We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My wife and I had a peaceful serene beautiful time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Pedro, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My wife and I had a peaceful serene beautiful time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

The owners, Mary Anne and Peter, were wonderful hosts. Leilani and I will most assuredly be back as we have every year. The lake here is beautiful and so are the boat rides. The resort is pet friendly and places to eat are everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyandLeiLani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    39
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
74
82
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is still a family driven hotel: Maryanne and Peter are so kind and helpful. We felt like friends right from the beginning of our stay. Our room was waterfront and we enjoyed a beautiful view over the lake. Room was very clean and bright.
The hotel has its own lake access. There is no beach but you can get into the lake for swimming with no problems. The lake water is clean and fresh, you can hire boats (5 mph limited electric or kayaks) directly at the hotel's office to take beautiful slow trips around the really blue lake.
The hotel is not to big - about 20 rooms. Our room was clean and bright, the queen bed very comfy, new FlatTV, new fridge. The water in the shower came evenly out of its head.
Our room neighbors tended to use the air conditioning from time to time which was a little bit loud during night time - but we got used to it. The hotel has a pool which is not heated - but we did not use it anyway because swimming in the lake is much better. There is free to use barbeque equipment all around.
The FREE breakfast was substantial and pretty much on European standard - warm and cold food, coffee, tea, orange juice, milk. All fresh! Also a pleasure was laying on the lawn immediately in front of our room and close to the lake. During daytime you can slightly hear the cars from a frequently used road - but during night time it gets quiet. Maryanne and Peter who own the hotel are very friendly, helpful and just nice people.
We didn't use it :-) but this place must be great for company events, weddings or family celebrations.
There is a little store close by where you can find a large variety of snacks, beverages and some grocery.
The area (Lake County) is wonderful green and the air quality is unbeatable. There is a very good place to eat, or have a coffee at Upper Lake which is about 10 miles from the hotel: the saloon in the middle of the town - take a look at the sculptures in the beer garden.
We've been so happy at our stay and will come back to Lake County and Lodge at Blue Lakes for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room - nice views over the lake and more quietness than the rooms facing the ro...
See more room tips
Green Features: There are separate recycling trash cans all over the place.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a great time here celebrating our 7th anniversary with our 4 & 2 year olds & 6 month old jack russell. The room was spotless & the one we were given was on the end, so slightly more roomy than others. Our room had 2 queens which was much appreciated, full beds with restless sleepers are no fun. The lawn outside the room was lush and the docks were great for fishing. We took one of the electric boats out, it only took an hour to tour the whole lake. The boat rental was a little pricey ($75 for an hour), but they refunded our money as we had paid for 2 hours but were only out one. I did not know that breakfast was included so that was a nice surprise & tasty too! They cut up the melon in smaller pieces for my youngest & included child sized forks! I liked the reasonableness of the dog fee ($25) as ours slept in the car. The owners have really found a gem of an employee in Tiffany; she was friendly, happy and helpful. She even called us to let us know we left a dog ball! I know we will come back here!

Room Tip: Ask for room 23!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

They call this a "resort:" and tout the Porsche Club visiting, which makes it sound like a luxury resort. All the photos are taken at angles that make things look expansive, and they cut out the RV park directly across from them on the lake side. The inn sits at the end of the lake on the tiny connector between two lakes, so the view is of other properties' docks and the RV park. The lake itself is tiny and sits off to the right of this inn. Best view is from the event center where the breakfast is served, but they had deck there taped off with yellow hazard tape so you could not use it. They at least did not overhype the breakfast which they said was continental, but it is all packaged stuff like you would pick up at a gas station not nice pastries, bagels, etc like from a bakery. Scrambled eggs were like Styrofoam with no real flavor so probably from carton not fresh.

Rooms are small and all side by side so you have no privacy from the other guests. Poor soundproofing as you can hear tv and kids through the walls.

Availability of boats for rent was a positive, though quite expensive. The room rental rate was also very high for the area, so my husband said "this was an extort, not a resort!"

On the positive side, the room was very clean and amenities there were very good. Coffee maker worked fine and the bed was comfy. So all in all, the place is just ordinary.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on waterfront side closest to the event center if you want to see lake and not docks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XwayA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Ginger1, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Blue Lakes, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are pleased that the bed was comfortable and that the room cleanliness and amenities were very good. The continental breakfast is prepared each morning with fresh eggs that are not prepackaged or precooked. We would have gladly prepared your eggs again if we had known you didn't find them delicious. We urge guests to let us know any concerns during their stay so we can offer the very best experience possible. We are glad that you requested from the Manager and the Owner to extend your stay for an additional night. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Quiet, clean comfortable inn on lake with 5 mp limit, free docking facilities, warm, wonderful staff that went out of their way to make our stay special, fresh-cooked breakfast in bed, barbeque-equipped patio, functional wireless, in-room kitchenette if needed (we didn't). dog-friendly, convenient for day-hikes, everything we could have wished for.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reuben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Thr rooms are nicely decorated and the view of the lake is spectacular. The cost is reasonable and the staff makes you feel at home with their friendy greeting and helpful manner. A boat ride on the lake is a must.The breakfast was teriffic. This is the fourth time we've stayed, two on our own and two with a group...the Porsche Club! Owners Peter and Maryann are ther best!

Room Tip: Any room with a lake view is outstanding, some rooms have spa tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We arrived during heavy rain, and had not brought boots. (Our fault!) But I would caution others that the pavement on the parking lot, and on the walks by the doors to the rooms is very uneven, and, in the rain, this produces frequent, unpleasant puddles. Bring boots! We would have liked more space in which to actually hang up our clothes (there was a bureau, but no closet). We used a few hooks by the jacuzzi and that worked for one night, but for longer stays, more accommodation along those lines would be appreciated. It was cold and piercingly wet, so we turned on the glass fire, which very quickly became much too hot. We had to get up in the night and keep turning it on and off...the bed seemed too big for the room. It was a little hard to get by the bed. There were no chairs with backs, only stools in the room. However, the jacuzzi, shower, toilet, water presure, fridge, etc were great. And above all, the kindness of the owner overcame any complaints we might have had. We awoke to find the rear window of our car had completely exploded and the rain was pouring into the back seat. The owner, (who had had a pacemaker put in just the day before) dropped everything and bent over backward to help us, summoning a friend to vacuum up all the fragments of glass and to measure and install clear plastic over the window, held down by duct-tape. We arrived home with no problems at all, thanks to their kindness and thoroughness. He and his friend refused any kind of compensation and were most gracious. This kind of action gets high marks with me!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, be sure to ask if any pets are housed next door to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarveyRarback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Ginger1, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Blue Lakes, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We welcome guest feedback and appreciate your gratefulness to the owner who solved the rain issue with your car. We did have a torrential rain storm during your stay. It is our goal to go out of our way to make each guest experience the very best during their stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Lake
23.8 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
5.3 mi away
Tallman Hotel
Tallman Hotel
#1 of 3 in Upper Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
24.3 mi away
Vista del Lago Lakehouse and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
9.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#1 of 7 in Lakeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Blue Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Blue Lakes

Property: The Lodge at Blue Lakes
Address: 5135 W State Highway 20, Upper Lake, CA 95485-9513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Upper Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Blue Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge At Blue Lakes offers 21 premium guestrooms, including one Waterfront Executive Suite. Rooms feature lake or mountain views. Room types are deluxe 4 poster beds with in room jacuzzi tub, kitchenettes, lakeside and mountainside rooms. Guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Wireless Internet access is limited and is only available to certain rooms/areas. Free local calls. Flat screen TVs, small refrigerators and coffee/tea makers are provided. Air conditioning, climate control, welcome amenities, and hair dryers are also included. Microwaves and irons/ironing boards can be requested. Rooms are accessible via exterior corridors. Housekeeping is provided. All guestrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Blue Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Blue Lakes Hotel Upper Lake
Hotel At Blue Lakes
Resort At Blue Lakes
The Lodge At Blue Lakes Lake County, CA - Upper Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing