We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“‘Overnight Stay on a Whim’”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“‘Overnight Stay on a Whim’”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Glad we did! We initially passed this place on our way east to Clearlake, but after what we saw there, we headed back. Not surprising to many, ‘Clear’lake isn’t so clear. Office staff was friendly and helpful, but the girl at he the desk was multi-tasking the phone texting and talking to family and friends while showing us rooms and checking us in. She might go somewhere with that talent but for me it was just annoying.

We opted for the Jacuzzi room on a what-the-hell moment (room #12) with a comfy, although foam-topped king. Rates seemed pricy at about $195.00 a night including 11% tax—It was 45 bucks more than the kitchenettes and other rooms at about $150.00. Our room was clean and well appointed though with a modern, elegant feel. All rooms feature a 'front' door on the parking side and a back door facing the lake. Our room was near one of the 3 communal gas Barbeques. So, like any BBQ lover might do, we went to the Sentry Market about 15 minutes away and picked up Salmon, salad, utensils and wine.

The lake was clear and fresh for swimming. It was terrific compared to swampy Clearlake. We took the 1-hour complementary Kayak out (A $20 buck value) to explore the lake for a fun time.

Biggest turn-on/off depending on your point of view is the highway at about 100 ft/30 meters from rooms. Light sleepers might find the early AM traffic a little disturbing, but others might find the logistics convenient.

The complementary breakfast is simple and tasteful serving coffee, OJ, raisin bran cereal, assortment of bagels, toast; hard boiled eggs (to perfection) and really good, make-em’-yourself waffles. Breakfast is served outdoors in the main BBQ area overlooking the lake--a nice touch!

With a relaxed European feel and friendly guests, The Lodge at Blue Lakes is a terrific location for families or romantics, and represents a good value.

Other mentionables in our room…
Duel-head shower but pressure limits usability
Nice cotton Robes to round out your spa experience
Waterfall feature on the Jacuzzi

At the Lodge and Surrounds…
Outdoor shower by lake
Mini-market right next door

In my opinion, the Clearlake area including Lucerne, Nice to Lakeport has few decent lake front choices at the price-point that The Lodge at Blue Lakes captures with all the lakeside activities you would want or expect. And none have the shoreline activity of swimming available due to the THICK, SOUPY, SMELLY ALGAE. These areas have been hit by the economy are sadly showing it.

Room Tip: Room #12 is near the BBQ. patio area. Could be busy on occasion, but super convenient for use and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booker925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    39
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
74
82
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have visited this lodge two years now. Being right on the water is lovely. If you enjoy playing in a clean, warm lake, this is a great place. We spent most of the day in kayaks enjoying the sun, water and rope swings. The speed limit is 5 miles/hour on the lake so you are never run over by jet skis or motor boats. In the afternoon the windsurfers come out because of the afternoon breeze that picks up. That breeze keeps the grounds at a comfortable temperature. The rooms have been remodeled and are great. It is quiet after ten, no loud parties are upsetting the mellow atmosphere. It is a great place to relax.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aptoscarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

After a long drive this was a wonderful oasis. Never seen rooms this clean, beautiful location, lovely lake, courteous and friendly staff. I would highly recommend this place - especially for families.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyAeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our family went to the Redwood Forest and drove thru the Sonoma county, and arrived at the Lodge late at night. We were so glad to be there. The outside of the hotel resembles an old time vacation place, with guests mingling outside their rooms around a fire, talking quietly, grilling and drinking a glass of wine. Very low key, and peaceful. The rooms were amazing, really much more luxurious than the hotel exterior facade. All tiled in natural stones, brand new beautiful furniture, fluffy cotton guest robes, a nice jacuzzi, very nice bed. The grounds, the boats and the hotel were extremely clean.
We kayaked on the lake, which justifies the name of the hotel (Blue Lake). It is truly beautiful.
The free breakfast was nice. It is served outside, you eat by the lake, there is fresh fruit, freshly baked waffles, pastries, and eggs.
I thought it was a little pricey (190 taxes included). All in all it was very nice experience.

Room Tip: The thing that is not so nice, it is really close to the road. All the rooms have two entrances: one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viviavila_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Last week we were on a 6 day road trip. As we were driving on Hwy 20 we passed The Lodge on Blue Lake and decided to turn around and take a look. We were greeted by Tess at the front desk. She was able to do some shuffling and got us a lake front room. What a view, what a nice room. All it took was one look from the doorway and I know this was where we wanted to stay. The room had hardwood floors and a very contemporary style. After a afternoon in the pool we relaxed on the lawn and watched the sun go down. It is very quite and peaceful at night. It was a very romantic evening. We settled into a very comfortable bed and slept great. The next morning we enjoyed the continental breakfast. The owner Peter joined us and told us about his experience in "Lake County". He has owned the property for 9 years, and does a great job of keeping the property neat and clean. I will be planning another trip to The Lodge on Blue Lake next year. Definitely worth returning to

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 15 which looks straight out to the lake. The continental breakfast was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poucedeleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were looking for a place close to home and stayed here. The hotel isn't anything that special but it was clean and we upgraded to the lake side. They brought us breakfast to our room and we had a coffee pot plus a fridge in the room. We sat outside our room on the lounge chairs and read most of the day. I would recommend this hotel. The owner was a nice man.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the lakeside room. The other rooms that say mountain view actually are a view of the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenHaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Beautiful place but way over priced for the accomodations. Enjoyed all the staff, but the owners are way into you budiness. It is not the ideal situation for relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Lake
23.7 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
5.2 mi away
Tallman Hotel
Tallman Hotel
#1 of 3 in Upper Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
24.2 mi away
Vista del Lago Lakehouse and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
9.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#1 of 7 in Lakeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Blue Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Blue Lakes

Property: The Lodge at Blue Lakes
Address: 5135 W State Highway 20, Upper Lake, CA 95485-9513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Upper Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Blue Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge At Blue Lakes offers 21 premium guestrooms, including one Waterfront Executive Suite. Rooms feature lake or mountain views. Room types are deluxe 4 poster beds with in room jacuzzi tub, kitchenettes, lakeside and mountainside rooms. Guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Wireless Internet access is limited and is only available to certain rooms/areas. Free local calls. Flat screen TVs, small refrigerators and coffee/tea makers are provided. Air conditioning, climate control, welcome amenities, and hair dryers are also included. Microwaves and irons/ironing boards can be requested. Rooms are accessible via exterior corridors. Housekeeping is provided. All guestrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Blue Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Blue Lakes Hotel Upper Lake
Hotel At Blue Lakes
Resort At Blue Lakes
The Lodge At Blue Lakes Lake County, CA - Upper Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing