We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unfriendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vichy Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Ukiah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2005

The lady proprietor was unfriendly and condescending. I'm not sure what her problem was, but it made the rest of the experience unenjoyable.

The place itself is OK, but nothing really special. The outdoor hottubs are cooler than body temperature so they feel cold (~90F)! I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Czernobog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 186 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, CA
110
Reviewed October 9, 2004

I have visited 10 times at least and at all times of the year. I have never been more pleased to return to a place. On one of my visits, Dustin Hoffman was there for the weekend. He was on a bicycle tour with other famous people. It was a thrill to sit at breakfast with him and actually meet him.

The rooms and cottages, and I have stayed in both, are super clean with excellent beds and beautiful views.

The carbonated baths are incomparable as they float you away in a whirl of bubbles and mineral water at a temperature where you can stay in for a long time. I recommend using them late at night too. The star gazing is incredible. I have seen several shooting stars.

The massages are terrific and some of the best I have ever experienced. Recommend having one after hiking to the waterfall.

If you enjoy nature in a beautiful setting, this is the place for you.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2004

This was one of the worst places I have ever stayed and we travel lots for both business and pleasure. It is the ONLY place I have ever checked out of mid stay. The rooms are small and the 2 room suite was old and very shabby. We had a problem with wasps in the room. When we could not find another adequate room we left mid afternoon but were charged for the night anyways. The management was rude and unaccomodating. It is very obvious that they do not rely on repeat customers. Massages the night before were adequate, but the mineral pools seemed dirty and unkept. The hillsides are pretty, but stay elsewhere and save your money.

  • Stayed: June 2003, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TN-VinoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Berkeley, Ca
16
Reviewed July 21, 2004

Vichy is a regular stop for us. The Baths are amazing; very relaxing and soothing. The hike to the waterfall is incredible (a bit hard to find as you have to practically hike up the creek at times). A lovely pool is at the bottom of the falls perfect for swimming on a hot summer day. The rooms are very tasteful and comfortable (I’ve only stayed in the creekside rooms). This is a great place to spend a romantic weekend and if you come during the week you may very well have the place to your self!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2004

I'll start with the good side - the grounds are beautiful... the pool is nice, the spa area & trails all seemed fine. But, the rooms are comically small & expensive. $150 gets you a room that's a little bigger than the bed & that's it - no TV (which some would consider a plus) & no amenities. My other complaint is that while the outdoors are lovely, its proximity to the rifle range is ironic at best. If you lay out at the pool, you will hear gun shots every few minutes. Quite unfortunate. So, my two cents... if Vichy is a destination for you (i.e. you want to do the spa, the trails, the pool, etc.), go for it. But, if you're just looking for a nice hotel as a home base for exploring the beautiful Ukiah countryside, I'd stick with one of the hotels in town.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
City, State
16
Reviewed May 28, 2003

My wife and I visited during the winter months and found the natural baths at night a little cool but the hot tub was great. Our cabin was aesthetically appointed and very comfortable. The on-site dining room was pleasant and served good food. The grounds were quite nice and an air of tranquility permeated the place. Overall we were very satisfied with our stay and will visit again.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 19, 2002

Way exceeded expectations. The baths are wonderful and if the other reviewer had his bathing suite torn, he must have been engaging in some strange activity. Get a cottage. The massages were some of the best we ever had. Breakfast was plenty of fresh fruit. The hike was beautiful. Staff was very friendly, but don't expect porters and a conceirge.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ukiah
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
543 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 15 in Ukiah
223 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Orchard Inn
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Ukiah
Super 8 Ukiah
#3 of 15 in Ukiah
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vichy Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vichy Springs Resort

Address: 2605 Vichy Springs Rd, Ukiah, CA 95482-3507
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Ukiah
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ukiah
Price Range: $95 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vichy Springs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vichy Springs is the best of two worlds a country inn and a hot springs resort. Rooms and cottages for overnight stays include full use of the naturally warm and carbonated Vichy mineral baths, hot soaking pool, Olympic size pool in summer and 700 private acre reserve to walk and explore. Breakfast is included in the morning, WIFI and telephone. Massage, facials and hot stone massage are available from 8am to 8pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vichy Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vichy Springs Hotel Ukiah
Vichy Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing