We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Twain Harte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We have just returned back to the UK following a 2 week holiday in California. The highlight was staying with Stephanie & Michael. From our arrival we had the most fantastic time - the room was fab with a lovely verandah and views, we slept so well as the bed was very comfy. Nothing was too much trouble for Stephanie & Michael they recommended good local places to eat and visit. The breakfast was delicious and our memories back here in the wet UK are taking breakfast on the verandah, being served delicious food and feeling very welcome. We certainly look forward to returning. Many thanks Sue & Steve Smith

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smccaffrey, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review of our inn. Sorry you are having rain and such - hope it clears up before the start of the Olympics. Twain Harte is warm and we are all enjoying summer mornings having breakfast on the decks. I hope you are able to return someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 149 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

We could not have had a more enjoyable stay, a more scrumptious breakfast, a more comfortable bed and more hospitable hosts. I read the "Yuba City" review and wondered if they actually stayed at the same place we did. We have returned many times and find it just as amazing each and every time we stay there. B&B's are not restaurants but The McCaffrey's breakfasts top any restaurant fare we have ever had.

Room Tip: We loved the Green Room...all are wonderfully appointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherman c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smccaffrey, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

We are so happy you enjoy staying with us. I do love cooking, it is probably my most favorite thing to do. Many, many years ago when Michael's family was sharing all their creative talents, I decided I had none and would therefore learn to cook - it became my creative outlet! Thanks for the compliment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stephanie and Michael are just simply amazing. From the minute we arrived in the evening they were the best. From showing us to our room, recommending a place to eat and suggesting activities to do in the area. If you need directions on how to get to some of those activities, they are quick to offer you a sheet of directions taking you directly from their B&B right to where you want to go. Their bed sheets are amazing and the food is fabulous. We stayed in room 4 our first three days and woke up to the forest out our private balcony. Switched to the Burgundy room and woke up to the sounds of a babbling brook below us. There two dogs, Finnegan and Blue are just a delight, as well as Granite the cat. Cannot say enough about this place, hospitality abounds, amazing food and great friendships are just the tip of the iceberg. Go and enjoy, make amazing memories you will not regret this decision. Simply the BEST!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smccaffrey, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We're glad you enjoyed staying in two different rooms and that you liked our very friendly pets. Hope you return in our inn soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Not impressed. We felt unwelcome, the beds were horriblyuncomfortable, the pillows felt like they were from Goodwill and the food was average with absolutely no choice about what to eat. For the price you could stay somewhere much nicer and actually feel appreciated. Michael was friendly but that is where the friendliness ended. We were so excited and ended up with nothing but disappointment. Want my advice? Stay somewhere else, you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlleyJ-YC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boysen, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Although not a review we enjoyed reading, we appreciate your taking the time to write it. We strive to make all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable, and prepare meals we think all will enjoy.
It saddens us to know you were so unhappy and didn't let us know this while you were our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My wife and I went to McCaffery's B&B for my 55th birthday, I'm not sure what all the hype is; expected more, got less, got the stomach flu, the B&B experiance is not for everyone, I should have gone to Reno. The dog's are friendly, Michael is friendly, the help is friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms down stairs are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dadeegreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boysen, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. I'm glad the staff and Michael were friendly and helpful. Most of our guests do enjoy Finnegan and Blue - they are such friendly and happy dogs and so excited to meet everyone arriving at the inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Wow! Stephanie and the staff at McCaffrey made our first bed and breakfast experience a true delight. We will definitely be back.

When we first arrived the front door seemed to open by itself, but it was opened by a friendly dog named Finnegan. Then Stephanie was there to introduce herself and give us a tour of the house. We were offered a bottle of wine, glasses and a corkscrew to take up to our lovely room - the Lupin Room. It was cozy and well decorated. There was also a plate of chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us. There is a black iron fire stove in the room that kept us toasty at night.

The next morning we went downstairs for the 9am daily breakfast and sat with another couple staying there. The highlight of breakfast is the gourmet food! Stephanie is a great cook! What a treat! Not only that, but we were able to enjoy our meal and watch the snow fall for the first time that season. It was beautiful. A member of her staff, Marlene I believe was here name, gave us suggestions for the day. We explored the surronding towns and made it back to the house for our 4pm couples massage which was wonderful and led to a nap on our comfy bed. That night we were able to watch a favorite comedy DVD from home in our room as the rooms have TV's, Direct TV, and DVD players.

Our last morning began with another breakfast which was prepared by Patricia as Stephanie was out. The bread pudding recipe was Stephanie's and was deliciously prepared by Patricia. Soon after, we checked out and headed home. This place is a gem and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms look great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boysen, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review of our property. Michael and I are glad you enjoyed your stay and also enjoyed exploring our beautiful area. Hope you return soon. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience, so I'm glad it turned out great. Stephanie treated us kindly and showed us to and around our room. We stayed in the Evergreen room and apparently there was some confusion about us bringing our dog (I guess that room isn't usually rented out to people who bring their dogs but she allowed us to stay in that room anyway). The room was amazing with great views of the forest. We loved the balcony and fireplace as well. The location was great though I could still hear passing cars on the highway from the balcony.
We loved breakfast! The food was great and we really enjoyed getting to know the other people staying there as well. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikki_Diaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smccaffrey, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and as I've mentioned before, we love welcoming our guest's pets. What's really great in our small town of Twain Harte, is that there are restaurants with patios who are also pet friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twain Harte
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
22.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
24.1 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Jamestown
141 reviews
16 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
2.6 mi away
Lazy Z Resort
Lazy Z Resort
#1 of 3 in Twain Harte
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 23251 Highway 108, Twain Harte, CA 95383
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Twain Harte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Twain Harte
Price Range: $195 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AAA Four Diamond/Select Registry Inn is a delightfully warm and enchanting mountain lodge nestled in the quiet forest hollow of the High Sierra - near Yosemite National Park. Guestrooms are artfully decorated and include fire stoves, private baths with tub and shower, flat screen TV's, DVD players/DVD library, free Wi-Fi and parking, plus exquisite views of the forest that envelops the Inn. The inn was built with one essential theme in mind: refined luxury blended with comfort and modern convenience. General gathering areas are spacious and beautifully decorated, with a fascinating collection of furniture and art which the owners acquired during their extensive travels. All appointments have such a welcoming touch that they extend an invitation to come often and stay awhile. In summer, breakfast is served on the decks which surround the inn. Wine and cheese is offered daily in the late afternoon. Enjoy the romance of this mountain lodge, the pleasure of a family vacation, take over the inn for a reunion or business meeting, or schedule a small wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mccaffrey House b&b Inn
Mccaffrey House Hotel Twain Harte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing