We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“truly a fun place”
Review of Twisted Oak Winery

Twisted Oak Winery
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Vallecito
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We're a small family owned winery that specializes in wines made from Rhone and Spanish varieties. If you are looking for wines called The Spaniard, River of Skulls, and "Pottymouth", you have found the right place! And if you are looking for the Rubber Chicken National Forest, we've got it! While in Murphys, please visit our tasting room at 363 Main Street. Wine tasting, gift shopping, and a sweet rubber chicken nugget!
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“truly a fun place”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The fun aspect sets this place apart. But don't be fooled - the wine is spectacular. Mostly warm climate varietals - all good. Join the wine club and get a rubber chicken!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden Grove, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Both great wines & a sense of humor!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoyed the wines at all of the area wineries we visited, but I think Twisted Oak was probably our favorite!!! All of the wines we sampled were unique, different, delicious and well priced. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable, well informed with no pressure to purchase a wine. I love their sense of humor - take the gravel driveway to read the signs or simply visit their website.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skip1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Take a twisted trip to Twisted Oak Winery!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

When given a choice of which road to take always take the twisted road! What fun we had on the gravel twisted road. Many signs along the way will keep you laughing. Watch out for the rubber chickens! I am not going to give the surprises away, but you will not be disappointed with this ride. The next enjoyment will be Harley who willl greet you and enjoy a little scratch behind his ears. Now you can settle in and enjoy the delicious wines you can taste! You won't leave without a bottle I bet. Walk around the shop and check out the unique items for sale. This is the place to stock up on some unusual bacon flavored items. Once you are done, make sure to look east at the beautiful views. Enjoy!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Home of the RUBBER CHICKEN!!!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Don't be thrown by the title! You will understand. As you are driving up the hill towards to winery, you read the most hilarious signs. Next time I go I want to take pictures of them. :). You get to the top and enjoy wine tasting and laughter as you take in and read the signs and gifts available. Unfortunately no signs on the back entrance while leaving.

If you dot want to take this epic journey up a twisted lil mountain for tastings, they also have a tasting room in downtown Murphy's for convenience.

Helpful?
Thank Angelfire1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“How many chickens did you count?”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

They hang chickens here and there, very friendly/fun people. Not sure if it's all family operated but they all seem like family. Nice place, good wine.

Helpful?
Thank sis7653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twisted Oak Winery also viewed

 

Been to Twisted Oak Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing