We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Had a wonderful and pleasant sty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1051 North Blackstone St., 99 Freeway and Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
La Palma, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful and pleasant sty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I travel to tulare at least twice a month and everytime I am heading out of town I called this hotel. The service is awesome the rooms are clean and the staff is very kind to me. They know me by name now and the breakfast they service in the morning is very good. I do say this is a really nice place to stay when you are travling..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MNC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTulare, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us when visiting Tulare and for taking the time to share your thoughts. We continue to do our best to provide consistently-excellent service, clean and comfortable rooms, and a satisfying hot breakfast. We look forward to your visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    204
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
190
167
49
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

After a long drive from death valley we stayed the night here. The hotel and rooms were ok, nothing special. The bathroom was a bit tiny. There was à fridge and microwave in the room and there was free wifi, but thats something all best westerns seems to have these days.
The complimantry breakfast was ok, but you have to use disposable cutlery and plates.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard-Roadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTulare, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us after your long drive from Death Valley, and for sharing your experience. We’re glad that you were able to utilize our popular amenities, like our swimming pool, fitness gym, and bar, and appreciate you letting us know we were we have room for improvement. It’s our goal to exceed our guests’ expectations, and we will take your feedback to our management and staff. If passing through the area, we hope you will consider us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
982 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Memorial Weekend, Visalia was full booked and I opted for Tulare, a 3 star hotel, with small pool and Jacuzzi (max 4). Most travelers stay here for a couple of days and get up very early (breakfast starts at 6 a.m. Mo to Fr) to get a head start to the parks. Not much else to do in Tulare, Motel 6 and Comfort Suites are next door. A good diner next door Apple Annies. Rest drive to Visalia, nice stroll in downtown and lots of restaurants. (reviewed in 2010)
P.S. for a night cap the hotel has a nice bar. MeuterMedia

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTulare, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We appreciate your business and your comments regarding our hotel and what the area has to offer. We do have many guests who find our location convenient because of our proximity to Sequoia National Park. If passing through this area in the future, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I was scared when I walked into the lobby to check-in. Staff was really nice but the lobby wasn`t! I continued being nervous as we walked down the corridor, thinking oh no, I hope the room is ok. Opened the door and gave a big sigh of relief!! The room was great!! Must be newly remodeled. Flat screen Tv, very comfortable King bed. Mini-fridge. Very promptly cleaned the next day. We went to Sequoia Park and was pleasantly surprised that it wasn`t far. I was a litte worried about the distance but it went quickly...lots of fresh fruit/vegetable stands. Scenery was great after Visalia. Breakfast was plentiful and quite good! Didn`t have time to see the pool. We stayed in 118, there isn`t any elevator and we didn`t feel like walking up. Great room, close to breakfast room. Couldn`t hear anything from above. The lady at the front desk suggested it. The ones farther down have been renovated and are non-smoking but she told me that you can still smell the smoke a bit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tammyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTulare, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. We read each one and look for areas where we are doing well, and areas where we can improve. I’m glad that you enjoyed your room and noticed our new amenities, like our 37” flat screen TVs. We are continuously upgrading our property, and will take your feedback back to our management and staff. I’d like to share that in the near future, we will be upgrading our hallway carpets which will further improve our public areas. We hope you will consider us again when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
279 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here for two nights over Memorial Day weekend. The price of the lodging was reasonable for our visit to Sequoia National Park and King's Canyon National Park. There was no wait during check in and check out. Requested a stay on the second floor. For those who do not like climbing stairs, request a ground floor room since this hotel does not have an elevator. All the staff encountered here were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. The gym's equipment all worked well. As for the free breakfast buffet in the morning, it included everything to fill you up. Indeed, this is not a continental breakfast, but a full breakfast. If you eat here in the morning, you will leave stuffed! This Best Western establishment comes highly recommended. As a point of information, the visit to Sequoia National Park was fun. At the General Sherman Tree (largest tree on Earth), a black bear was strolling through the trees like he owned the place. (He did!) And in contrast to the tens of thousands of people encountered within Sequoia National Park over this holiday weekend, only about a dozen people were at the end of the highway in King's Canyon National Park upon arriving there late in the afternoon. It is a very beautiful drive along the river as you travel to this secluded federal park.

Room Tip: If you are disabled or just do not enjoy climbing stairs, reserve a ground floor room since this hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrLorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTulare, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while visiting the national parks and for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay. Your kind words affirm what we try to accomplish with each guest’s stay, and that is, from check in to check out provide a comfortable stay and excellent customer service. Thank you again and we hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We had traveled from Arizona pulling a horse trailer and we had a 14 Y/O German Shepherd with us. The whole experience was outstanding, especially the service from Audrey, the Front Desk clerk. She was kind and VERY helpful. The morning breakfast was very good. The location was excellent and the beds were great. I would recommend this Hotel to any one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

When we need a day from the rest of the world -- you can't go wrong at Best Western in Tulare, Ca -- you got it all -- comfort - quite - peaceful -- breakfast and good service -- we been going here for the past 5 + years -- never had a bad night

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanabeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulare
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulare
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tulare
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 13 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 13 in Tulare
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
7.8 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge
Address: 1051 North Blackstone St., 99 Freeway and Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulare
#1 Business Hotel in Tulare
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Best Western + Iniative, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Town And Country Lodge
Best Western Plus Town & Country Hotel Tulare
Best Western Tulare
Tulare Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing