We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe their website.. It's all a lie.”
Review of Sunrise Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Turlock
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't believe their website.. It's all a lie.”
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Bedding and furnishings are old. The linens are not "luxury" as advertised either. No flat screen as advertised. Sadly, it's a crummy motel on a bad side of town. Stay somewhere else if you can.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hookem05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gst_services, Guest Services at Sunrise Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. In order to better address your concerns, we would like to point out that "luxury sheets" is under the "room upgrades" list (as advertised on the front page of our website). We feature several room types, some with more luxury amenities than others. If you choose a room with the absolute lowest price, you will not find the same amenities as compared to our "deluxe" rooms. Deluxe rooms feature bedding with thread count between 300-500TC, which are much higher than the typical hotel or motel.

All rooms do feature a "flatscreen" TV (as stated by the manufacturer) however we apologize if you were expecting a plasma flatscreen TV as unfortunately the term "flatscreen" has been often miscontrued to refer to only plasma or LCD varieties. We will take steps to clarify this in our ads in the future.

Customer satisfaction has been our primary concern since our grand opening in late 2007 and we are sorry your stay did not meet our usual standard. If you have a specific request for an amenity (i.e. luxury sheets, DVD player), please let our Front Desk know during the reservation process or check-in so that we can ensure your stay is completely satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    39
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
42
53
20
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
turlock, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2009

I am a student at CSU Stanislaus, and i stayed at the Sunrise Inn with a CSU Coupon for a free night. I expected that when i got there, because i won the ticket we would have got the worst room. Also the exterior of the grounds threw me off a little bit. I was not sure if i was going to like staying there.
I was happily surprised when I found out they put us in a very nice room. All of the people were extremely kind and courteous. My boyfriend and I had a great night’s sleep, and a wonderful breakfast the next morning before we went off to school.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We were so amazed at the service at this motel! Eight of us stayed overnight for a family wedding and were treated as if we stayed in a 5 star hotel! When I asked for the iron and ironing board, it came in minutes with a smile. As the attendant was leaving he asked if we needed extra pillows, which we so appreciated. The pillows arrived moments later. The next morning we were surprised to find at the continental breakfast - they made banana crepes and yogurt/fruit parfaits upon request. The ladies in attendance were sweet, friendly and gracious! A wonderful breath of fresh air at this motel!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svenSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Went to Turlock for Family Wedding and searched for hotels. Picked this one based on the renovation and comments from others who have posted reviews. Only 1 mile from our event in downtown and served us well. Excellent rooms, adjoing rooms available as we we selected. Very affordable....... $101 out the door for a two room two bath. Nice arbor with grass to visit and listen to music.

Outstanding service and friendly staff...... Breakfast of waffles, parfaits, continental etc. and all personally prepared by the staff.

Location not a destination location, however, definitely a place to stay if you are passing through or have an event such as ours.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank enjoyedCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2009

I stayed at the Sunrise Inn after hearing about their hardwood floors and although their exterior isn't incredibly fancy, my overall stay was very enjoyable due to the level of service that I received, from front desk to housekeeping. Everyone at the property is very friendly and upbeat unlike other "corporate" places where you get the typical run-of-the-mill desk clerk.

The room and bathroom were very clean and I loved the hardwood floor's glossy look. I do wish the room's desk was larger though. My room came with a memory foam upgrade which was perfect for my aching back.

Unfortunately I didn't have enough time to sample their breakfast but I did try their breakfast coffee. Although it wasn't Starbucks coffee, it was rich and bold in flavor and strong enough to get me going.

What really sets this place apart is their service especially at the price range of their rooms. The last time I had such great service was checking-in to a much more expensive hotel in Las Vegas during my brother's wedding. I highly recommend checking this place out if you happen to find yourselves in Turlock.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjdocbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Speaking for most business travelers out there, what is one thing that we all need? How about a great breakfast and table service to boot? My last stay was at a Hyatt Place in New Jersey and yes, the Hyatt boasts luxury with a large screen plasma TV. But what they really needed was an improvement in their breakfast area and for me, despite some minor shortcomings, Sunrise Inn seems to be actively racing the franchised 3,4-star hotels to provide the ultimate hotel experience.

A couple of things that I would have liked to see at Sunrise Inn is the addition of a fitness and business center. The front desk staff were willing to fax some documents for me but it's always nice to be able to have a pseudo-business office away from the office (yes, I suppose I'm in the rarity there).

Rooms were cozy but they are a bit smaller than the rooms I usually get at the Holiday Express and Hampton Inn. Hardwood floors reminded me of Candlewood although at Candlewood you only get a small piece of hardwood floor in the kitchen area.

I had no irks with the bed -it was fine and clean. The best part about Sunrise Inn was their service and breakfast. Trust me - I've tried just about every hotel continental breakfast out there (Comfort Suites, Travelodge, Hyatt Place) and only a handful of hotels offer a satisfying breakfast for under 100 dollars/night. Yes, a hot breakfast at the major branded hotels is nice - except when the kitchen can't keep up with demand for eggs and the breakfast sausages are so salty, you find yourself drinking three glasses of orange juice. Sunrise Inn has been added to my list of great breakfasts primarily due to their selection but also the service provided by both the lobby staff and housekeeping. One member of their housekeeping in particular was especially helpful during my stay.

For Sunrise Inn, things I would like to see -> a hot breakfast (but careful with the salt), a business center, and possibly a fitness center.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2008

The Sunrise Inn would really have gotten 4 stars except for the bed was hard as a rock. Literally. Put your hand down on the desk you are sitting at and that was the bed. I think that's what made me wake up every 2 hours on the dot and toss and turn all night long.

That being said, maybe you like hard beds, and if so you should live at the Sunrise Inn. Otherwise, the remaining cons make up for the second docked star.

Cons:
-I saw 3 ants in the bathroom. One on the ceiling and 2 next to the sink. Ick!
-Not enough towels. Since the floors are hard wood, and there is no mat inside the door, we tracked wet/muddy shoes inside the room when we first arrived on the ONE day it would rain in the Central Valley.
-Tiny blankets. Seriously people, the blankets need to cover at least 6 inches over the bed.
-No drawers. Only a small hanging space in the TV stand.

Pros:
-Extremely friendly service. The cleaning lady, upon seeing me enter room 117, stopped me and told me the toilet wasn't working, which the front desk man forgot. So she took it upon herself to run and get us a new key for a couple rooms down.
-Shower is very nice. A shower-head with adjustable spray settings is my favorite.
-And of course, unbeatable price. $63 bucks for the night, at a nice, ample parking, spacious, clean inn.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Hard bed
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnzyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turlock hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Orchard Inn
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Turlock
Comfort Suites Turlock
#4 of 11 in Turlock
119 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Turlock
Hampton Inn Turlock
#1 of 11 in Turlock
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Turlock
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Turlock
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Turlock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Inn

Property: Sunrise Inn
Address: 1350 N Golden State Blvd, Turlock, CA 95380-2312
Location: United States > California > Turlock
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Turlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Sunrise Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Opening 2007! Sunrise Inn is located conveniently off Highway 99, just one block from Donnelly Park and just 15 minutes from the Hilmar Cheese Company, a popular tourist attraction. We offer 42 brand new rooms, cable televsion, brand new furnishings, and complimentary high-speed internet access. Our location is approximately five minutes from CSU Stanislaus; come view the campus scenery with waterfalls, bridges and sprawling greens! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunrise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Turlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing