We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and Drinks Fresh Fast and Good”
Review of Chevys Fresh Mex

Chevys Fresh Mex
Ranked #10 of 116 Restaurants in Union City
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: When we think Chevys Fresh Mex, we go to our happy place; fun-lovin’ guests, fajitas & margaritas, and the freshest food, always from scratch. Founded in 1986 in Alameda, California, Chevys is an ultra-casual restaurant concept that offers guests an array of freshly prepared Mexican dishes in a relaxing atmosphere. Similar to other Real Mex restaurants, Chevys prepares its dishes daily from scratch using only the freshest ingredients. Chevys is a national brand with locations in 8 states. Chevys' store base includes 39 Company-owned restaurant locations and 16 franchised restaurants. With more than 25 years of successful operations, Chevys is the most widely recognized Mexican casual dining brand in northern California, and is the second largest Mexican casual dining brand in California in terms of number of restaurants, behind El Torito. Designed to offer a fiesta for the senses, where every experience is fresh, fun and full of flavor, the concept is focused on the execution of its trend-setting Fresh Mex® menu and continuous innovation. Chevys uses a "Fresh Mex®" pledge which underscores the Company's promise that all products are made daily from scratch.
Union City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food and Drinks Fresh Fast and Good”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

They are very fast and fresh. The shrimp fajitas and avacado dip and chips are my fav. The frozen margaritas are good too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tutuhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Service”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We had very good service but the food was just average, everything was a over salted without any real flavor.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruddhashark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“drinks were the bomb, but food needs improvement”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I ordered the and bell peppers need better sauté. Salsa was watery and poor. Waiter was fast and efficient, just not at the end of meal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WmDCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Below Average”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We remarked at the table that every time we go to Chevy's we end up disappointed. This time and the last time were the ever shrinking serving size of the fajitas. Very few vegetables, and not much steak. We ask for more grilled vegetables and we get a tiny plate if onions and jalapeños that look like green bell peppers. Needless to say we were unpleasantly surprised with the extra heat. We don't plan to return and instead will head to El Patio in Fremont. Serving sizes are much larger and our money goes further with lower priced drinks.

Helpful?
Thank BrainSnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Usually fairly consistent, price okay with coupons”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

over the past 10 years and a couple bankruptcies the Chevy's quality has been slipping. Portions are smaller than before and menu prices keep increasing, also the menu is much more limited these days with fewer specials. Drinks are hit or miss but usually they are decent, better than other chains. I won't comment on the food, obviously this is tex-mex american chain food for that it is decent, don't compare to authentic Mexican joints. Fresh tortillas are always a bonus

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank arribasn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chevys Fresh Mex also viewed

 

Been to Chevys Fresh Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing