We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better!”
Review of Nana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nana Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Saphli B&B and Inns
South Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 588 helpful votes
“Could be so much better!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Nana Beach Hotel is about 16 kilometers north of Chumphon at Thung Wua Laen Beach. We looked at a couple of places to stay and Nana Beach Hotel looked very pretty with lovely gardens and grass areas opposite the beach and the pool villas were 1800baht with free breakfast and wifi. The Pool Villas have a glimpse of the pool across grassed areas. Well this would end up being our worst night ever in Thailand! We also chose this hotel as reception said they had English channels on the television.

Our room seemed very nice with a huge bathroom plus an outside bathroom but the bed was an absolute shocker, we have probably slept in over 50 different hotels in Thailand and this bed was the worst, I had a look at the mattress and think it was high density foam but we have since been told it may have been a coconut husk mattress which is equal to cement. We also could not find the English Channel so I went back to reception and the Dutch receptionist said we do not have it in the rooms but the television in reception has the English Channel!

Anyway after a terrible night of hardly any sleep we decided that after breakfast if they had mattress toppers we would stay a few days longer as the area was very nice. Well what can I say about breakfast, except that now we have had the worst breakfast in Thailand served by some very surly staff.

We are not fussy or picky customers and have stayed in some pretty strange places but this was bad so we decided to check out and move on elsewhere. Would be a fantastic place to stay if they changed the mattresses, put chairs in the room, sorted out the cold stale breakfast and employed people with customer service skills.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy&Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    53
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
33
59
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very quiet well kept resort within walking distance of a variety of eating places and a great beach just across the road if the pleasures of the pool pall. Good regular local bus service into Chumphon @ 30 baht run until 17.00.
Downside is not enough poolside beds 15 for 40 odd rooms and the mossies which might be something to do with the none running (unless it rains) "stream" of stagnant water that runs through the site.

Room Tip: Avoid upper floor if you wnt to sit out. Balconies have the air-con units blowing onto them mking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisnkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here on our way south from Bangkok to Phuket by bicycle. Our rooms were in the two-storey block, and were very clean and luxurious compared to other places we have stayed. There's free WiFi everywhere. Loved the pool, and the poolside bar made a good G&T, though it took a while to make - much attention to detail. The frogs in the channel that runs through the grounds are vocally impressive in the evenings. We only had breakfast at the hotel, and I see another reviewer has mentioned the flies - yes, lots at breakfast, some even in the fruit juice jug despite the lid. Not sure what they can do about that, unless, like Matara beach in Kerala, they enclose the entire dining area in a mesh. We ate at a couple of places locally, one a seafood restaurant two doors down from Nana Beach, with excellent fried fish with garlic. Also a very good massage at a place about 10 minutes walk, turn right out of the drive, go past the Apple cafe (very good mint lemonade) and past the small Pizza parlour. Next to it is a restaurant set back from the road that does some Italian food, and one of the best Arabbiata sauces I've had. Upstairs are a couple of massage beds. The beach across the road was a bit grubby.

Room Tip: Our room was in the block, but they have cabins as well, though I don't know if they're air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anjistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

So many plus points and yet one insurmountable negative.
On the plus side, great location, manicured lanscaped grounds, spectacular infinity pool, pool side rooms very spacious, designer finishes (polished concrete etc.) and exhibitionist bathroom. Only drawback - although there were over 200 TV channels tuned in, not one was in English!
Now the one and only real negative - the astute reader may have spotted there has been no reference to a bar or a restaurant. Not because the Nana Beach Resort doesn't have any - it does. But they're always full - with flies and very bity midges in such quantities that every mouthful of food or drink has to be first fanned to remove said hotel inhabitants and then fully protected on its way to the mouth!
I might also add that our room was filled with flies and midges on check-in and had to be sprayed. Not totally successfully, as an uncomfortable night attests.
That's why a possible 4 star rating is now only 1 star!
Hotel reception people (very pleasant!) when asked whether flies were a constant problem or just an infrequent irritation just shrugged.
I since have heard that the whole Chumphon area is fly prone - but I can't vouch for that.
But I can for the Nana Beach Resort!

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank easyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saphli hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed her September 2012. Very nice pleasant place. Staff friendly booking things, finding info on anything we need. Right next to the Thung Wua Laen beach which is also veryquiet. Food is nice with Thai dishes served in the evenings.a bar by the pool serving alcoholic drinks at a good price. We can borrow bikes to go out. Rooms are clean and look new. Strongly recommended for a quiet retreat. We are backpackers passing through but feel refreshed after 2 nights here! Cafes and shops along the road. Can arrange snorkelling or boat trips for u at a price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex8771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here twice on my way through. Staff is helpful and the rooms and bungelows are clean and well kept. Breakfast is simple but always good. The pool is very clean and well maintaned. I would recommend staying here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AsiaHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We bumped into Nana Beach accidently, driving around the Chumphon area looking for a nice beach and a good place to stay. We found both! The Nana Beach Resort is brand-new (or at least it appears to be). Lovely grounds with green, swings and a huge infinity pool with views of the beach. Prices are very reasonable for what you get: a large, comfortable and spotless room with balcony and garden views.

Staff was attentive and breakfast was good. You cannot have dinner at the hotel, which we found a bit odd, but across from the hotel is a *great* seafood restaurant (probably best food we had in Thailand). The beach is still rather undeveloped, which we loved. One disadvantage from Nana is that a huge bus of local tourists arrived on our second day for what seemed to be a company-retreat. Not sure if this is a regular thing, but it took away a little from our "out-of-the-way-feel". Other than that: surely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saphli
0.9 mi away
Chumphon Cabana Resort & Diving Center/Hotel
9.2 mi away
Sara Boutique Resort
Sara Boutique Resort
#1 of 3 in Pathio
76 reviews
9.9 mi away
Novotel Chumphon Beach Resort&Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Tanisa Resort
Tanisa Resort
#3 of 20 in Chumphon
94 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chumphon Saphli Villa Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Talay Sai Hotel
Talay Sai Hotel
#1 of 5 in Pathio
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nana Beach Resort

Property: Nana Beach Resort
Address: 10/2 Moo 2, Saphli 86230, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chumphon Province > Saphli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saphli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Nana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nana Beach Resort Chumphon Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing