We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ukiah
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were a family of five in need of a motel on a Wednesday night after a long day of visiting the Redwoods and driving. I mention the day of the week because it will dictate the price you pay at most motels. Compared to several other nearby motels the Quality Inn had a better look and feel to it. We had stopped at another motel that is being renovated and the rooms were bad and they wanted $70 for a room with two queen beds.

We arrived at 9:00 p.m. and the manager working the front desk was friendly and quoted us two double beds for $79.00 a night. After mentioning that we had three kids he upgraded us to a suite (2 queen beds and a couch sleeper) at no extra charge. The room was clean and comfortable. In the morning they offered eggs, sausage, toast... at no extra charge. I spoke to the women working the front desk in the morning and found out that she and her husband manage the property.

In the world of motels it's all about management and these folks care. If you are in Ukiah and need an affordable clean place to stay the Quality Inn is a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 224 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is an older property, dating back to when US 101 went through town instead of around it, but well-kept and clean. We were greeted by Jag, the hotel manager. Pleasant with a great sense of humor (asked us if the 5th floor was OK. There are only two floors!).

Through an online reservation glitch we ended up with a queen bed (we try to book only king beds where possible). Jag did a little sleuthing and actually came down to the room to let us know what she found (it was actually OUR glitch when we made the reservation). We had other Quality Inn reservations on this trip, and we found the same issue on those - Jag took care of the problem...too late for this stay, but taken care of for the rest of our trip.

As I mentioned, this is an older property so the rooms are definitely on the smaller side - but not cramped for space, and fairly comfortable. Breakfast was quite good - not real big, but enough hot and cold variety to satisfy. Jag also prepares breakfast.

Really, the only thing I can consider a negative was the size of the parking spaces (relatively recently painted, it looked like). If you drive a Honda (etc.) you will be OK. We drive a full-size SUV (think "Suburban"), we barely fit side-to-side and only half to 2/3 of our vehicle actually fit in the space. Show stopper? Absolutely not. Just goes to show that nothing is perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadTrippersWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The excellent staff made my four-night stay a pleasure. "Jag" and her husband were friendly, talkative and helpful. She told me about the Buddha University nearby, allowed me to check in early, and provided a wonderful breakfast. $70/night rate is a bargain!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilson w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

The staff (especially the woman at reception) was so inviting and helpful. They allowed us a late check out without any issues. We will definitely stay again if we're in the area. Great central location for wine tasting.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I go to Ukiah often, have stayed multiple places. Now, this is my one and only choice. Very nice rooms, wonderful staff and quiet. I wish they own owned hotels elsewhere! Husband and wife team with family who are very concerned about your stay. The hotel is like their home that they invite you to stay in.

Room Tip: North south rooms have a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here when I first moved to Ukiah. We didn't end up staying a week because we were so unhappy, so our rate went up. We were unhappy becasue the first room we saw (we didnt htink this one would be assigned to us however) smelled like pot smoke but was a non smoking room. The smell was clear as day and if you live in Mendo Co. for even a brief period of time you KNOW the smell. How the manager could tell us "Well you agreed to the room" is beyond me. It needed a cleaning. The next room they moved us to had a condom box underneath the clean trash can liner - so it was obviously LEFT there by cleaning staff. Then we pulled off the comforter from the bed and an empty condom wrapper was on the ground by the bed plain as day. I have NO IDEA how the cleaner could have missed that. I was so mad and told the staff. They did apologize and moved us to another room AGAIN. We were over it. and left the "Qaulity Inn"

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grimmh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Made Internet reservation, was concerned when drove up and saw dated building. However, the room was clean and everything functioned properly. The staff was friendly and helpful. The price was very good.it is located about three blocks from the new area of town. However the best thing was the breakfast, fresh eggs, sausage, toast and bagels with a nice presentation. I commend the breakfast lady for a job well done. Not a fancy place, but not bad.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ukiah hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Ukiah
Super 8 Ukiah
#5 of 15 in Ukiah
620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Orchard Inn
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Ukiah
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ukiah Mendocino County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1050 S State St, Ukiah, CA 95482-5821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Ukiah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ukiah
#4 Business Hotel in Ukiah
Price Range: $89 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Ukiah
Rodeway Inn Ukiah
Ukiah Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing