We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent room but no cleaning service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Orchard Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Turlock
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stay here from time to time when in town. There is a lot that is ok about it--I like the rooms fine, though they are not as fancy as some of the bw plus properties, it is pretty good for Turlock. I was bummed today though that I left at 10 am, returned at 9:30 PM, and my room had not been cleaned when I returned. I was sure to NOT leave to leave the privacy sign up because I wanted it cleaned. When I sadly trekked down to the office to get towels and coffee for the morning, I was told it wasn't cleaned because there were only two people to clean 50 rooms this morning. To that I say: hire enough people so you are not inconveniencing the customer. This is NOT the kind of place that will give you a discount because they failed to clean your room. It IS the kind of place where they don't have enough people working, so this may happen to you if you stay here.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask to have your room cleaned if that matters to you
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank franktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 338 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having to make a very last minute reservation for the night I didn't have much time to research hotels so I took my chances.

This turned out to be a decent place to crash. Rooms were updated. Beds were a little firm for my liking, but they were on the newer side. Pillows were small (didn't matter for me, I always bring my own. We stayed on the street side and it was very quiet. The heater unit was quiet which was a big plus for us.
The bathroom had a strange smell that I never could put my finger on.
The bed only has a sheet and a thin coverlet on it, which for me never works out well, but I like a nice warm comforter, so that's just personal taste.
Wifi worked just fine.
Breakfast was eggs, sausage, cute made on the spot waffles, yogurt, muffins and a variety of cereals and juices. A very nice expanded continental.
Price was 89 a night, which for the area seemed a bit high, but I didn't have a choice.
They are dog friendly with a $20 pet fee.
There is a small pool and hot tub.
Would look around for a lower rate if ever in the area again, but would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request the street side (away from freeway).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hulabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagement05494, Manager at Best Western Orchard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We appreciate any and all feedback from our guests. We hope that a return trip is in your future, and again thank you for visiting our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very clean and updated room. (in fact it seem new) Nice people working in lobby.
I thought price per nite a little hign due to location. But other hotels had similar prices due to event in area that week end.
Overall 5 stars!! and the free water/coffee and cookies were a nice touch.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagement05494, Manager at Best Western Orchard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. We welcome any comments from our guests to ensure that you have a pleasant experience each time you visit our property. We hope that you will continue staying with us in the future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was very pleased with my recent stay. Staff accommodated my specific request and need of early check-in and additional towels during my stay. Oversized, 2 king beds/kitchenette worked well. Kitchen needed some airing out as the cabinetry was stale and smelly and an empty wine bottle remained in cabinet. Need more trash cans throughout - at least one in each room. Room decor was decent. Nice, large, flat-screen TV. Great location for my business purposes. Freeway noise (even on opposite side of building) could potentially keep a guest from resting soundly. I will likely return monthly to conduct my regional meeting.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank LISA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagement05494, Manager at Best Western Orchard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Lisa R - thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our property. We do rely on the input of our guests so we may continue making improvements. Please continue to provide us with feedback on your future stays. We look forward to seeing you on a monthly basis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

All basic amnemities (sic). Strong WiFi on East.
Decent breakfast. Friendly staff. Right off freeway.
Good motel parking. Close to shopping and food.
Not HDTV signal, but flatscreen TV's have 60+ channels, and lots of spanish.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: East side (away from freeway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is the lower end type of Best Western hotel. It will meet all your needs if you just need a place to sleep for the night. The room was clean, but don't expect many extra's. I would not want to sleep on the bed for more than one night, though again, it was fine for this level of BW hotels.

The location is fine, noise was not a problem, and the staff is efficient. I would pick this hotel for a one-night stay without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camusfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stay at this lovely property 4-6 x's a month I love the friendly staff, the location, the pool the comfy beds and appreciate all the upgrades in process. If there was one thing I'd change it would be to have the pool heated to use year round. I love Orchard Inn

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Joy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turlock
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Turlock
Comfort Suites Turlock
#3 of 11 in Turlock
121 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Turlock
Hampton Inn Turlock
#1 of 11 in Turlock
137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Turlock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Turlock
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Turlock
11.5 mi away
Best Western Palm Court Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Orchard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Orchard Inn

Address: 5025 N Golden State Blvd, Turlock, CA 95382-9552 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Orchard Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Turlock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Turlock
Price Range: $89 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Orchard Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn! Your favorite sporting events are a short drive away from our Turlock hotel where value, location and quality come together. Do you want to be next to Freeway 99, but still enjoy the comforts of a superior property? Our Turlock hotel is minutes from Stanislaus Fairgrounds where many popular events take place year-round. The Gallo Winery is also in the region, and a favorite destination for tastings and group events. The Hilmar Cheese Factory (R) is another local can't-miss attraction. Enjoy beautiful landscaping and a tranquil countryside setting, but still be close to the charming town. Your Turlock hotel features oversized RV/bus parking, making our property a favorite for truckers, RVers and those traveling with bigger rigs. Employees with the cheese factory, winery and Almost Orchards count on us to deliver the friendly, homey atmosphere that makes business travel better. CSUS also brings business travelers to the area and we're happy to treat everyone like part of the family. Just eight miles from Modesto, California, you can enjoy getting away from it all but still be near modern conveniences. You'll be surrounded by palm and orchard trees at this Turlock hotel where serenity comes easily. Dig into a daily complimentary hot breakfast along with a morning newspaper. Breakfast specials include hot waffles, a fruit and pastry selection and endless 100% Arabica coffee. After breakfast, slip away to the sparkling outdoor swimming pool and hot tub to relax. Free Wi-Fi makes it simple to check the day's agenda or see what's happening in the area. Nearby recreational parks and lakes provide a welcome getaway. However, if a day trip is in order, you're just 40 miles from Stockton Metropolitan Airport and 80 miles from San Francisco. With easy freeway access, a trip to the cities, beaches or deeper into the countryside are all possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Orchard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Turlock
Turlock Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing