We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great birthday dinner”

Patrona Restaurant and Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Patrona Restaurant and Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 98 Restaurants in Ukiah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: School St.
Description: Patrona Restaurant and Lounge is located in the heart of beautiful Ukiah, Mendocino County, California. We are a family-run business and view the restaurant as an extension of our kitchen and living room. Our building served as the town grocery store for over one hundred years. Now lovingly restored, it is softly lit with warm brick walls, filled with hand crafted tables from local artisans and run by a staff that cares. Bridget and Craig, two winery chefs, opened Patrona in 2003. The simple goal was to enjoy the great area we live in and share this with our family and friends. Our mission statement is simply “Happy People”. We need to be happy about what we do and how we do it. Our guests need to be happy and feel good as well as our neighbors and future generations. This means a thoughtful and sustainable business. Our menu changes are based on today’s catch from the gardens, ocean and local purveyors.
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great birthday dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

It was really fun, fashionable, though overpriced for the minute portions (yes, so trendy, but disappointing after holding off eating all day for a fun dinner). The staff were fun and friendly, the other patrons well-humored even with my goofy friends. :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tarabo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    60
    14
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bullard, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stopped in midday to see what all the fuss was about. Young waitstaff, but knowledgable and friendly, good food, quiet atmosphere. Probably more of a "to be seen" place in the evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texasislandgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood Valley, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed in general, but especially for gluten-free”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I've been to Patrona four or five times now for different meals. I'm underwhelmed. They make a big deal of their gluten-free friendliness but apparently they no longer offer their signature gluten-free options like GF flatbread appetizer and GF pasta. On their website they went so far as to advertise "gluten free options available" for Mother's Day Brunch. It turns out their GF option for eggs benedict was simply to eliminate the English muffin. Ha! That's not an "option," that's a lack of an option--something you could expect at any restaurant under the sun. Either step up or stop acting like you're offering something special. At least inform your servers. The first time we went a month or so ago, our waiter explained all the awesome gluten-free options. But they didn't have any of them that day. We kept asking and eventually we were told "we're not going to have the gluten-free flatbread anymore." So what exactly are the "gluten-free options" you are advertising?

The service can go either way. The older woman who usually hosts is ridiculously snooty and unhelpful. I saw her turn away a walk-in because he didn't have reservations when there were lots of tables available inside--but she didn't offer him that option. She's not the sort of warm, people-oriented sort that is really needed in that position.

For Mother's Day brunch we ordered Bloody Mary's. They came before our meal. We were a little concerned about how the alcohol would hit us as we had a drive ahead of us. Not to worry. There was zero alcohol in our drinks. We thought maybe they'd misunderstood our order and given us virgin drinks. When my husband got the bill, we saw that we'd been charged $3 apiece for the drinks and $6 apiece for the vodka shots. My husband didn't protest because he didn't want to make a scene on Mother's Day. He didn't tell me until the next day that they'd charged us $12 for alcohol we'd never received (and in case you're thinking the drinks are just weak, believe me, we would both notice a shot of vodka on an empty stomach in the morning!).

Lastly the food is always just so-so. I guess it's decent for Ukiah but I'd rather eat pizza a few doors down at Saucy. It's a better value and the people are so friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MamaSita65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, ca
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Really enjoyed their selection of Pizza; something for everyone! The staff was friendly and helpful. Was very crowded and was seated in a family style table...that was not so great, but the food and staff more than made up for it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deedle707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First rate dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Small old time grocery building right down town. Good service and good food. We had a fine time. Lively atmosphere but way more formal than fast food or casual dining. Easily found parking on the street near the restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patrona Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Ukiah, Mendocino County
Ukiah, Mendocino County
 
Ukiah, Mendocino County
 

Been to Patrona Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing