We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of beauty”

University of Leicester Botanic Garden
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Oadby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: 16 acres of lovingly cultivated grounds and greenhouses display a wide variety of features and environments. The formal planting centres around a restored Edwardian garden. Other planting includes an arboretum, a herb garden, woodland and herbaceous borders, rock gardens, a water garden, special collections of Skimmia, Aubrieta, and hardy Fuchsia, and a series of glasshouses displaying temperate and tropical plants, alpines and succulents. This garden one of the most diverse in the region. It is the perfect place for a pleasant walk and there are benches for those who simply wish to relax and admire the surroundings. Variety is the key to this garden's strength.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“An oasis of beauty”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I love this place. Years ago when there was open access I would take my children for a picnic and play in this delightful place. The gardens are like a treasure trove, you keep finding new and wonderful things around each corner/bush. It is at it's best when they have the 'art in the park' in the summer. The recent addition of a cafe has just enhanced what was always a great pleasure. Go - you won't regret it I promise.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    79
    16
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“what a welcome !!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

i went just down the road from where i live today to visit the gardens with my grandchildren on the gate was a collection for "heart link " which i always support but as i didnt know it was there hadnt taken my bag.one of the women on the gate was a "friend of the botanical gardens" and i couldnt believe how rude she was to me she said "do you expect life to be free !" well if thats the welcome the "friends" give you can keep your gardens !!. the only thing to see were the crocus and snow drops anyway and there were not as many as norm .......wont bother again !!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank hairdressertina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Peaceful little gem”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a little gem of a botanic garden, it has green houses, formal and informal settings and lots of seating. I went on cold winters day, but there were still things to see, there are leaflets at the entrance. Access and size is good for those with small children or adults win limited mobility. Parking is on the street and free as is the entrance. The cafe was not open, and there are no refreshments available unless you go into Oadby centre or Francis street, both ten minutes walk away. It is a lovely to place to walk, I know they have a lot of events in the summer, so pick your days.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hatepacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice for a walk”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went for a walk through the gardens and had tea and scones in the haunted hall. They also had a big art exebition on at the time, so it was nice to just have a relaxing wander around.
Will go back in spring.

Helpful?
2 Thank Bellas_adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely to walk around”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Botanic Garden is lovely to walk around but make sure you're not going on a day when they have special events if you want some privacy. You can take your own food and have a picnic after walking around or you can get some food from the tearooms. The tea rooms are certainly very impressive as far as architecture goes. It's not the biggest garden though, certainy not a whole day out.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Worldbackpackrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Leicester Botanic Garden also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to University of Leicester Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing