We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nostalgic of living overseas”
Review of Belacan Grill

Belacan Grill
Ranked #35 of 288 Restaurants in Tustin
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Enderlee Center Drive
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nostalgic of living overseas”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I lived in Indonesia and I have a few favorite foods you don't find in many places. I can find it all here. I have tried many of their items on the menu since finding this international delight. My mouth waters just thinking of the food. Its best to go with a group and share...a little like a family dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christieelee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A unique and well served Malaysian/ Asian restaurant”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Very pleasant atmosphere: the display, funitures, and the view bring me in the tropical feel. Rather having a large room with some sorts of dividers, this restaurant has different wings which the seating areas wrap around the reception/kitchen. Table are spreaded providing the maximum privacy for each party. You would feel like you reserved the room. The credit should be shared to the other customers around me. They are super polite to keep their conversations low and personal.

On top of that, foods are well prepared and tasty. Selections are wide and very different ( my goal is to try all dishes there, but got 1/3 so far). The portions are fairly large, ideally to share among the group.

I have taken family and friends here and they all love it...

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Malaysian Food”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I have been here a couple of times and the food is great. It's as close as you can get to the local malaysian food. And for muslims patron, this place is halal and they have the san diego halal certificate at the front desk. (although they still serve alcohol at this place). The owner is a chinese malaysian (the owner might not be muslim).

I would recommend Nasi Lemak, which is white rice cooked in coconut milk, and comes with anchovies cooked with chilli. It has a small portion of beef rendang (spicy sauce, looks like curry but doesnt taste like curry).

I also like the cendol (google it since i have no idea how to tell you what it is). It's a sweet drink (if it's not sweet, it's probably because they dont put enough caramelized sugar in it).

the mee goreng mamak is also good, taste exactly like what you would get if you were in malaysia. It's like pad thai noodles, but cooked with soy sauce and other spices that i am not sure of.

I recommend eating at this restaurant. The price is okay although a bit pricey for those that expects more for the price. For a typical malaysian, a $12 for a dish is probably too high, but i think it's okay considering how close they get to the real thing. But i do agree that $5 for a cendol is too pricey but all thing consider, it might have cost them that much to get the ingredients.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nazim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My favorite indulgence”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

So far this is the best Southeast Asian food I have had in the O.C. The service is great too. I always look forward to going to Belacan Grill.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyb68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Toro, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impeccable Service and Excellent Food!”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

If you love Malaysian and Indoensian food, you woul love this restaurant. Food is all great with nice presentation. What differentiates this restauarant from other restaurants is the service. Customers are treated like "Royal". All waiters and waitresses constantly checked on you and tried to make sure that you enjoy your food. This is one of my new favourite restaurants. Try their: Ayam masak merah (chicken with red sauce) or seafood noodle (chow mein). And if you like spicy, "nasi Lemak" not to be missed! But all of their food are excellent anyway!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belacan Grill also viewed

 
Tustin, Orange County
 
Tustin, Orange County
Tustin, Orange County
 

Been to Belacan Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing