We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, fun fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moaning Cavern

Moaning Cavern
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Vallecito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Gold miners first explored Moaning Cavern in 1851, but Native Americans had revered the site for centuries because of the haunting, moaning sounds coming from the entrance. Today, visitors enter by descending a metal spiral staircase or by rappelling by rope165 feet down. Or make reservations for an exciting three-hour Adventure Trip beginning with optional rappel. Above ground activities: gemstone mining, gold panning, free nature trail. School program available. Open every day, year round. We try to maintain our operational hours at Trip Advisor, but please see our web site for the most accurate information.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Lodi, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun, fun fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Exhilarating fun on the zip line. You won't be sorry you tried it. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You even get a "zip pass" where the 7th time is free!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    50
    15
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big cavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The best and worst part of this cavern is the antique staircase leading to its floor. The stairs allow you to get right up next to some beautiful and very large formations. The negative is that the stairs were built from a scraped ship circa WWI, so a few of the treads bend a bit and make you question the safety of the thing. This cave also has one of the most narrow entrances I've seen so if you are claustrophobic beware. Overall a beautiful cavern with one of the largest rooms I've seen. There are plenty of other caves in the area so if you have to pass on this one don't feel too bad.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Cave Adventure for the "less" intrepid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

You go 265 step down into this well lighted, beautiful cavern that is taller than the Statue of Liberty. Wonderful formations demonstrate how water transforms limestone into stunning shapes over the eons. It offers rappelling and spelunking opportunities as well. When you're finished inside, there is also a 1500 foot zip line to test your courage on! The prices are not a bargain but the experiences are well worth the cost!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ladykat000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Want to try rappelling, try this place ;)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

You have to option (at a cost) to drop to the cavern floor on ropes and harnesses. The view was exhilarating and makes your heart pound as you descend. Went on an excellent tour with plenty of opportunities to take pictures. At the bottom (in tour) they turn out the lights briefly. Very eerie and may scare really young children. Only negative is a spiral staircase that is easily 350 steps up. After about twenty, I had to carry my toddler the rest of the way. I thought I was going to have a heart attack by the time I reached the top. Older children would love it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChubsDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

The staff is very friendly. You can tell they love their job. The zip line is too expensive in my opinion. The one zip line ride lasts 30 to 40 seconds and costs $39. All their other prices are a great value. The cave tour was interesting. I thought the spiral staircase was pretty cool.

Helpful?
2 Thank annabellshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moaning Cavern also viewed

 

Been to Moaning Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing