We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Second Stay & Just as Great as the First” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tallman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tallman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Our Second Stay & Just as Great as the First”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We first stayed at the Tallman Hotel in the summer of 2008 and fell in love with it. We vowed to return and finally got a chance to do so this September for our 10th wedding anniversary. This stay was just as good as the first. Please see my review from August 2008 for additional details.

We especially enjoyed the live music during Sunday brunch at the Blue Wing Saloon, which was kind of like a bluegrass style - very easy to listen to in the morning. On Monday night, we had a blast during the live music that evening which was more rock and roll. It was so fun to see all of the locals (you could tell people came from miles to be there) dancing and having a great time. The mood was infectious and pretty soon we were dancing too! Best part was, everything died down by 10pm at the latest and it was back to being quiet and peaceful.

Another highlight of our stay this time was the lovely woman in charge of the breakfast in the morning. She was so friendly and the breakfast was divine. Her quiche was some of the best we've ever had. And the scones - so buttery, with just a hint of sweetness on the outer crust. Yum! She regularly stuck her head out the kitchen door to see if we needed anything and chatted with us a bit about her cooking. She was great.

In regards to things to do in the area, we really enjoyed wine tasting at Brassfield Estate Winery, which was definitely worth the detour drive off of the main road around Clear Lake, in order to see the estate and beautiful grounds. We also really enjoyed Ceago Winery, which also has lovely grounds, a dock out onto the lake, and a huge lavender field. I would have loved to have been there when it was in bloom! We are new to wine tasting, and both of these vineyards were welcoming and much less expensive than those that we had visited in Sonoma just prior to driving up to the Tallman.

My only comment is more about the general area than the hotel itself. Since our first visit, a casino has been constructed not too far from the small town of Upper Lake. I am not particularly anti-gambling, but sometimes casinos can have a negative affect on the immediate area. There were a lot of random men seemingly milling about town and a lot of the storefronts in Upperlake are shuttered. It is a good thing that the Blue Wing Saloon is so good because there are no other restaurant options in the area (except perhaps the casino). I was looking forward to browsing the architectural salvage shop located in the big red barn near the hotel, but it never opened during the four days we were there. The few antique stores left seemed to have irregular hours. I hope that the town can have a resurgence some day because it has some great architectural aspects and a "wild west" feel to it. And the Tallman Hotel and Blue Wing Saloon would serve as a great anchor for a renovated, historical downtown area.

Nevertheless, we are looking forward to our next stay at the Tallman Hotel and hopefully it won't take another four years to get back!

Room Tip: The ofuro rooms have a wonderful Japanese soaking tubs and outdoor showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXLadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    23
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
134
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Had lovely upper floor suite - nicely furnished etc and small balcony. On a v noisy road tho.....5am woken by rubbish lorry going up and down then other lorrIes constantly. We r used to traffic but this time we thought ufo had landed!!! They need to Spk to their neighbours too as dog barked incessantly all afternoon and from 7 the next morning. Pity the rooms that backed onto that!
Staff friendly and polite. Would stay again with earplugs!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sausage47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

A fantastic B & B style hotel. Stayed in the main hotel and one of the cottages. Both were great. The main hotel's rooms are the closest to the pre-1930's style. The "continental" breakfast is amazing. Fresh scones and Quiche made on premisis.

We held a wedding rehearsal dinner in the main dining room of the hotel and had it catered by the Hotel's restaraunt, the Blue Wing. This too was top notch.

I recommend this property highly.

Room Tip: If jsut a couple, stay in main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stopped overnight in Upper Lake and stayed at the Tallman. What a find! Anderson Valley wines are excellent. Lake County is beautiful. The town of Upper Lake is charming. And the Tallman Hotel and Blue Wing Saloon are the best in the area.

Meticulously restored, the Tallman Hotel is loaded with antiques and period pieces, without lacking in modern conveniences. We stayed in room 10, which was beautifully appointed, spacious and comfortable. The Blue Wing Saloon, with its classic wooden bar inside and casual dining outside, has a menu for every palate and some of the best French fries in California.

If Napa and Sonoma seem a little crowded these days, try Anderson Valley and Lake County. Sipping wine on the dock of a lakeside winery is a great alternative to the bustle and traffic of Napa and the crowds in Sonoma Valley.

Room Tip: Dining al fresco at the Blue Wing can be a bit noisy on the weekends. If you need a really quiet roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HalfMaryPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

After a long, hot dusty day of driving around Clear Lake, CA it was a complete surprise to pull into the charming town of Upper Lake and enter the oasis of Tallman Hotel. The main building is a beautifully restored Vistorian mansion where each morning a delicious breakfast is served. Our room was spacious and charming with a huge bathroom. It was a very short walk to the patio area where you could find relief from the heat sitting under shady trees by a fountain and sip nice wines from the area or enjoy cold brews from the Blue Wing Saloon which is right next door. The hotel also offers a nice pool and sunken hot tub on the premises. It was such a lovely experience that we stayed an extra night and were sad to leave. Highly recommend staying here to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Az.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Beautifully appointed , well maintained getaway in the wonderful Lake Co. wine country near Sonoma, Mendocino, Napa and the Pacific coast. The Blue Wing Restaurant is part of the hotel complex and has a nice menu and great atmosphere. Music events are featured there every week, helping to make the whole package unforgettable. Many local events and so many nearby wineries and tasting rooms make the only 'problem": how to decide which wonderful area adventure to choose!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank givenyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We found the Tallman Hotel by chance online, and we could not have asked for a better stay. The property was gorgeous, the staff was friendly and helpful, the food was excellent, and the price was so reasonable. We enjoyed the pool and the hot tub, and we took the staff recommendations to go to a rope swing at a nearby lake and a hike in a state forest filled with impressive redwoods. We really had no idea what our trip to Clear Lake would bring but now we would suggest the Tallman to any friend or family member looking to get away in Northern CA.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Lake
5.3 mi away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
19.5 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
20.1 mi away
Vista del Lago Lakehouse and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
16.6 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
21.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallman Hotel

Property: Tallman Hotel
Address: 9550 Main St, Upper Lake, CA 95485-9596
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Upper Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This handsome country hotel, built in the 1890s, was completely restored and expanded to a 17-room luxury facility in 2006. The historic hotel received one of seven statewide historic preservation awards and is listed on the California Register of Historic Resources. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tallman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallman Hotel Upper Lake
Tallman Hotel Lake County, CA - Upper Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing