We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would Never Go Back” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Twain Harte B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Yuba City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would Never Go Back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Not impressed. We felt unwelcome, the beds were horriblyuncomfortable, the pillows felt like they were from Goodwill and the food was average with absolutely no choice about what to eat. For the price you could stay somewhere much nicer and actually feel appreciated. Michael was friendly but that is where the friendliness ended. We were so excited and ended up with nothing but disappointment. Want my advice? Stay somewhere else, you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlleyJ-YC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boysen, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Although not a review we enjoyed reading, we appreciate your taking the time to write it. We strive to make all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable, and prepare meals we think all will enjoy.
It saddens us to know you were so unhappy and didn't let us know this while you were our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    11
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
85
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

My wife and I went to McCaffery's B&B for my 55th birthday, I'm not sure what all the hype is; expected more, got less, got the stomach flu, the B&B experiance is not for everyone, I should have gone to Reno. The dog's are friendly, Michael is friendly, the help is friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms down stairs are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dadeegreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boysen, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. I'm glad the staff and Michael were friendly and helpful. Most of our guests do enjoy Finnegan and Blue - they are such friendly and happy dogs and so excited to meet everyone arriving at the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Wow! Stephanie and the staff at McCaffrey made our first bed and breakfast experience a true delight. We will definitely be back.

When we first arrived the front door seemed to open by itself, but it was opened by a friendly dog named Finnegan. Then Stephanie was there to introduce herself and give us a tour of the house. We were offered a bottle of wine, glasses and a corkscrew to take up to our lovely room - the Lupin Room. It was cozy and well decorated. There was also a plate of chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us. There is a black iron fire stove in the room that kept us toasty at night.

The next morning we went downstairs for the 9am daily breakfast and sat with another couple staying there. The highlight of breakfast is the gourmet food! Stephanie is a great cook! What a treat! Not only that, but we were able to enjoy our meal and watch the snow fall for the first time that season. It was beautiful. A member of her staff, Marlene I believe was here name, gave us suggestions for the day. We explored the surronding towns and made it back to the house for our 4pm couples massage which was wonderful and led to a nap on our comfy bed. That night we were able to watch a favorite comedy DVD from home in our room as the rooms have TV's, Direct TV, and DVD players.

Our last morning began with another breakfast which was prepared by Patricia as Stephanie was out. The bread pudding recipe was Stephanie's and was deliciously prepared by Patricia. Soon after, we checked out and headed home. This place is a gem and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms look great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boysen, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review of our property. Michael and I are glad you enjoyed your stay and also enjoyed exploring our beautiful area. Hope you return soon. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience, so I'm glad it turned out great. Stephanie treated us kindly and showed us to and around our room. We stayed in the Evergreen room and apparently there was some confusion about us bringing our dog (I guess that room isn't usually rented out to people who bring their dogs but she allowed us to stay in that room anyway). The room was amazing with great views of the forest. We loved the balcony and fireplace as well. The location was great though I could still hear passing cars on the highway from the balcony.
We loved breakfast! The food was great and we really enjoyed getting to know the other people staying there as well. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki_Diaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smccaffrey, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and as I've mentioned before, we love welcoming our guest's pets. What's really great in our small town of Twain Harte, is that there are restaurants with patios who are also pet friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Beautiful, relaxing property,gracious hosts and fabulous food. This is a pet friendly establishment and pets do not have too many boundaries, so if you are allergic or are not a pet lover, you might want to take that into consideration. Loved the location as the McCaffrey House is close to lakes, wineries and a short jaunt to Yosemite. Our room was beautifully decorated, clean and had lots of little extras most hotels do not offer. Delores, an employee of the House, was warm, friendly and a great asset to this wonderful mountain retreat.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amomnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smccaffrey, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review of our inn. We are pet friendly and our Golden Retriever especially loves meeting new dogs - he also loves greeting our guests - but other dogs are his favorite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

We loved our stay at McCaffrey House. What a beautiful property and warm welcome from Stephanie await. Our days started with scrumptious breakfasts and continued as we explored this fascinating part of California. Don't miss Calaveras Big Trees, wine tasting (we liked Chatom), Columbia State Historic Park. The B&B is about 1 1/2 hours from Yosemite via Priests Grade. Ask about this steep but do-able road which saves lots of time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoulderGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boysen, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for the nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and were about to visit so many of the wonderful places near our inn. Old Priest Grade is scary for some but does save lots of time getting to Yosemite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

The McCaffrey House was the perfect weekend relaxation get-away. The town is quaint and cute with it's own small-town style. Stephanie is an amazing hostess who did anything she could to make us feel at home and satisfied. I felt very catered to, which was a great experience that you don't necessarily get at a traditional hotel. We have decided that this will be an annual vacation. The cooking is great, the rooms are perfect, the location is special and the dogs are so sweet! Thank you for an amazing weekend.

Room Tip: We had a room in the basement and it was cool and quiet and sunny with a walk out to the patio. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boysen, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review our inn. So glad you and your family had an "amazing weekend". Two of the rooms on the first floor have patios and one has a private deck and our guests do enjoy them. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twain Harte
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
22.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
16.0 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wildwood Inn
Wildwood Inn
#1 of 3 in Twain Harte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.4 mi away
Long Barn Lodge
Long Barn Lodge
#1 of 1 in Long Barn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 23251 Highway 108, Twain Harte, CA 95383
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Twain Harte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Twain Harte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AAA Four Diamond/Select Registry Inn is a delightfully warm and enchanting mountain lodge nestled in the quiet forest hollow of the High Sierra - near Yosemite National Park. Guestrooms are artfully decorated and include fire stoves, private baths with tub and shower, flat screen TV's, DVD players/DVD library, free Wi-Fi and parking, plus exquisite views of the forest that envelops the Inn. The inn was built with one essential theme in mind: refined luxury blended with comfort and modern convenience. General gathering areas are spacious and beautifully decorated, with a fascinating collection of furniture and art which the owners acquired during their extensive travels. All appointments have such a welcoming touch that they extend an invitation to come often and stay awhile. In summer, breakfast is served on the decks which surround the inn. Wine and cheese is offered daily in the late afternoon. Enjoy the romance of this mountain lodge, the pleasure of a family vacation, take over the inn for a reunion or business meeting, or schedule a small wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mccaffrey House Hotel Twain Harte
Mccaffrey House b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing