We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Breakfast”
Review of Buttercup

Buttercup
Ranked #6 of 181 Restaurants in Vallejo
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I go here for breakfast a few weekends a month. The Country Skillet and Feta & Spinach Omelet are both great. Pancakes with fresh strawberries are also quite tasty.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    33
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hesperia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A local landmark. Always a good place to stop if you are hungry. You need to be hungry because the portions are BIG! They have a large menu with very good service and great food. I really enjoy the Breakfast. They have been located there for a long time and its always a good choice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mom's favorite”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My mother loved this place. Every time I came to visit we had to go here. My mom ate the salad and the patty melt and a Coors light. Me, I ordered random sandwiches. It's Denny's a little more local. This is one place about home I will remember but I won't miss particularly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank onemorepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vallejo, ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, courteous service - fair price.”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

A bustling business, lots of customers. Good comfort food, and some surprises such as the Cajun salmon ceasar salad, which was excellent!! This is a very good family restaurant, so the kiddos will be able to find something they will enjoy also. The waitstaff was friendly and attentive.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank afletcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Diner!”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The food here is very good and has a seasonal special menu. I now eat here about 5 times a month and have never had a bad meal. Even when I misinterpreted the menu and ordered wrong I didn't send it back because it LOOKED so good, and definitely WAS! Just had the Corned Beef and Cabage special yesterday for St. Patrick's. The meat was flavorful and tender. The red potaoes were done perfect, cabbage was done but not limp. Carrots were probably good too but I am not a big fan of cooked carrots. They even had a whole grain mustard to go along with it. Gee, I forgot to ask if they had green beer though.

The staff there is truly amazing. Within 2 visits, several not only knew my name, but what my drink order tends to be. I thought I was somehow special but found out EVERYONE is special here. They are very friendly without being invasive. A comment I heard from a neighboring table last week. " Nothing on the Menu has whole fresh Jalapenos in it, but if you ask they will bring it." To my way of thinking, THAT's knowing your customers and serving to their individual tastes."

My favorite is the Blackened Bistro steak Salad. with Bleu Cheese crumbles, red onion, tomatoes and portobellos. I like to add sliced Avocados as well. YUM-OH!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sirius_Business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buttercup also viewed

 

Been to Buttercup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing