We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No thank you!”

Ellie's Mutt Hut & Vegetarian
Ranked #3 of 99 Restaurants in Ukiah
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Redwood Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“No thank you!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I don't like this restaurant at all--not for the food nor the atmosphere. I ordered eggs and hash browns and it was greasy. My hub went back and said their vegetarian omelette and it was "just okay." Neither of us will be back again. There are way better options. Try Mama's Cafe on State St.!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MamaSita65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    42
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“homestyle flare”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had the Johnny cake with strawberries for breakfast. OMG it was great, fresh strawberries, cream cheese, whipped cream. My friend had the regular johnny cake, with an egg; she loved it. I did share a bit of my dessert breakfast with her.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sacvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Very Causal Dinner, but GREAT food”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Extremely casual. Great food. Serves a variety of foods. Good for the cost as well. Find a seat in the enclosed entry area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott and Debor... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Hot Dog Hut Grown into A Vegetarian Delight”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have been going to this cafe for over 30 years. It started as the Mutt Hutt just offfering Hot Dogs in all varieties. Now it is one of the areas most popular breakfast and lunch restaurant. It is hard to find a place to park anywhere near this establishment between 11AM and 2PM..They serve fantastic omelettes and my favorite, huevos rancheros for breakfast. Of course you can have eggs any way you like them. Although they do serve meat, it is one of the most popular places in the county for organic vegetarian food. Their Tofu Pasta Salad is not to be missed. They still retain hot dogs and you can get a great hamburger there also. As said, they have a wide variety of vegetarian entrees and salads. There are daily specials. This establishment is known far and wide in the County and to tourists in the know. Line up and have a great meal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Fantastic menu selection whether you're vegetarian or not! Ellie & Kim have done a fantastic job with their menu selections. They will even make things to order. You must try the Johnny Cakes and ask for a green smoothie!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellie's Mutt Hut & Vegetarian also viewed

Ukiah, Mendocino County
 
Ukiah, Mendocino County
Ukiah, Mendocino County
 
Ukiah, Mendocino County
Ukiah, Mendocino County
 

Been to Ellie's Mutt Hut & Vegetarian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing