We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Black Oak Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 193 Restaurants in Vacaville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Ione, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I had never heard of this place before when my husband and I ate breakfast and lunch there last week. The decor was homey but well done, the menu extensive, and the food excellent. The prices were not cheap but reasonable and the service very competent. I had some of the best French toast in my whole life. My husband is very particular about his food and he loved it. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madrigal95640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    71
    22
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not fast food, good food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We were on the way to Grants Pass, Oregon and took the time for breakfast at Black Oak. It was a very good choice. The service was excellent and we had coffee in about one minute. Our omelets were tasty as were the hash browns. Total time from when we left the freeway until we were going again was about forty minutes..well worth stopping.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Seniorville”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

One could be harsh and describe this place as a nursing home which wouldn't be fair. The clientele when we were in there had a minimum age of senior! However the place is great. Our waitress Karen was 5 star. She asked us about our vacation and advised us on places to visit along the way. Karen was the best waitress we have experienced during our road trip. The food was good but the service was better. Strange gift shop as you enter but we woulda definitely go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrWWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pa
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Breakfast Winner”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Black Oak was recommended to us as a great place to have breakfast at a reasonable cost. A great breakfast menu and service was excellentl, as was the food. We left there happy, full and ready to start a day exploring the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A great casual restaurant”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We met two other couples for lunch and without a doubt turned out to be a wonderful experience. We had a very relaxful lunch and visit. Everyone's order was cooked or prepared to perfection. We had cold and hot sandwiches, salads and a breakfast meal, all of which were deemed excellent. Service was friendly and efficient given the business of the establishment. The server was quick and attendant. This definately warrants a return visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Boise1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Oak Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Black Oak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing