We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!!”
Review of Don Jose's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Don Jose's
Ranked #20 of 288 Restaurants in Tustin
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
California
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Be sure to try this place..it's been around for years and has never failed to serve great Mexican food.

Helpful?
Thank HappyToBeHere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    24
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I've always like Don Jose's”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The food is good an the prices are reasonable for sit down gavacho style Mexican food

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank twowheelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One of our favs”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Hey, it's just Mexican food but portions are large, service is always super speedy and everything is good. Nothing very adventurous on the menu but if you're hankering for Mexican this is good.

Helpful?
Thank dspolett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level 6 Contributor
550 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Americanized Mexican food, but absolutely delicious!”
Reviewed February 17, 2011

No, it is not "authentic" Mexican food in the traditional sense. There is a "slickness" in the preparation which obviously caters to toned down seasonings, and the chips are certainly "store bought". Nonetheless, the product that is put out in each dish is really tasty, and so this is not a restaurant to avoid. It is what it is. We found the service to be very good on an extremely busy night, as our water was filled up time after time, and the chips on the table were replaced three times before our entre's arrived. My wife got a Mexican plate and I had a salad and both were huge and delicious. This is a place you won't be sorry you tried.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fatbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always good, always consistent! Love it.”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We have been going to Don Joses for 15 years and never, ever had a bad meal! The food is excellent and we have tried most of the menu. The staff has been there forever and are very efficient. I cannot rave on enough about this place. Delicious Margaritas. I can unequivocally recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappilyRetired65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Jose's also viewed

Santa Ana, Orange County
Tustin, Orange County
 

Been to Don Jose's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing