We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still an out of the way Thai tourist destination”
Review of Nana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nana Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Saphli B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed in adjoining Bungalows for 4 nights and would say this is currently the best hotel on this beach. That said, this is not a beach on Samui or Phuket, it is still a Thai beach area with mostly Thai tourists rather than "farangs".

The beds are as hard as stated by other reviewers BUT housekeeping will place an underlay on the mattress for us equally soft foreigners if you ask for one (Pantomime requests accepted)

We felt the buffet breakfast was excellent for a hotel of this standard and reviews saying otherwise were either a tad unfair or perhaps now out-of-date.

The sand-flies on the beach (we were here in April) got me good so watch out if long beach walks in the morning or evening are your thing also.

Room Tip: Bungalows are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nangfah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 134 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Arrived and reception lady showed us selection of accommodation went for second floor room with double bed. Rooms are ok could do with a soft chair or two,cannot sit on balcony as aircon unit takes up a lot of space, the bed is soooo hard this would put me of returning. Breakfast was poor as if you arrive after 9am it's either cold or all gone. The beach bar/restaurant was a nice touch but the cooked food was brought down on a motor bike so was cold. Could be so much better.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Granitebeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

For the cost Nana Beach Resort of OK but with a little attention to detail it could be so much better.
We stayed for 7 days whilst looking for a house and found the rooms pretty clean and well maintained but the bed was very hard even by Thai standards. The resort could do with some work with the decorative thatched roofs displaying large holes. Breakfast was variable. If you timed your arrival right the food was hot but if you were unlucky the pans had no heating so the contents were cold and often left uncovered. The resort has a bar and restaurant on the opposite side of the road to the entrance. It is a very plesant setting overlooking the beach but the food is still cooked in the resorts kitchen and brough down to you by a guy driving on handed on a motorbike whilst carrying your food in the other. This meant it was never hot and if he forgot your steamed rice you would not get it before you had consumed the rest of your meal. Its a pity, a little more thought and effort and the resort would be very good. However, for a low cost short stay on a beautiful beach its OK

Room Tip: If you are staying in the single rooms cxhoose upstairs for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The staff was awesome, the pool was awesome, the room was awesome. Absolutely worth of staying. The breakfast was excellent, buffet. Theres also beach right in front of the resort. Thung Wua Laen is peaceful, quiet little beachvillage, where locals love to spend their weekends. So Saturdays and Sundays were quite full. The beach was crowded. But that has nothing to do with the resort. Its good!

Room Tip: If youre staying in the rooms instead of the bungalows, pick one from the downstairs. You have then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I was walking through Thung Wae Lin (spelling?) and looking for somewhere to stay. I stopped here because I liked the wooden bridges. The woman at the desk told me that a bungalow was 800 baht per night, so after seeing it I asked to book two nights. Turns out (after I paid with a card) that the price was 1800 baht per night. In my opinion, after travelling around extensively for 4 weeks, was that this was a bit overpriced but whatever. It did seem a little strange though that she hadn't shown me the price on a calculator before charging me - which is fairly standard for virtually any transaction in Thailand.

Then I had my laundry done, and this is what cinched my opinion of this place... 310 baht. Sounds like a small amount if you've never been to Thailand, or maybe if you don't realize that I travel with carry-on luggage only and it wasn't even all dirty... I have never paid more than 60 baht before - whether my room costed 200 baht or 5000 baht. I was appalled.

I was again reminded that this is Thailand, and you always ask before agreeing...Rookie mistake made in a moment of comfort after some amazing encounters with incredibly wonderful Thai people (just not at the this hotel).

Having said that, they mostly cater to expats and foreigners. It's not like we can't afford it - and it easily appeared to be the nicest place on the strip. Still, I hate being had - and that was my impression of this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

This is the beach where all the westerners stay in chumphoon. Really nice soft sand beach

Nana is very nice with a large pool with restaurant bar and across a quiet street is the beach where they have another restaurant/bar. So you can chill out either place and sleep, drink, eat or swim

Rooms in the main building are not as romantic but saves 500 baht

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Boris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I rarely do reviews for accomodations (want to keep the good ones for myself) but I had a wonderful week at Nana's so lets make an exception!

People were helpful and friendly, the rooms very quiet and clean, wifi in the room was very good, the breakfast buffet quite good and there was something for every one's taste.

But the spacious gardens with a very large pool makes this hotel stand out, it is rarely full with guests so it is very nice to spend some time looking from the pool on to the beach.

The restaurants both inside the ground and just over the road on the beach are both good but for even nicer food but less atmosphere, walk 200 meter south to View Seafood Resort, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fredinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saphli
0.9 mi away
Chumphon Cabana Resort & Diving Center/Hotel
9.2 mi away
Sara Boutique Resort
Sara Boutique Resort
#1 of 3 in Pathio
85 reviews
9.9 mi away
Novotel Chumphon Beach Resort&Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Tanisa Resort
Tanisa Resort
#3 of 21 in Chumphon
94 reviews
8.4 mi away
A-Te Chumphon Hotel
A-Te Chumphon Hotel
#1 of 21 in Chumphon
174 reviews
8.8 mi away
Chalicha Resort
Chalicha Resort
#2 of 21 in Chumphon
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nana Beach Resort

Address: 10/2 Moo 2, Saphli 86230, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chumphon Province > Saphli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saphli
Price Range: $36 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nana Beach Resort Chumphon Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing