes hanging out after dark. We were offered free continental breakfast at the restaruant attached to the hotel. The food was cold, there was only pancakes and cereal - no meat, no eggs. The waitress/host seemed bothered by the continental breakfast. The second night we were there a transient welcomed me in the parking lot. He was paranoid and incredibly drunk. He scared my 7 year old and hid in the bushes. Oh, and to top it all off.....someone went poo in the swimming pool while we were there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOVALLEJO, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2010

Here at the Howard Johnson in Vallejo we take our guest concerns very seriously. We would first like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. During your stay some of our rooms were undergoing a remodling, which may be why there may have been articles of furniture around our facility.

Our breakfast follows the definition of a continental breakfast in that we offer our guests assorted in-house cake like muffins, hard boiled eggs, coffee, juice, cereal and milk among other things. We also like to provide guests with made-to-order waffles and pancakes on the weekends.

Unfortunatly, throughout the weekend, we were not notified of any fecal matter in our swimming facilities and housekeeping made no report of it during their morning cleaning. If there was a report of fecal matter in our facilities appropriate measure would be taken. We invite you to return to our facilities in the future and help us improve upon our guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vallejo hotels
1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Six Flags/Vallejo/Napa Valley
2.3 mi away
Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn near Six Flags Discovery Kingdom-Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Courtyard Vallejo Napa Valley
2.3 mi away
Regency Inn Vallejo
Regency Inn Vallejo
#5 of 17 in Vallejo
29 reviews
1.9 mi away
Budget Inn Vallejo/Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom

Address: 44 Admiral Callaghan Ln, Vallejo, CA 94591-4004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Vallejo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Vallejo
Price Range: $65 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites of Vallejo! Centrally located and very affordable, we provide a basic clean and comfortable room for all of your business or leisurely accommodations. With 78 rooms, two meeting and banquet halls, a beautiful pool and ample parking for small RV's and buses, this is a welcoming abode for travelers of all types! We try to maintain the historical feel while offering many modern amenities. Our rooms have free wireless internet, cable and local calls. Our rooms have coffee makers, refrigerators and microwaves. Additionally, there is an internet station but no printer. We also provide easy access to all of the Bay Area's most popular attractions! From everyone at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, we look forward to having you stay with us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Vallejo Hotel Vallejo
Vallejo Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing