We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much worse than previous stays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Upland
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upland
Reviewed June 2, 2008

My sister lives in Upland and we have stayed here many times. Most recently after my Mom died we stayed here for a week. In the past, this place has not been the best but it is convenient and the only one we know of in Upland. It had begun to go down and then Guesthouse took over and the last couple of times we stayed (most recently Christmastime 2007) it seemed to be improving. This last time it was a bad experience. The sink was backing up and an oulet behind one of the beds was missing a plate (after I told the front desk these were fixed). The alarm clock was not working due to a bent plug (luckily I had my own). Then it got worse. One night we came back to find they had removed all the plastic cups and not replaced them; they had removed one of two toilet paper rolls and it was not replaced. I went to the desk to get cups. The roll was back the next night. Then we came back on our last night there to find the room had not been done at all (beds unmade, no towels replaced, etc.). Since the place was virtually empty, there is no excuse.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whereyagoinnext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 46 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2007

Check-in was pleasant and the walk-up rate was fair. Room was very clean and smelled great!

Breakfast was also very good.

For dinner I would recommend Vince's Spaghetti on Foothill near the Sycamore Inn in RC. Less $$$ and really good. They have been around a loooong time. The meat sauce is fantastic, IMHO.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank chrisgrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

We have stayed a number of times at this hotel, so it has earned our repeat business. Overall, it has been good if not great. Another reviewer said, "Good Enough," and that pretty well sums it up.

On the positive side, it is well located, close to the Ontario Airport without the prices of some of the hotels in Ontario, and close to Claremont Colleges. The queen doubles are larger than some hotels' rooms in this class, and they have large refrigerators and microwaves (as I recall). They have some two-room suites, although I thought these were somewhat cramped. The rooms are clean, decor is fine, and beds are comfortable. Generally the rooms seem to have been updated recently, although you should ask because it seems that every time we have been there lately they are doing room renovations. One of the reviews from two years ago also speaks of renovated rooms, so that may be a long-term project. Some of the bathrooms and suite kitchenettes seemed like they had not been updated in quite a while. They were still functional, however. The front desk and staff were helpful, if sometimes overtaxed. Wireless internet is a plus. Breakfast is included, although it is pretty simple.

The negatives primarily arose when the hotel gets crowded with groups. They can congregate in the center courtyard/parking lot, making a lot of noise and generally behaving badly into the wee hours of the morning. The walls seem thin, and noises in the adjoining rooms come through.

Overall, a good choice based on the room quality and good value, especially if you get a discounted room rate. Just hope the party-ers stay away.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelerKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

We spent three nights here. The room was equipped with a coffee maker, fridge, microwave oven, sink and stovetop, but no tools or dishes beyond styrofoam cups. A continental breakfast is included, which the clerk at check-in neglected to inform us about (it's from 6 - 9am in a small room off the lobby).
The bathroom was showing its age, and the carpet needed cleaning, but the bed was comfortable and you can get a nice cross-draft with front and back windows open (if you hate air conditioning like we do).
The small pool and spa area was pleasant. There was also an exercise room. Free wireless Internet is a nice touch.
The walls could stand to be a bit thicker; you could hear the phone ringing in the next room.

Stayed: February 2007
Thank Kitsilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
27
Reviewed December 20, 2005

We had stayed in this same hotel ONE NIGHT 16 years ago. At that time it was a DUMP! My husband forgot that we had stayed there when he made the reservation over the telephone, but we both remembered it as soon as we drove up. It was late in the evening and we thought that just one night wouldn't hurt us. We were pleasantly surprised. The new management has cleaned and refurbished the rooms. The bathrooms had new tile and fixtures - they look like they were done within the last year. They were nothing special, but they were cleaned each day, and were clean - not just a 'lick and a promise.' The pool was clean, the hot tub - not so clean the day we arrived, but cleaned before we left. The rooms were quiet, the beds comfortable, the staff helpful. It's a budget place to stay, but overall a good value. It's conveniently located to Upland and San Antonio hospital. There was a bike tour the first weekend we were there, but at night it was quiet. We will stay there again.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
410
Reviewed February 25, 2004

When I booked this hotel online, I really wasn't sure what to expect as I realized this is not a "Best Western" rather the "Western". I requested a suite. We arrived shortly after 12 (sooner than check-in) and was told that a suite would be available at 3:00 or we were offered two queen beds right away for our 3 night stay. We opted for our suite and returned around 6:30 that night only to be told by another front desk clerk that there were none available. My husband was not impressed. After further conversation, a suite "suddenly became available". As another reviewer mentioned, this hotel does have much more potential than it offers. The room was a suite but with no plates or utensils. The cleaning service was the best. Every time we returned to our room, it was very clean! Kudos to the cleaning attendants!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2003

This hotel is in the process of a major renovation, so not all rooms are available. Those that are available are supposed to have all new furnishings. The "cardio fitness center" is a room with ONE (cheap) stair stepper machine. We had a suite with kitchenette, but there were no utensils, plates, pans, etc. I assume we could have gotten some, had we asked for them. There was also none of the usual information about the hotel, emergency instructions, how to use the phone, etc in the room. The family in the room above ours all took showers lasting from 15-55 minutes nightly, one right after the other. The noise from the shower was very audible in our room. This place has the potential to be much nicer. Perhaps when the renovation is completed more attention will be given to the details. This was supposedly a $119 per night room.

Thank topkatluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upland
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn Rancho Cucamonga/Ontario
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn R...
#1 of 10 in Rancho Cucamonga
503 reviews
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont
3.4 mi away
Azure Hotel & Suites Ontario Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ontario-Rancho Cucamonga
Four Points by Sheraton Ontario-...
#4 of 10 in Rancho Cucamonga
351 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Casa 425
Hotel Casa 425
#2 of 5 in Claremont
244 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ontario / Rancho Cucamonga
Hilton Garden Inn Ontario / Ranc...
#2 of 10 in Rancho Cucamonga
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Upland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Upland

Address: 1191 E Foothill Blvd, Upland, CA 91786-4049
Location: United States > California > Upland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upland
Price Range: $39 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Upland 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel DescriptionLocated in Southern California just 4.5 miles from the Ontario International Airport, situated at the base of the San Bernardino Mountains, conveniently close to Mt. Baldy and just a few minutes from Rancho Cucamonga and San Dimas. Additionally, the hotel is just a short distance from all of the outdoor pleasures of the San Bernardino Mountains and approximately 30 miles to Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, and the Hollywood Wax Museum. Local activities include the Upland Lemon Festival, a variety of year-round activities at the Pomona Fairplex, racing at the California Speedway, including Nascar, and local baseball games featuring the Rancho Cucamonga Quakes. The hotel offers an outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, complimentary breakfast, fitness center, high-speed Internet, refrigerators, microwaves in suites, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, and hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Upland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse International Hotel And Suites
Guesthouse International Hotel Upland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing