We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this course”

Mare Island Golf Club
Attraction details
Vallejo, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this course”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Although it's 18 holes, this may be a rather short course but it's still a challenge and very fun to play

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank emmyclear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Views Are Unreal”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Still a very good bargain for the amount paid. One of the better deals in the area. Front nine has some excellent holes but it is the back nine that takes your breath away.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Golfing Experience”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I started playing at Mare Island when it was a 9-hole military course. It was fun then, but it is a much better golfing experience now. The course is very well maintained and you better bring your A-game if you want to score well here. It's not a long course, but tight greens on the original nine holes and swirling winds, well placed sand traps and elevation changes on the back nine more than make up for the distance (about 6,100 yards). In addition, some of the views of San Pablo Bay and beyond are truly spectacular.

It is also a bargain. $31.50 (internet special) gets you 18-holes and a motorized cart. Throw in a lunch special ($7.50) and you have yourself a great day of golf at a very reasonable price. My brothers and I recently finished a round in about four and a half hours and that was with a lunch break. We bumped into a group ahead of us on only two holes during the entire round.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoldenBear72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fork, Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Bay area golf courses are expensive”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Friendly, not crowded on a weekday, scenic course, interesting holes. Their rental clubs were better than my regular clubs. $45 green fees (18 holes), $35 rental clubs for an $80 plus outing. Being from Seattle I though that was high, but my buddy who lives near by says normal for the area. They have coupons that make it reasonable by Seattle standards. Get a cart unless you like hiking hills.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Played there today 3/16/13”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The course was in pretty good shape. The original 9 holes still have that old school feel while the newer 9 holes bring the challenges of shot placement golf. There seems to be a reemergence of popularity here at the island. There is new construction in the way of a new large deck for afternoon lunches or upsetting outside to enjoy the views along with some interior remodeling. This was great to see. Last time I visited this course it was a ghost town filled with only a few retired sailors who live in the area. I am excited to see the general manager begin to turn this place around. Will go back again very soon.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoGoXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mare Island Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Mare Island Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing