We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Be Fooled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ukiah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Be Fooled”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

At first glance, one would note that this hotel has been updated and is relatively well kept.

However, if you were to stay more than one night, you will quickly discover many items that are not functioning and are in ill repair.

The swimming pool is way too cold to enjoy even with the heat of Ukiah. The hot tub is so dirty you will choose to avoid it. The plant that surround the pool are brown and dead. The gym has alot of great equipment but does not work, and way too hot to enjoy your workout as the air conditioner is broken.

The management clearly is lack in keeping up the property and its features, too bad as it is one of the nicer hotels in Ukiah.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunloverls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    113
    69
    25
    30
See reviews for
101
101
26
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

On long vacations we try to weave in some less expensive lodgings. The Orchard Inn was not pricey--but they provided a lot of comfort.

Pluses: Uniformly spacious rooms, fridge and microwave in each room, 24 hour coffee downstairs, recent renovations so things are freshly painted and the AC worked well on hot days, flat screen TV, nice array of free breakfast items, new beds and basically quiet (at least in our room) so we got good sleep.

Minus: It was in Ukiah, not Mendocino. But we drove to Mendocino yesterday and saw some inns that looked a bit run down (but were no doubt a lot more expensive), so we were happy to come back here for the second night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travel2getherx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Rooms are large but have very poor soundproofing we could hear the guests in the next room talking. The pool is not clean and neither is the jacuzzi. This is probably because the filter is turned off when guests are not around. The filter should run all the time!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annmaria186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidewater, VA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

We were on a pretty tight budget for our last vacation, spending 8 nights in different locations. This was our best stop.

Upon arrival, there is a massage chair in the lobby where you can receive 5 minutes of relief for a mere dollar. What a fabulous welcome after a long drive!

The inside and outside appearance of this hotel was clean and neat, and the greeting quite pleasant. Our room was spacious and clean, with no odd smells.

We truly enjoyed our stop at the Orchard Inn, and hope you find this a welcome stop on your next trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalavantinGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

The room is nice and big, unfortunatley it was not very clean. Breakfast was okay but when we tried to get juice for the kids the machine didn't seem to be working properly. When a staff member finally appeared he took a look and said "your right it isn't working". No juice or other beverage was offered for the children (they must have had milk!). He also didn't put up a notice to inform other guests in the hotel. We also choose this hotel because it had a pool - the outdoor pool was closed due to rain earlier in the day! Never heard that one before.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanaimobars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

Had planned on heading to Humbolt, but road was closed due to a mudslide, so had to change plans. Ended up in Ukiah since it was a decent size town on our way to Napa. Hotel was clean, decent room & rate. Breakfast ended 1 hr earlier than other Best Western's so missed it.

Room Tip: Sign up for Best Western membership but use AAA
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25thannivtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercer island wa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Everything was fine although signage and location was a bit strange. Kind of out of the way and drove right past it as it is off one of main streets parallel to freeway and no large pole sign.....like most have.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimstravels_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ukiah hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 15 in Ukiah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ukiah Mendocino County
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Ukiah
Super 8 Ukiah
#6 of 15 in Ukiah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Ukiah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn
Address: 555 S Orchard Ave, Ukiah, CA 95482-5022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Ukiah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ukiah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your cozy Ukiah hotel is in the heart of wine country where all of the bounty and beauty of California is at your fingertips.The wineries and vineyards are the reason most people come to our Ukiah hotel. Close to historic downtown Ukiah and several shopping centers, there is plenty in the neighborhood to entertain the entire family. Family-friendly events take priority here, but that doesn't mean there aren't options for some adult-only fun. We're also close to casinos so you can see how Lady Luck is faring.Come for the wine tasting and stay for the car shows. There's always something happening near this Ukiah hotel. Infuse a little cultural sightseeing into your trip by strolling around the neighborhood. If you prefer to work on your swing, there's a golf course nearby. Water recreation is a favorite spring and summer pastime.You'll find yourself in the greenest winery area in the country. Easy access off of Highway 101 means that you're never far from the beach for a scenic drive or sandcastle building. Free Wi-Fi and a complimentary hot breakfast sweetens the deal. Fill up on sizzling hot waffles and eggs, pastries, fruit, cereal, yogurt and 100% Arabica coffee.Business travelers enjoy the plethora of activities and relaxation available at this Ukiah hotel. Caltrans, PG&E and AT&T are a few companies nearby. Ukiah also has several breweries to visit if that's your poison. Enjoy a generous dose of pleasure mixed in with your business. This Ukiah hotel is only two hours north of the San Francisco Bay area if you need some big city living. We're also close to Lake Mendocino, so bring the entire family. This pet-friendly hotel welcomes fur babies. Whether you need to be near the full 18-hole golf course or government offices, this is an ideal location. No hotel near Ukiah wineries does it better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orchard Hotel
Best Western Ukiah
Ukiah Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing