We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Vacaville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Vacaville
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Vacaville
Certificate of Excellence
The NW
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The location is near a highway interchange, so it makes getting around fairly easy. Everything was impeccably clean. The social hour, on weeknight evenings, is nice if you want a snack and don't want to have to go out to eat. Crackers, cheese, caesar salad and chicken wings one night. The next night traded meatballs for the wings. Wine and beer were also available.

The only slight complaint I have is that the odor of cleaning chemicals was a bit overwhelming for me because of asthma/allergies, so I had to open the window to air out the room, when I got there. This meant I could hear the highway noise, but it wasn't that bad. The sheets and towels also had a strong aroma of sanitizer (maybe bleach?) which tells me they are doing all they can to make sure everything is clean, so that's a good thing. Unfortunately for someone like me who is sensitive to these chemicals it was a bit much. This issue would not bother most people, but if someone is ultra-sensitive to cleaning chemicals, it could be a problem for them. I didn't complain, to staff, because it's not something they can control or change, so I just kept the window cracked open to keep fresh air flowing through the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWTravelingFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX707, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Vacaville, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express and suites. The social hour is a big hit with our guests.
I am however sorry that the chemical smell was too much. Next time you come to town please give us a call 707.451.3500 and we will gladly block a room off for you and air it out, so at night you can have the windows closed.
Thank you for talking the time to review our Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.
Guest Services
Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    44
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
49
34
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here.

This is a good HIX property with decent sized rooms great facilities and friendly welcoming staff.

There is a small pool which is probably the warmest pool I have used plus a small spa.

There is a guest laundry, PCs for Internet access as well as free Internet.

The location is good being next to the outlets and many dining options. Breakfast is good if not particularly healthy.

Have no hesitation in recommending the hotel though the recent priority club changes mean this was last booking at a ICHG hotel. I have switched to hilton after many years as priority club platinum.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Binman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX707, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Vacaville, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that the changes with priority club are making you shy away from IHG Hotels. Please give us a call (707)451-3500 when you come back out this way, we can see what we can do. If you would like you can email me at Hiex.Kathleen@yahoo.com and tell me what changes made you decide to switch to the Hilton brand. We hope to see you again.

Guest Services
Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
166 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I got in late, due to flight cancellations, and rental car issues, so I hit the sack almost immediately after I walked into the room. When I woke up, I was staring at one of those “Tacky” room safes that Hotels charge a fee per day to bring in extra money. Will they charge me for it when I check out? We’ll see.

This is a very nice place, about 35 minutes from the Sacramento Airport. I stayed here back in 2011, and everything was perfect, so I had no problem returning.

The Front desk staff was outstanding.

My room was large with microwave and fridge, an HD flat screen TV with perfect picture, and a lot of channels to choose from. The work area had a standard size work desk with outlets at desktop level.

The bed was firm and supportive. The minute I got in, I knew it was going to be a good nights sleep. The heat/AC was effective, and very quiet.

Business center and Guest laundry were very nice. I didn’t use the fitness center or pool.

They have a very nice “Meet & Greet” on weekday evenings, with free food, beer & wine.

Check out was fast. Did they add a ridiculous safe charge? Nope. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimDavisHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX707, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Vacaville, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Mr. JimDavisHouston,

We at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review our Hotel. We are sorry to hear about your flight and rental car issues, but are glad that your stay at our hotel was a good experience for you. Hopefully next time your in town you will get a chance to utilize the pool, spa and fitness center. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kathleen
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
366 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night. It was near the freeway but traffic noise was not a problem. Very clean and nicely appointed. A decent breakfast was included. Well worth the price. We would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sndovale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX707, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Vacaville, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear, MR. sndovale

We at the Holiday Inn Express and suites in Vacaville would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave a review of our Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Hot complimentary breakfast bar we offer which includes biscuits and gravy, eggs, sausage, Cinnamon rolls, and much more. The Cinnamon rolls are a big hit with our guests. We hope to see you again.


Kathleen
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is by far the best Holiday Inn Express I have ever stayed in. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. They had a "meet and greet" with wine, beer, soft drinks and munchies in the evening. The rooms were new and inviting with comfortable beds. The outlet mall is just down the way as are numerous restaurants. TV remote is complicated, but ok when it became clear how to operate it. Breakfast was good and hot with a few extras not found at other HIE hotels.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbatzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX707, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Vacaville, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our “meet and greet” that offers free beer and wine to our registered guests. We look forward to seeing you again

Kathleen
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wanted to do some shopping at outlet stores. Great location with outlets two blocks away and easy access to two major freeways. Lots of restaurants close by. Rooms very comfortable and quiet. Happy hour during the week. We ended up staying for two nights as we were enjoying Vacaville shopping and dining.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Overall, a good stay at Holiday Inn Express. This hotel is very close to the outlet mall in vacaville, its definately a walkable distance. We enjoyed their happy hour mon-fri. Free wine, beer, and appetizers. The rooms were clean, staff was friendly, and the free breakfast was pretty good too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vacaville hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Vacaville
Comfort Suites Vacaville
#5 of 15 in Vacaville
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vacaville-Napa Valley
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Vacaville
Courtyard Vacaville
#3 of 15 in Vacaville
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Vacaville
Fairfield Inn Vacaville
#4 of 15 in Vacaville
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
#7 of 15 in Vacaville
3.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Vacaville
Residence Inn Vacaville
#6 of 15 in Vacaville
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Vacaville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Vacaville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Vacaville
Address: 151 Lawrence Dr, Vacaville, CA 95687-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Vacaville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vacaville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Vacaville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vacaville! This Vacaville, California hotel offers convenient access to Travis Air Force Base in Fairfield, UC Davis, and a variety of corporate locations. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vacaville, guests will experience the highest standard of customer service and enjoyable accommodations. We are centrally located between San Francisco and Sacramento. Conveniently located off California's Interstate 505 and Interstate 80, this 100% non-smoking Vacaville hotel features 91 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms and suites each equipped with satellite television, free wireless and hard-wired Internet access, microwave , refrigerator and a large safe for personal computers and valuables. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast each morning before taking advantage of the hotel's other amenities such as our heated indoor swimming pool and spa, fitness center, charming patio and a 24-hour business center, and more. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vacaville is ideally situated near all local attractions, activities, and businesses including the Vacaville Premium Outlets, Nut Tree, Golf Courses as well as Brenden Theatre, Jelly Belly, Alza and Genetech. Restaurants are within walking distance. The friendly, helpful staff at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vacaville is ready to ensure a fun-filled and memorable stay in Vacaville, California. PARKING LOT WILL BE GETTING REPAVED FROM JUNE 30,2013 THRU JULY 03, 2013 WE WILL HAVE STAFF AVAILABLE TO ASSIST WITH LUGGAGE IF NEEDED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Vacaville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Vacaville Hotel Vacaville
Holiday Inn Vacaville
Vacaville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing