We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing fancy, but it works.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but it works.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

It is located within walking distance to a big movie theater and several restaurants including IHOP, In-and-Out Burger, Chili's and other chains. It is also very close to a mass transit stop. This hotel has all the basics covered;LCD tv, fitness room with two treadmills, elliptical machine, bike, dumbbells, and a weight bench with bar and weights. There is a pool and spa( I didn't use them). The breakfast consists of the usual stuff, eggs scrambled or cheese omelet depending on the day, sausage or bacon, gravy, biscuits, pancakes, bagels, juice, yogurt, etc. The food was ok being that it was included with the room. The king bed room was nice. There was plenty of space and light in the room. It was fairly quiet except for one train that came through each night. I had no trouble sleeping, though. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usfscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBayAreaInns, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear usfscooter

Wow what an impressive memory you have! Thank you for sharing your impressions with us as your observations are very helpful to us and future guests.

Thank you for noticing our extra services and offerings (drinks, breakfast, etc). We really try hard to anticipate our guests' needs and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing and serving you again in the future.

Thank you again for your business and thoughtful feedback.

Very truly yours,

Marie Cornell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
19
15
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GC, WA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were checked in by Shuja and he was very efficient and professional. He pointed out area attractions and resturants.
Then while we were settling into our room the housekeepers were next door and my wife asked for extra pillows and they quckly brought them. During our stay, everytime we saw the housekeeper she would always ask us if everything was alright and wish us a good day.
On sunday my wife was given the task of finding a good seafood resturant for the evening and again Shuja went to his personal cell phone and came up with a list and then printed it out for us. He certainly represented this hotel and the chain very well. We will stay here again when we come to the Bay area. The room was very clean and well kept during our stay. It was the standard Holiday Inn Express, but it was the same as we have stayed in from Washington State to Florida, but knowing what to expect and having a great staff made this a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RR1451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBayAreaInns, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear rr1451,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team really is special and we genuinely care about our guests.

We will certainly share your kind remarks with our entire staff and hope to have a chance to serve you again very soon. Travel safely and let us know the next time you are in town!

Very truly yours,

Marie Cornell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The front desk person was so welcoming along with refreshments upon arrival, I told him that I did not want a room facing traffic...he said I will will put you on a quiet floor. After unpacking to my surprise I was facing the street that leads to the freeway...along with hearing the train go by- not a good night sleep. That being said, the hotel is located near restaurants, a movie theater and grocery store. The room was clean, the breakfast offerings are decent and there is a small gym. This hotel seems to be the best in the area and I would give them another try based on the location.

Room Tip: request a room away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBayAreaInns, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Liisa B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We love hearing from our guests..

Be assured, we will block any room locations you prefer moving forward. Please just let me know the next time you're in the area and I'm happy to assign your room personally.

Thank you for your kind words about our exceptional location, cleanliness and friendliness. We truly love the hospitality business and hope that it shows. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Very truly yours,

Marie Cornell
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express - Union City
(510) 475-0600
marie@lotushotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed for a night to visit family nearby. This hotel provided just what we needed. Comfortable bed, decent breakfast, clean updated rooms. There are lots of nearby stores and restaurants, too. No complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latinqt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBayAreaInns, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear latinqt2,

Thank you for your compliments and comments. We work hard to care for our guests and ensure they enjoy their stays. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our amenities with no problems whatsoever.

We hope to serve you again very soon. Thank you again for taking to time to provide feedback. We do appreciate it.

Very truly yours,

Marie Cornell
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express - Union City
(510) 475-0600
marie@lotushotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

There was some confusion with our room selections. We had selected 2 rooms with king beds each online but ended up having to be switched to 1 room with a king and a second with queen beds. We weren't too happy with this arrangement as all our confirmations reflected that we should have been given 2 rooms with king beds each. However, our front desk staff for the check in night was Shuja. He handled this change with professionalism. If it weren't for his character and attitude, we wouldn't have been happy with our stay.

Also, Patty from house keeping did a great job keeping our room clean and toddler entertained. She definitely went above and beyond, always checking in to ensure that she was not interrupting us before cleaning the room etc. Great to finally stay at a place where you don't feel like you have to keep using the 'Do not Disturb' card.

The hotel is located next to some good dining (Krispy Kreme, In N Out, Texas Roadhouse, Tribu, Sushi). The grocery store next door was very convenient when we had to rush out and grab some essentials. The hotel is also about a 30 minute ride to most key locations e.g. airport, downtown etc.

In terms of feedback for the hotel staff, the Internet was definitely slow - it's great that the service is free but it definitely needs to be a bit faster. The pool, laundry room and gym need to be updated. Hot water in the bathroom sinks also seemed to be lacking.

Overall the hotel worked out well for us. The free breakfast in the morning had good choices and round the clock coffee, tea, water, snacks at the front desk was great.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level facing the mall are definitely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBayAreaInns, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear LeonardN,

It was our genuine pleasure to serve you and your family. We will certainly share your compliments with Shuja, Patty and our entire hard working team. Thank you for that opportunity.

We will continue to look for ways to improve our amenities. With limited space, things are sometimes challenging, but that is what makes our business fun. We also apologize for the mix up with your room assignment.

Please feel free to contact me directly with any concerns or additional comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Very truly yours,

Marie Cornell
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express - Union City
(510) 475-0600
marie@lotushotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
213 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We found this through our garmin, tired travelers looking for a bed. Nice place, great staff, free wine in the evening and lots of shopping and eaterys walking distance! The room was very nice and had a very comfortable bed. The workout room was not in good condition, needs much maintance. And finally, the price was not so good. I would stay here again if we go through San Jose, but would make reservations in advance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcsteve56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBayAreaInns, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear dcsteve56,

Thank you for your comments. We truly enjoy hearing from our guests.

We are so glad you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the hotel. We will revisit our exercise facilities to ensure we provide the best possible in our limited space.

Yes, booking in advance will certainly provide the best possible rate. Also, we generally offer discounts on the weekends. We hope to serve you again very soon. Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback.

Very truly yours,

Marie Cornell
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express - Union City
(510) 475-0600
marie@lotushotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip where I had to commute between San Jose and Oakland. The hotel was very quiet, clean and accessible. The outdoor pool and spa were located in the center of the hotel so you might not get a tan but definitely it's a good way to stretch and get some exercise...especially if you have the free cinnamon rolls for breakfast.

The breakfast spread had eggs, sausages or bacon, biscuits and gravy, cinnamon rolls, fresh fruit (bananas and apples), a pancake maker, cranberry, apple and orange juices, coffee, tea, yogurt, cereal and hard boiled eggs. Definitely enough to get one through to lunch.

Near the hotel were restaurants, a movie theater and other such amenities to get one out of the hotel if needed.

The gym was small but adequate with a color TV to watch as one keeps in shape, and the business center, though centrally located in the lobby (read: so anyone coming through the lobby doors could see what is on the screen) has free printing.

The beds were extremely comfortable with a medium firmness and the pillows were very soft indeed. The bathrooms were immaculate and had fresh towels daily, if needed. I really appreciate the hotels that have environmentally friendly policies such as this hotel where if I wanted to reuse a towel, I left it hanging instead of placing it on the floor. I believe that every little bit helps.

The front desk attendant, Shurja Mumtaz, was very friendly and was extremely helpful in accommodating my every request. If he did not have the answer on hand, he made sure that he got it and gave me a timely reply to my query.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowboard_Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBayAreaInns, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Snowboard_Scuba,

Thanks so much for your kind remarks. We are very proud our our property, service and location. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to serve you again very soon.

Please stop by to say hello anytime you are in the area.

Sincerely yours,

Marie Cornell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union City
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Union City
Hampton Inn Union City
#1 of 4 in Union City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Union City - Dyer St.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Newark Silicon Valley
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Hayward
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose

Property: Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose
Address: 31140 Alvarado Niles Rd, Union City, CA 94587-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Union City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Union City, CA! We are located in the heart of the SF Bay Area and at the gateway to Silicon Valley! The new Union City Holiday Inn Express Hotel offers all the modern amenities with the convenient to Oakland, Hayward, Fremont, & San Jose. We are also central to several major universities & attractions including Cal State Hayward, UC Berkeley, Jack London Square, Oakland Coliseum & Arena, Chabot College, Stanford University, Great America Theme Park, and San Jose State University. Located adjacent to the Union Landing Entertainment Complex, our guests can choose from over a dozen restaurants, a variety of shopping options, IFLY (indoor skydiving) and 25 movie screens within walking distance. Choose to dine at Chevy s, Chili s, TGI Friday s, Texas Roadhouse, Applebee s, IHOP, or just pick up a snack at In-N-Out Burger, or Krispy Kreme Donuts. The hotel features an indoor/outdoor solar heated pool, heated whirlpool spa, on-site fitness center plus our renowned complimentary Express Start breakfast bar. Our guest rooms feature free high-speed internet access, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, two-line speaker phones with voice mail and ergonomic chair. We are central to all Bay Area airports: San Jose, South (SJC), Oakland, North (OAK) and San Francisco (SFO) - each within a 25 mile range. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to the Bay Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose Hotel Union City
Holiday Inn Union City
Union City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing