We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jbardo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Town & Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2009

we have stayed at this location several times and the reason is how friendly the staff has always been. really makes a difference!!
the rooms are always very clean and smell great. our children love the breakfast bar as much as we do. in todays economy this great travel bargin just makes sense. we will be staying again not only at this location but when we travel we will stay with best western

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jbardo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 790 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2009

I have been a guest at this hotel, for the past 17 years. The emplyees, one and all are very polite, and friendly. At the front desk they always have an inviting smile, or a "we hope to see you soon", and they always make sure that the room is clean and comfertable. The owner, has always had a humble and gracious demeanor. All of the Management, are very professional, and ready to help. This hotel is under constant improvement. Paint, carpet, wall treetments, and decor. And most of all the beds and pillows are very comfertable.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank awayfromhome123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

I wonder if the good and bad reviews break down along even and odd room numbers. If you get an odd numbered room, it will be stuffy, noisy, and have a terrible view.

If you get an even numbered room, it will be much more peaceful and you can open the window without having parking lot noise.

I was in an even-numbered room, with a single bed. I thought it was above average, though I'd have liked a light by the reading chair. Furniture included a desk, an armoir, a fridge, a comfy, queen sized bed and a reading chair and ottoman. I can't think why anyone would want more things to trip over. My room looked out on a dusty redwood tree- very nice. I kept my windows open all the time and it was never noisy.

The room included a decent sized closet, 2 suit case cot-thingies, an ironing board and iron, a blow drier, a decent sized fridge (that WASN'T full of minibar rip off items-hooray!), a microwave, a coffee maker, and of course that enormous TV, which has become standard in even the low-end hotel rooms.

The breakfast was just ok. It included:
-weirdly particle-ized scrambled eggs,
-hard boiled eggs,
-super salty, fatty sausages,
-3 different very sugary cereals (even the Raisin-bran-y cereal was really sweet),
-a make-your-own-waffle set up, which was fun,
-some blah danish-y things
-english muffins & toast
-orange juice, milk, and apple juice
-instant oatmeal
-red delicious apples
-coffee
-tea bags and hot water

What there wasn't:
-anything whole grain
-drinking water
-edible fruit (the apples must have been there for show- does ANYone like those mealy mushy no flavor red delicious?)
-any dishes that weren't stryrofoam. Is this 1970? That stuff is EVIL!
-a peaceful atmosphere- the TV was turned to Fox News political debates. This is a bad thing to have to deal with before coffee.

However, the hotel is easy walking distance to several restaurants (most of which are closed Sundays) and Albertson's grocery store, so you won't starve. The hotel is also within less easy walking distance to outlet stores, a mall, and a lot of big box stores, so shopping is an option if you are bored or forgot something.

Those of us in odd-numbered rooms had such a noisy party going on under their window at 3 am so that they couldn't sleep. Their windows looked out on an asphalt wasteland and highway 99. I do not recommend the odd numbered rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank November000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

Hotel on route 99 south of Fresno, set well back from the road.
Well received at reception but did not have a room ready for me at 2.30 pm.

Good size room but no immediate access to the car from room. Has a nice size pool and spa with a large sitting area. However the pool was not heated. There is also a bar and gym but no restaurant.

If you are looking for fine dining you've stopped at the wrong place! Only fast food, Dennys being the best I could find.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

This hotel is nice. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The Wi-Fi connection is fast. The hot breakfast is delicious and even includes scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage, in addition to everything else you would expect - cereals, toast, pastries, coffee, juices, teas, etc. The pool and spa areas outside are also very nice. As a bonus, this hotel has very reasonably priced laundry facilities, with two washers and dryers. The staff was helpful and friendly, especially the breakfast attendant. I would recommend, however, if you are visiting Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks that you find someplace much closer. It is a good 1 1/2 hrs. from Tulare.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank StPtCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

The room was huge! A great deal for the price we paid. I do agree with a previous reviewer that the room lacked furniture. We also found the room and the hotel (in general) to be stinky. Our non smoking room reeked of smoke. Even our beds/pillows smelled like smoke. EWWW! The carpet was also Very stained. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelingFamily0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

We called 'on spec' having been to Kings Canyon & Sequoia National Parks. Receptionist helpful & friendly. Our room was enormous and freshly painted (could still smell paint) clean and comfortable with the bonus of the rooms being inside the hotel rather than motel style. Breakfast adequate continental style. It was an ideal stop over and would use again. The only downside there was a little traffic noise.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hollymist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulare
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulare
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tulare
7.8 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 14 in Visalia
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
777 reviews
12.0 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
7.3 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#5 of 14 in Visalia
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Town & Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Town & Country Lodge

Address: 1051 N Blackstone St, 99 Freeway and Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tulare
#1 Business Hotel in Tulare
#1 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range: $87 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Town & Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Town & Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Town And Country Lodge
Best Western Plus Town & Country Hotel Tulare
Best Western Tulare
Tulare Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing