We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bluebell Lodge”
Review of Massington Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastnor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Massington Lodge
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spent two very pleasant nights at Bluebell Lodge. The setting is wonderful, right off the beaten track, in the midst of tall trees, a delight for bird-watchers.
The hosts provide for a self-catering breakfast, a different selection on day 2, and enough to stretch to lunch!
There is a balcony on which to enjoy a meal or a glass of wine on a sultry evening.
Windows from the lodge overlook all four sides - the front garden (lawn, ponds, trees), the owners’ back garden (lots of ducks), and two wooded areas.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 46 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

An amazing place just had a lovely week there. If you want to escape and spend time listening to bird song, sitting on your own decking, enjoying nature then this is the place for you. A warm welcome from your hosts and a welcome basket of cake apple juice, fresh duck eggs and some biscuits was a pleasant surprise. Suzanne and Danny were available for all the advice I needed and they work very hard on meeting their guests individual needs.
The lodge is clean, cosy and well equipt and perfectly positioned within its location. Ideal to get out and about to many local attraction. I've already booked my daughters in for a holiday.
Would definitely recommend this woodland retreat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridgett707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Suzanne and Danny were very welcoming and presented the Woodland Retreat wonderfully, complete with complimentary local produce (very local in the case of the duck eggs!). The weather for our stay was exemplary and condusive to enjoying the impressive grounds and environment of Massington Lodge. We also had a quick look over the Sheperd's Retreat, which was devine and beautifully decorated. We'd recommend walking to the malvern hills and also sampling the unforgetable Land Rover experience at nearby Eastnor Castle. Very little to fault or things to recommend to future guests - everything you need is there or close by. Ledbury was nicer than we expected - be sure to sample the food at the little natural health food shop.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertieB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Me and my partner booked a 3 night stay at the Shepherd's Retreat over the easter bank holiday and what a wonderful stay we had! The accommodation was perfect for what we were looking for! It's a self contained Shepherd's hut which was perfectly decorated, really cosy, with everything you need in one place. We arrived at 3pm on the Friday and were warmly welcomed by the hosts and shown to the hut, where they kindly explaining everything we needed to know - from heating to how the toilet works. Lovely and secluded, its not too far from the main house should you have a problem or need to get something out from the car. The bed is super comfy with enough space under the bed and in the little wardrobe for your cases and any other bits and pieces. We stayed in and cooked the first night and were impressed with the cooking facilities and " kitchen equipment" provided. We were impressed that Suzanne and Danny will come round when you are out in the day, change bins, check water levels, empty the toilet etc and we always came back to a wonderful surprise of homemade cakes - The best cakes in Herefordshire! The outside space is lovely and spent hours just watching the birds - So much wildlife around.

Fantastic area for exploring and plenty to do: walks from the Shepherds Hut to places such as, Malvern, Ledbury and Eastnor Castle (worth a visit - if it is open, make sure you check!), canoeing on the Wye River through amazing scenery although my arms were aching for days after and idyllic little villages.

A perfect weekend, with fantastic accommodating hosts and superb accommodation.
We cant wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Had a great week here. A very thoughtful welcome pack and I was immediately givena board when my jigsaw was unpacked. It is very easy here to enjoy peace and quiet and it feels very private. I was given tow duck eggs to try whe I arrived. Had a great time just stating on the sette looking out the window at the ducks, a squirrel who became very friendly, pheasants and tree creepers. I will be returning. I would like to echo what others have said Suzanne is very helpful but in an unobtrusive way, I can see why they chose to come here it's beautiful.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Second time we have stayed with Suzanne & Danny, what a friendly couple,perfect hosts.B&B consists of a continental breakfast in the Bluebell Lodge, excellent,choice.
The place is a gem,and well positioned for Malvern Hills Ledbury,Herefordso plenty to do.
A rare thing nowadays ,but NO Complaints

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

During a kitchen refurbishment, we were lucky enough to come across Suzanne and Danny's wonderful woodland lodges in Eastnor. For three weeks we stayed at Bluebell Lodge enjoying the expanse of the beautiful setting and all the thoughtful touches supplied by our hospitable hosts. A thorough care and attention to detail, to make guests feel comfortable and welcome, made it a wonderful sanctuary to escape to. Our 7 year old son reaped the benefits of the grounds from playing on the fantastic swing, exploring the surrounding footpaths to hand feeding the ducks at dusk not to mention devouring Suzanne's delicious home baked cakes and fresh duck eggs of a morning. We will certainly be recommending it to our own friends and family, having been so impressed at finding something of this calibre so close to our doorstep. An ideal location at the gateway of the Malvern Hills providing a peaceful and private setting with proximity to Ledbury, Colwall and Malvern for dining out options. Our stay certainly helped to alleviated the daily strains of a refurb-thanks so much!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asha27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Massington Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massington Lodge

Address: Eastnor HR8 1EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Eastnor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Eastnor
Price Range: $53 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One accommodation is self contained annex and a continental breakfast is included. The other accommodation is a one bedroomed detached self catering cedar lodge ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing