We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best wineries in Sonoma county.”

Nelson Family Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Ukiah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most beautiful family owned ranches in Mendocino County. Over 2000 acres with spectacular views of the vineyards, Bartlett pear orchards, Olive Trees, Redwood Grove, and 200 year old Oaks makes this one of the most desired stops for wine and nature enthusiasts. We invite you to visit our tasting room where you can experience the passion you will only find in a family owned boutique winery.
San Jacinto, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best wineries in Sonoma county.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Spent 4th of July week in Sonoma county. We went to many wineries in Sonoma,Napa and Mendocino counties. Nelson winery was one of the best. The hostest was friendly and vey knowledgeable of wines and other local areas. also bought some honey. Tasting was only $5.00 most in area were $10.00.Great visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fortuna, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delightful family owned winery where we felt we were one the family”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great wines and friendly hospitity. My wife and I have been driving by road to the Nelson winery for years as we traveled along highway 101. In March 2012 we stayed overnight in Ukiah and went exploring and finally drove up the country road to the Nelson Family wine tasting room. We received a friendly greeting by Sherrilynn and soon discovered what wonderful wines they produce. It really is a family farm with no pretentions and we felt welcomed as one of the family. We left with a case of wine and a bottle of their olive oil. The Nelson family also holds a "Barn Blend" event in April for its club members and we attended the April 2013 Barn Blend that is actually a gathering of club members in the rustic family barn. We met two other couples that day and the six of us came up with our version of a blend which to our surprise was selected by to be Barn Blend that will be released in 2014. What a great family event, And the Nelson wines a absolutely great!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Duane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greeted with sparkling wine!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

What a delightful winery! Our favorites were the Chardonnay, the Estate Cab (Grandma's Cab) and Top Row Cab (we call it Top Shelf!). As an added bonus, they also produce and sell olive oil from their olive orchard. Many many thanks to Sherrilynn and Tyler for being so gracious with their time. We were also able to picnic in the beautiful Redwood Grove. Thanks again for a delightful experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KristiTomB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Whites!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I spent a lovely afternoon sampling some good wine. The sparkling white and chardonnay were very good, and I am very picky about my champagne and don't usually like chardonnays. The ladies hosting the tasting room were very friendly. The grounds were beautiful. Well worth the stop.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pzamanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Family Owned Winery”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Down a small road to the vineyard. Flowers and beautiful landscaping. Nice intimate tasting room. Nice offerings of wine served in great glasses. Charge of $5 pp but waived with purchase. We did by a cab that was very good. My husband also bought a hat with the vineyards logo. A very nice first stop on a trip to CA. The whole experice was warm, friendly and informative. No snobbery. You can tell the folks here love what they do and enjoy talking to visitors.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank VickieW1694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson Family Vineyards also viewed

Ukiah, Mendocino County
 
Ukiah, Mendocino County
 

Been to Nelson Family Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing