We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the majestic peacocks”

The City of Ten Thousand Buddhas
Ranked #2 of 45 things to do in Ukiah
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go for the majestic peacocks”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

A nice little stop over on our way to Eureka from the Bay Area.

We spent a couple of hours here. After registering at the Admin office, we checked out the small museum and the gift store.

This is a small little monastery with two schools and a little vegetarian cafe. The food at the cafe was really nice.

What i loved about the place were the peacocks that were roaming about.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nandini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    41
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven for vegans!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Going to the City of 10 Thousand Buddhas is a cultural experience without having to travel. I love the restaurant! Hours are limited (Wed-Mon 11 - 3) so we don't make it there very often but I can never get enough of the wonderful food!
The service is a little unique, so go with an open mind. They only take cash. Make sure to pick up some vegetable buns to go. They make great snacks or meals. You can pop them in the microwave for about 1 minute.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank ChickadeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must Experience this Place”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

What an awesome and peaceful experience. I could go on and on about this place. All I can say is, if you are in this area, you must stop by and check this place out. I have not felt so relaxed and at peace. Everyone was kind and went out of their way to make this place even more amazing. I would love to thank everyone for all the gifts! <3

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Cherlynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband used to lived there when he first came to the US. It's nice to see the street names. There were a lot of peacocks. He said its different. We went and had lunch there. The restaurant is not open on Tuesday but the food was delicious for being vegan. There are only three buildings that we are able to visit and look around. The gift shop, mediation building, and the restaurant.

Helpful?
3 Thank Chanthon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Serenity”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We encountered dozens of peacocks, during mating season. It was loud and beautiful! Our meal was okay. We went on a Saturday and there weren't any scheduled activities.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The City of Ten Thousand Buddhas also viewed

 
Ukiah, Mendocino County
Ukiah, Mendocino County
 

Been to The City of Ten Thousand Buddhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing