We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreasonable Expectations?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twin Peaks
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arrowhead Pine Rose Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unreasonable Expectations?”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had planned just two days in Arrowhead and I had searched all the lodgings. Pine Rose had excellent reviews and their website looked great. We had the Fisherman's Hideaway, Cabin 12, and were very disappointed, to the point of checking out after one night. (we were given a refund for the second night) The carpet was this faded green stuff and looked spotted and dirty. The paint was peeling off the wood surrounding the window panes. The Queen size bed was squeezed into a tiny bedroom so you had to rub against the wall on either side to get into it. The heat went off at 9 p.m.--able to turn it on again at 7 a.m. The bathtub/shower was one of those deep spa tubs and access was via two wide steps of slick shiny tile with no handholds. Legal maybe, but not safe. The oven didn't work--maybe the pilot wasn't lit--but the lighting was so dim it was impossible to see into it. And the little things that make you feel welcome--a roll of paper towels, and coffee/tea for that first morning--both missing. The receptionist said there should have been coffee (but not paper towels)--and she said there was a night watchmen who would have turned the heat back on had we called. There was a fireplace with one stick of wood, no kindling or starter. It simply felt unwelcoming and we had expected more, although other guests had given these cabins great reviews We frequently stay at VRBO's and cabin accommodations, and this didn't measure up.

Room Tip: Avoid the Fisherman's Hideaway--other cabins must be better to get the reviews they get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SpringValleyCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineRoseCabins, Owner at Arrowhead Pine Rose Cabins, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate criticism and suggestions about our cabins. It helps us to improve service. Fisherman’s Hideaway was already scheduled for new carpet when you checked in. We just didn't have the opportunity to replace it before you arrived.

Pine Rose is not a full service hotel but a cabin resort, offering our guests an escape from the city in our unique cabins and wonderful, natural grounds. Some of our cabins were built in the 1920s, as was the Fisherman’s Hideaway. We are passionate about our cabins and are committed to making our guests feel welcome and provide the best experience possible. Our innkeeper is on call to serve our guests around the clock. Again, we are sorry we didn’t meet your expectations, but we hope we will see you in the future. We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    33
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
61
41
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
reeseville wi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a family gathering for a memorial service at pine rose cabins. we were very pleased with the cabins. they were clean and beds comfortable. it easily accomadated the many people we had in them. the staff was excellent in accomadating our numerous requests. the setting was beautiful. there was a creek with small ponds and gold fish which made everything special. we decided to stay another night and we had to change to a different cabin which was larger and more spacious than the previous one we were very happy.i like the full service kitchens in the cabins as we enjoy cooking our own meals. everything was clean and smelled fresh. i would recommend this to anyone.definitly we would stay at pine rose cabins again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I could not have asked for a better place to have our event for about 50 people. We had about 40 staying over and the cabins were perfect! Everything you needed was there, and the amphitheater for our event was just great with lights in the trees and brooks and the cabins close to the event.

We later transferred our remaining group to a lodge and it was again...wow. delightful!
the help is great, the cabins (houses) and lodges are awesome. It was perfect!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjj777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flyrod
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

It was a sad occasion that brought us all together. We were having a memorial for my mother. We rented two lodges that were joined by a common area and also had a small natural stage setting. I wish I was still there between the creeks that flowed into a pond. Looking up I saw three different types of pine trees. They towered overhead under a beautiful sky. The peaceful setting was a healing ointment in a wounded heart. It was such a great setting to gather for a family reunion and we decided to stay another day. I miss my mother but know that it was the type of celebration she would have wanted. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Plan to spend one more day than you planned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyrod_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed at Pine Rose Cabins this summer and had a wonderful time. Friendly and helpful staff, large, very comfortable cabins (houses, really) and a beautiful setting. Very kid friendly. The pool and hot tub were well used by family of all ages. Great for large gatherings!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was a perfect choice for our large three-day family reunion. Beautiful setting and grounds, pleasant cabins, great pool, good service, It's close to Lake Arrowhead, where we enjoyed a boat tour around the lake - seeing homes of the rich and famous. Also a hike in the hills.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gjge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have stayed in Pine Rose Cabins many times, and I have found then to be wonderful. Our church leadership stayed in Strawberry Lodge, which was beautiful and accommodated everyone. It was clean and we had no problems. My husband and I have stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, which is delightful with the waterfall jacuzzi. It was our anniversary, and the staff treated us like royalty!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kgiordano33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Peaks
2.7 mi away
Saddleback Inn
Saddleback Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Arrowhead
133 reviews
2.2 mi away
The North Shore Inn
The North Shore Inn
#1 of 1 in Crestline
364 reviews
18.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection
2.4 mi away
Sleepy Hollow Cabins and Hotel
2.6 mi away
Arrowhead Tree Top Lodge
Arrowhead Tree Top Lodge
#5 of 7 in Lake Arrowhead
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowhead Pine Rose Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowhead Pine Rose Cabins

Property: Arrowhead Pine Rose Cabins
Address: 25994 CA-Hwy 189, Lake Arrowhead communities 92352, Twin Peaks, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92391-0031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Arrowhead > Twin Peaks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Twin Peaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by extraordinary landscape, Arrowhead Pine Rose Cabins offers a natural escape from the busy cities of Southern California. We are only 2 hours (at most) away from LA, San Diego, Orange County, and Palm Springs. Experience the peaceful serenity of mountain streams while lounging outside a rustic cabin or by our swimming pool. We have cabins of all sizes, from studios to 7 bedrooms. Great for family, church or business retreats/getaways.We are pet friendly, so you can bring the whole family! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Rose Cabins Hotel Twin Peaks
Arrowhead Pine Rose Cabins Twin Peaks, CA - Lake Arrowhead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing