We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steps from the casino and without the smokeAND no resort fee”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel at Black Oak Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuolumne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Immediately felt sorry for those working checking; the desk was too close to the two sets of automatic doors and the freezing breeze from outside. At first glance I thought it novel that they were dressed in fleece, then it dawned why!
The lobby had two seating areas and high ceiling with bridge connecting the two sections of the second floor. This modern four story hotel had all of the amenities one world expect at a resort hotel without having to pay that "resort fee." The internet was also free and there was a Keurig, microwave, and fridge in the room. It was refreshing not to be gouged for another fee.
The room was reasonably comfortable, extremely clean, and independent climate control. Plus, the hotel did not have a hint of lingering smoke. That was nice after visiting the casino.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grammawa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 128 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

First visit for our anniversary.Checked in on a Fri about 3pm. it got busy later, so I recommend early if you can.

Very nice lobby w/cozy feel, nice furniture & pitcher of cucumber water was a nice touch.

We had room 209 facing the trees/creek & got to see a few deer out of window. Room was very spacious, just as described w/flat screen, table w/2 chairs, 2 lamps, fridge, etc. The bathroom was very nice compared to a standard bathroom at casino hotels when you don't upgrade to a suite. Nice bath products, plenty of towels, loved the magnifying wall mirror, but would've liked a hand towel holder (we used the wall mirror).

The pool area was very nice, big, w/2 outdoor showers, plenty of loungers. Pool was warm, but we only used hot tub. Very clean, lots of jets, and ample space.

Checked out gym on basement floor. Nice equipment and spacious, but we didn't use it on this trip.

We would've liked it if they had a spa to get massages. Something else to do away from the casino.

Had a blueberry muffin next morning at the hotel cafe. It was good, tasted homemade as it wasn't overly sweet or dense. They had lots of cute items for sale.

Overall, we loved that it was not connected to the casino; some may not like the short walk, but the fresh air & feeling of separation was nice. Staff was professional & courteous; hotel was very clean & nicely decorated. We'd go back for an occasion/event, but we don't frequent this area/casinos.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheVez5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This NEW hotel in the middle of gold country is definitely one of the areas nicest and cleanest hotels that my wife and I have stayed in. Rooms are ample ie: keurig, microwave, flat screen TV. There is also a hot tub and pool outside.

We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NoChips4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed four four nights. This hotel is new, very well equipped and managed extremely well. One can avoid the Casino, as did I, except that the restaurants are there. The family floor, completely non-smoking, is a great place to eat, play games, and enjoy the 18 lane bowling alley. The heated, saltwater swimming pool and jacuzzi are perfect for unwinding after sight seeing. The staff were so friendly and competent. A real gold nugget in the Gold Country.

Room Tip: The rooms on the parking lot side of this hotel are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very nice Hotel with a super staff! First time staying here was a real pleasure. We are sure to be back again. Loved the look of the hotel and the casino. Food was very plentiful and tasted great. We would suggest brighter room lighting (LED?) and softer pillows. We really have not complaints about any of it though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were working on the Rim Fire and we stayed her two nights. The rooms were so nice we didnt want to walk in because we were very dusty. Wow what great rooms, huge glass walk in showers,an auto toilet.....you dont have to flush it! The beds were something else, big fluffy pillows and soft beads.
This was not the place for construction guys, the room were plush and super clean.
Take the family, the kids will really like it.

Room Tip: Eat at the bowling alley ( down stairs) its great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

During our stay the hotel went out of their way to be accomodating and were very friendy. Our room was always clean and the beds were very comfortable. The housekeeping staff did an amaizing job being responsive to our every request. The casino cafe went out of their way to meet our needs even when they were serving a limited menu due to the impacts of the Rim fire. When in the area again I will definately return to this beautiful resort!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiremomCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuolumne
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
21.8 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
22.4 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
168 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
824 reviews
7.9 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Black Oak Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Black Oak Casino

Address: 19400 Tuolumne Rd N, Tuolumne, CA 95379-9696
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Tuolumne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuolumne
Price Range: $118 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
148 room luxury hotel, with over 6,000 sf of flexible meeting space, 164,000+ sf of gaming and entertainment options for everyone. Choose from 1200 of today’s most popular Reel and Video Slot Machines, 24 Table Games, Poker, five Bars, four Restaurants, a 24 Lane Brunswick Bowling Center, a Players Club, Gift Shop, and an Arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel at Black Oak Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing