We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasty but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Schat's Bakery

Schat's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Ukiah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $11
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Branscomb calif.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“tasty but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a sandwich and sweets type of place with tables to sit down. The cookies are very good. They have soups, and various other lunch choices. It is pricey though for the type of place it is.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank juliew617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    44
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just like the other Schat's Bakery in Mammoth Lakes, this is a great place to get some tasty baked goods. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We ate breakfast here recently on a trip to Ukiah. I had a bacon, egg and cheese on one of their bakery-made everything bagels and it was absolutely delicious. My wife had croissant breakfast sandwich with turkey and she loved it. We also got a loaf of sourdough to take with us wine tasting. The sourdough was awesome. Of course, we topped it off with a few cookies, which were also delicious. We loved it so much we went to the Friedman's Hardware store on Sunday to get breakfast again (we had to go there because their restaurant is closed on Sundays, but they do have a little bakery inside the Friedman's). Again, delicious. We bought a few loaves to take home and freeze. Haven't had the frozen ones yet, but can't wait!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent. A Must stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Love this place. Try to stop when ever I can. Everything is good. Nice portions with the meals and the sandwiches are great. Of course the breads and other baked treats are so delicious. My daughter joked that she heard angels singing when she ate the chocolate cheesecake. It was that good. It is a bit busy and the line is haphazard at times, but they try to get you waited on and get you your food. Staff is great, but they are always busy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VASoutherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pastry heaven in a small town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We never miss an opportunity to stop at Schat's when we pass through Ukiah. It's pastries envy even the best European offerings, along with a great cup of coffee! Arrive early, though, as the best items are gone by about 1 pm! If nothing else, pick up a loaf of bread. You will love the taste!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyfern31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schat's Bakery also viewed

Ukiah, Mendocino County
 
Ukiah, Mendocino County
 

Been to Schat's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing