We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in response by young man at the desk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Orchard Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Turlock
A TripAdvisor Member
Red Bluff, California
16
Reviewed November 15, 2004

My husband and I stayed the night of November 4th at the hotel in Turlock, California, checking out the morning of the 5th. We had traveled from Gallup New Mexico that day, checking in late and wanting a nice room. The room was beautiful but there were some problems that I relayed the next morning, with a very unsatisfactory response. We had a smoking room, but there were no ashtrays, so we put water in one of the plastic drinking glasses in the room. There was an ironing board but no iron. The lamp on the desk didn't work. I took a shower, walked to the bed and felt my toe hit something. I looked down and there was a huge worm curled up on the carpet. My husband picked it up in a tissue, and put it in the microwave so we could show someone. I completed the "Comments" card in the room, and took it with me to check out and get my $25 deposit back the next morning. There was a young man with a cellphone to his ear when we walked in. He never did take the cellphone away from his ear, just asked if he could help. I handed him the "comments" card and told him we had some problems, at which time my husband unfolded the tissue with the worm and told the young man he wanted him to see this before he "set it free". All the young man did was look at my husband, laughed and asked "Set it free, huh?" My husband took the worm outside, the man said he would give the card to housekeeping, handed me my receipt and $25 deposit and said "there you go". He never apologised for the problems we brought to his attention, didn't say he would have them taken care of, and most of all he never took that cellphone off his ear. It was not the hotel phone, it was a personal cellphone.
I loved the room decor and the size of the room but due to this young man's attitude, demeanor and that phone stuck in his ear I would have a difficult time recommending that specific hotel.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Orchard Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 329 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Ventura, CA
27
Reviewed July 20, 2004

My family and I recently stayed here because my son was competing in a Karate tournament in Turlock. Your choice of hotels in the area is very limited unless you want to stay a little further out in Modesto. This is certainly the best hotel in the area. The room was spacious and very clean and included a refrigerator and microwave. My only real problem was the amount of freeway noise. The hotel is right off the highway and the traffic noise was really loud in our room. We stayed in a room at the back of the hotel facing the freeway. It is probably a lot quieter in the front facing rooms. If you stay at this hotel be sure to request a room on the front side of the building which faces a fairly quiet street. Other than the noise, it was a pleasant enough place to stay.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
424
Reviewed October 19, 2003

We had our annual family reunion in Turlock, California on 10-11-03.
Before our trip, I talked to the family and asked about the best place to stay. Best Wetern Orchard Inn won hands down. This is the newest and by far the nicest place to stay in town. The hotel was pleasant, clean and most of all very, very comfortable. Our rate was $69. a night. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sandchar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Urlaub4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Massimo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turlock
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Turlock
Comfort Suites Turlock
#4 of 11 in Turlock
119 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Turlock
Hampton Inn Turlock
#1 of 11 in Turlock
121 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Turlock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Turlock
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Turlock
11.5 mi away
Best Western Palm Court Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Orchard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Orchard Inn

Address: 5025 N Golden State Blvd, Turlock, CA 95382-9552 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Orchard Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Turlock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Turlock
Price Range: $95 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Orchard Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn! Your favorite sporting events are a short drive away from our Turlock hotel where value, location and quality come together. Do you want to be next to Freeway 99, but still enjoy the comforts of a superior property? Our Turlock hotel is minutes from Stanislaus Fairgrounds where many popular events take place year-round. The Gallo Winery is also in the region, and a favorite destination for tastings and group events. The Hilmar Cheese Factory (R) is another local can't-miss attraction. Enjoy beautiful landscaping and a tranquil countryside setting, but still be close to the charming town. Your Turlock hotel features oversized RV/bus parking, making our property a favorite for truckers, RVers and those traveling with bigger rigs. Employees with the cheese factory, winery and Almost Orchards count on us to deliver the friendly, homey atmosphere that makes business travel better. CSUS also brings business travelers to the area and we're happy to treat everyone like part of the family. Just eight miles from Modesto, California, you can enjoy getting away from it all but still be near modern conveniences. You'll be surrounded by palm and orchard trees at this Turlock hotel where serenity comes easily. Dig into a daily complimentary hot breakfast along with a morning newspaper. Breakfast specials include hot waffles, a fruit and pastry selection and endless 100% Arabica coffee. After breakfast, slip away to the sparkling outdoor swimming pool and hot tub to relax. Free Wi-Fi makes it simple to check the day's agenda or see what's happening in the area. Nearby recreational parks and lakes provide a welcome getaway. However, if a day trip is in order, you're just 40 miles from Stockton Metropolitan Airport and 80 miles from San Francisco. With easy freeway access, a trip to the cities, beaches or deeper into the countryside are all possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Orchard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Turlock
Turlock Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing