We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely lake setting, great hosts and above and beyond service.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Swiss-Phillipine owners have restored this 'right on the lake lodge' to high standards. They go 'above and beyond' the usual and are most fortunate to also have 'wonderful Jacquie' paying attention to guest needs and breakfast wishes.
I think the best part of a stay at their lodge is the lovely, clean and clear lake so very reminiscent to Peter Schmid of Switzerland.
He has collected a fine fleet of electric boats that quietly allow guests a peaceful spot to visit, share a picnic, and enjoy the beautiful countryside.as you move along.
A beautiful lakeside setting, attentive service, a fine site for a wedding or party, dogs are welcomed, and a wide variety of boats and kayaks met all my hopes for a weekend there, and more. I give the Schmids my full recommendation. Bonnie Carter

Room Tip: Each room is unique, a product of Maryann's thoughtful renovation.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank water loving Gr... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 263 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our experience at The Lodge couldn't have been better. The owners are extremely friendly, provide breakfast every morning, and are dedicated to making sure you have the best trip possible. They have many grills located around the property, which makes for some incredibly relaxing evenings by the pool or lake. Who wouldn't want to cook as you listen to the sounds of the water and wildlife?! I highly recommend The Lodge, as it truly exceeded our greatest expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

A PARADISE, a mere 2hrs drive from the Bay Area. You'll fall in live w/ everything in this resort. Great & Friendly staff.... Beautifully designed rooms w/ Amazing views & access to the lake. Make sure you ask for a Waterfront Room or if you want a special treat, the Jacuzzi with w/ waterfall is a must. Upgraded Continental breakfasts w/ cook to order "jacquie's eggs" eggs are a must try. Their home baked pastries is also a must have. Their electric boats are fun & perfect for discovering this beautiful lake!!! It's like being in another world

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajmarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I returned to The Lodge at Blue Lakes, June 2013, where we were married one year ago to celebrate our first anniversary. The weekend of the wedding was so busy, we did not get to enjoy the beautiful surroundings, so we decided we wanted to experience the lake, relax and revisit the memories of our beautiful wedding. We stayed in the King Jacuzzi Room which we enjoyed so much last year. The jacuzzi tub with the waterfall is to die for as is the large shower. The room is cozy and the king bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was delivered each morning in a basket outside our door. It consisted of cut up fruit, hardboiled egg, bagel, cream cheese and juice. Along with the coffee we made in the room, it was the perfect start to the day. We took our goodies out to the lounge chairs, read the paper and enjoyed the beauty of the lake and hills. Afternoon found us fishing on the lake on one of the electric pontoon boats. With the trout we caught on the dock earlier in the morning and the fish we caught trolling we each caught our limit. Cruising around the lake is a must! We had dinner in Upper Lake, a quick eight mile trip, at the Blue Wing Saloon and Cafe and then headed to the casino for some gambling fun. Our first anniversary was a perfect as our wedding day. Peter and MaryAnn were as gracious as they were on our wedding day and always make us feel so welcome. We can't wait to go back and try the kayaks next time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank ABC123Teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We checked in Friday and out Sunday. Swimming, boating/kayaking, fishing, BBQ and just hanging out by the lake. It's a no wake lake so it was fairly quiet and peaceful (with the exception of our kids). The rope swing(s) where the most extreme activities you will find on the lake. They are all over the lake but choose wisely as not all rope swings are made equal. If this is the type of getaway you're looking for this is the place.

Note: no food service at the lodge with the exception of breakfast. so do plan/pack accordingly.

Room Tip: in the summer months the rooms can be a little stuffy if you're not using the AC or have your wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 408lung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

It may be unusual for a Memorial Service to be held at the Lodge at Blue Lakes but I just want to say that Jackie Marco (daughter of the owner) was super helpful and accommodating to both the funeral home staff and the family. Along with her help, the catered food was delicious and the family was very pleased with everything including a place to display their slideshow.

There were more guests than the family had anticipated but Jackie and her staff brought out extra tables and chairs right away.

This is a lovely, peaceful and beautiful setting for a Memorial Service, a wedding, vacation or just a nice relaxing weekend (or even a day) to get away. Nice clean water, their own boats and kayaks and beautiful renovated rooms.

The family we served was helped in honoring their loved one by the setting, staff and overall just a lovely place to invite their guests.

Allison R.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here Thursday night, June 27, 2013. This was property no. 9 in our two week business travel to Northern California. This was the last hotel we were to stay before heading back to L.A. so we were really looking forward to taking it easy and enjoying the last property or "resort." We got a late start the day before because the last hotel was near The Redwoods so we took the boys to enjoy the Redwood Trees. The drive to Upper Lake was stressful to say the least because there are no streetlights and no phone access whatsoever. However, what was more stressful was realizing we would not arrive until near midnight (or later).
Blue Lakes contacted us around 7pm to asked for our arrival time and we warned them that it would be after 11:pm or later. Jackie said no problem, your key will be under your mat in front of your door. My husband clearly expressed concern and so did I. I can't imagine any hotel or resort leaving a guest key under the mat in front of the door. After expressing concern Jackie said there is no concern because they do this all the time. This common practice is dangerous to say the least. Anyone can "know" about this practice, make a copy of the key and return later. Many dangerous possibilities to this bad practice. We tried our best to express our concern with Jackie. She then suggested she will just wait up for us. We did not want her to wait up because we weren't arriving until late and felt bad for her. We asked if she can put the key elsewhere on the property that only we would know but she said she will wait instead.
Cons:
The key is an old-fashion key, not a key card so leaving keys under mats can get easily copied.
The property is not as pretty in the picture. Upon arrival it looks more like a roadside hotel and the inner tube advertising hung in front to encourage rentals makes the property look cheap;
The yellow paint in the room looks very dated as well as the décor and furnishings, the television is at least 10 years old or older;
The bathroom has a strange pinkish/red light bulb that may or may not be a heat lamp. I've seen and experienced heat lamps but I couldn't decipher what this one is;
The bathroom has very little counter space and the tiny glass table on the side is not sufficient. There's plenty of room to add a larger table on the other side of the sink. This would have made a difference. Also, not enough towels provided.
The Wi-Fi is weak at best, this was important because we were not just there for business but I am also a student taking an online course so I could not access my college website;
Breakfast could have been better, there was bread and bagels, hard-boiled eggs, diced-fruit salad, and muesli, which is a popular Swiss breakfast meal. You can see the fresh fruit and it “looked” good but unfortunately it did not taste good. The bowl remained full throughout breakfast. Perhaps they can just let the guests create their own by providing the mixes.
Jackie approached me and informed me that we were given the “Expedia” room – well that explained everything. Unfortunately, hotels don’t like guests that spend less by booking through Expedia so they get punished by giving them the ugliest room. This was a sore disappointment to end our travels and have convinced us at all cost not to book through Expedia ever again.
Lastly, at check-out we were told we would be charged an additional $50.00 because both our sons were over the age of 2. After further inquiry in the office, somehow the age changed to under 1. Which meant one child would have had to be under 12 months old and the other two months old! Really? I can tell you that we felt completely discriminated because our children were over one or two years old. Our problem with this is she checked us in and saw our boys young teens and did not say anything to us at check-in. We eventually contacted Points Hound, filed a complaint as did she and although the resort still charged us the $50+, Jackie had them refund us through Points Hound. She was nice enough to do this.

Tiffany at the front desk was kind and professional(and patient); She should be left to handle ALL customer inquiries, requests, and complaints(the owner’s daughter unfortunately is too emotional. Our complaints is business not personal. She said that our frustration goes both ways but we beg to differ, if you are behind the counter and we are a paying guest – you have to maintain your composure or leave the situation and let someone else handle it that will not argue with the guest. A hotel or resort should NOT argue unprofessionally with any guest (even if you are the owner’s daughter). Part of doing business is having problems and handling those problems professionally – this did not happen. Needless to say, it left a bad taste and worst impression for the property.
Jackie kept telling us that we should put ourselves in her shoes. In fact, my husband and I both have extensive hotel experience from The Park Hyatt Chicago, The Fairmont Chicago, The Hilton LAX, The Sheraton Universal so yes, we know what it means to be behind the counter. We appreciate the guests and would have never argued with them. There's a saying, "We don't care how much you know until we know how much you care."

Room Tip: The scenery in the back is beautiful, a nice scene to enjoy a good meal but the problem is there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Ginger1, Owner at The Lodge at Blue Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I have shared your comments with our team including the wonderful compliment you gave Tiffany. The experience you described is not characteristic of the level of service our team strives to provide. I would like to have the opportunity to speak with upon your next visit to personally welcome you and your family, so please ask for me. Maryann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Lake
5.3 mi away
Tallman Hotel
Tallman Hotel
#1 of 3 in Upper Lake
239 reviews
23.8 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
24.3 mi away
Vista del Lago Lakehouse and Cottages
9.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Lakeport
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Blue Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Blue Lakes

Address: 5135 W State Highway 20, Upper Lake, CA 95485-9513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Upper Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
Price Range: $101 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Blue Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge At Blue Lakes offers 21 premium guestrooms, including one Waterfront Executive Suite. Rooms feature lake or mountain views. Room types are deluxe 4 poster beds with in room jacuzzi tub, kitchenettes, lakeside and mountainside rooms. Guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Wireless Internet access is limited and is only available to certain rooms/areas. Free local calls. Flat screen TVs, small refrigerators and coffee/tea makers are provided. Air conditioning, climate control, welcome amenities, and hair dryers are also included. Microwaves and irons/ironing boards can be requested. Rooms are accessible via exterior corridors. Housekeeping is provided. All guestrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lodge at Blue Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Blue Lakes Hotel Upper Lake
Hotel At Blue Lakes
Resort At Blue Lakes
The Lodge At Blue Lakes Lake County, CA - Upper Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing