We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tallman Hotel-Perfect Local Getaway!”
Review of Tallman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tallman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lakeport, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tallman Hotel-Perfect Local Getaway!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I are beginning our 50th year together! We started off with an afternoon snack at the Blue Wing and then checked into our wonderful Garden Room complete with a Japanese soaking tub on the private back patio. Bernie & Lynn got everything right when they restored this gem of a property in Upper Lake. I have 3 songs that I hoped that Mariko would sing during our dinner on Sunday night, not only did she sing 2 of our favorites, they came to our table to congratulate us. Our meal was marvelous, the staff extremely cordial and efficient, a truly memorable way to start off our 50th year of marriage. Stephanie and Doug Codling (Lake County Residents) We encourage other locals to stay here, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely and well appointed. If you haven't tried a Japanese soaking tub, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    23
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
137
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This was our Valentine getaway. We arrived on Sunday afternoon and were very impressed. The room was clean, cozy, and well appointed. BATHROBES! The hotel grounds were well kept and even though it was February and not in the peak growing season, it was still neat and pretty. We had a room with an outdoor soaking tub on the private back patio. AWESOME! The bed was comfortable and the towels and sheets were soft. I was impressed with the tile work in the bathroom and the intricate door hardware on the patio. CLASSY! Wine glasses, cork screw, and refrigerator in the room made our romantic getaway seamless. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JanisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel, well looked after and beautifully furnished. The breakfast was served in a well appointed dining room. Everything was home made and delicious.I look forward to my next scheduled stay. The adjacent Blue Wing Saloon has character, the food was above average. The monday night piano player was an excellant addition with geat talant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liz g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I love the Tallman. I've stayed a number of places in this region, and the Tallman is my favorite for a B&B with charm and a historic feel. The renovation that went into this property is like nothing I've ever seen. Practical: delicious, healthy (if you want it) breakfast is included. The adjacent Blue Wing Saloon has food quality I didn't expect to find in Lake County--definitely on par with the "wine country with altitude, not attitude" feel of the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors feel more private.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very thoughtful, with geothermal augmented with solar power.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent one night here because it is close to my mother-in-law. The hotel is old and historic but all the facilities are modernized. Be sure to take time to look at the photo album in the lobby that details the complete remodeling project. We stayed in an upper garden room. The room was spacious and nicely decorated...comfy king size bed, veranda, well-appointed bathroom including bathrobes and pool towels. The heating system kept the room very comfortable and it was also quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a very nice dinner across the garden area at the Blue Wing Cafe and Saloon. The food was excellent and there was even live entertainment that included Christmas songs. Breakfast the next morning was scrumptious; we were asked to make our selections for breakfast the day before and could choose room delivery or eating in the dining room. We opted for the dining room because it was so attractive. The scones were so light and flaky; they were just wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a delightful hotel, well looked after and beautifully furnished. The breakfast was served in a well appointed dining room. Everything was home made and delicious. We had so looked forward to sampling their restaurant the evening of our stay, but the service was dreadful the meal delivered while we were still eating our starters on cold plates - the potatoes were old, stale and cold - the experience in the dining room marred what was otherwise a very special place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our first trip up to Lake County from the Bay Area was most pleasant and inviting. It was made all the more wonderful with an overnight stay at the Tallman Hotel. We chose the Veranda Room #3, which is on the front of the main building, with windows to the quiet street on one side and the courtyard between the hotel and the Blue Wing Saloon on the other. The room is spacious, nicely decorated, light, and simply lovely. The tiled bathroom is large, and features a raised tub and separate shower.

A delicious breakfast was served until 10 a.m. in the front dining room, which is adorned with period style and furnishings. Chef Carli is absolutely wonderful, and greeted us to ensure that breakfast experience exceeded expectations.

We enjoyed Saturday dinner at the Blue Wing Saloon, right next door. This is a must-dine stop along the way. Bernie and crew have renovated the historic saloon to its original glory. We sipped on cocktails in the courtyard late afternoon, and then were seated inside for dinner. One of us had the lamb, and the other had the halibut. Both dishes were delicious, as was the charcuterie and cheese plate served prior to the entrées. The wine list features many of the best of Lake County wineries. We chose the Moore Family Cab Sav, and started with sparkling wine.

The Tallman Hotel is an ideal getaway if you appreciate professional, friendly service by the staff, lovely accommodations, and an excellent restaurant (should have a star) right next door. We will return soon for weekend stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWSSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Lake
5.3 mi away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
248 reviews
19.6 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
16.6 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
501 reviews
21.2 mi away
Best Western El Grande Inn
15.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallman Hotel

Property: Tallman Hotel
Address: 9550 Main St, Upper Lake, CA 95485-9596
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Upper Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This handsome country hotel, built in the 1890s, was completely restored and expanded to a 17-room luxury facility in 2006. The historic hotel received one of seven statewide historic preservation awards and is listed on the California Register of Historic Resources. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Tallman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallman Hotel Upper Lake
Tallman Hotel Lake County, CA - Upper Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing