We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Could be so much better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 99 Palms Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
99 Palms Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Wichita
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

1st the place is hard to find, our newly updated GPS couldn't find it, as it really is in the middle of nowhere. The rooms themselves are very nice, however, the wifi is poor, the pool was closed (the reason we booked the room in advance) and the breakfast was a joke. Rooms were spacious, and clean, a nice comfortable bed and the fridge and microwave in the room was quite nice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back offer a lot of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikefurches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    11
    9
    2
See reviews for
11
18
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
227 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here on a father-son road trip to attend a brother-in-law's funeral in Visalia. Room isn't brand-new, but was very spacious and clean - bath floor tile was slightly discolored (but otherwise clean), and bath wall tile was in very good condition. Comfortable king bed. Traffic & train noise never an issue. Very well-maintained grounds with inviting pool. And the price for the value received was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RCMoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norther Central PA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Don't let the surrounding area keep you away! There were six in our party...3 adults and 3 children. We had one large room with 3 Q beds. With our senior discount we got a great price. The room was very clean, the beds were comfortable. The internet was slow..not an issue for us. There is a train somewhere close by but it none of us heard it when sleeping. It didn't bother us a bit. The breakfast area was small but clean. Breakfast consisted of coffee, tea, juice, 2 kinds of cereal, and 1 pastry per person only. The downside? You had to pay for ice. and...the building next door was dilapidated and covered in graffiti but at one time it must have been a grand place to stay. There are pictures of it in the motel showing it at it's peak period. It was very ritzy. The owners were very friendly and you could tell they cared about cleanliness. Overall, it was a great value, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladymedonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tann, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed there for a week because there was nothing else available in the Tulare area. First I thought I made a big mistake but it turned out to be not to bad. The only downside was the basic breakfast but the rest was good. I can recomend room 111

Room Tip: I can highly recomend Room 111 because there are pictures drawn on the wall about the story of the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andiv82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLORADO SPRINGS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

M99 is old but comfortable. I had fresh towels, shampoo and soap everyday also had housekeeping when I didn't really want or need it/comfortable bed and clean pillowcases. The girls at the front desk (3 in my 6-day visit) were clean, nice and polite but were totally useless in giving directions to anywhere!!!! The phone calling area is extremely limited and there was no public phone, (Of course no one knew where there might be one) . The parking lot is in sad need of repair. It is in a remote area but after all it is farm country , what else would you expect?????? If you lower your expectations you'll be fine. I personally didn't get close enough to any maintenance people or groundskeepers or drug dealers to know if they reeked of alcohol. i was just passing thru.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIMI V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

To be honest, Motel 99 was fairly comfortable - our bed was good, the A/C worked, there was plenty of hot water for showers, and we had a fridge and microwave in our room. The two main problems are location and appearance of the property. This motel looks like it was salvaged from the wrecking ball - it is adjacent to a boarded up restaurant just next to Hwy. 99. The owners have endeavored to upgrade the property somewhat, but it still doesn't inspire confidence. Also, the motel is located near a dairy farm, and whenever we stepped out of our room, the smell was pretty overpowering. We stayed in this motel because it was advertised as being near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks, but it was an hour or more drive over very winding mountain roads. Finally, their "complimentary breakfast" consisted of sugary cereals (2 choices), Danish pastries in little packages, and coffee and orange juice. I am not a big "sugar" person, so I thought the breakfast was pathetic. At the very least they should have advertised it as a "continental breakfast". We stayed at another motel a night later that advertisted a complimentary continental breakfast that included waffles, breads and bagels, fresh fruit and all kinds of things.

Bottom line, if you need a cheap place to stay, and you don't care about looks, this is a good place to stay. Otherwise, I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank umuzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tulare hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

As soon as I walked in the office the little old lady was rude, unfriendly, and scolding me about the rules. I was over charged. The A/C leaked inside the room on my clothing and trying to inform the lady of the problem she denied it made me out to be a liar. My favorite part of the motel from hell experience was the lights were on a timer and had to shower in the dark or wave my hands around every minute to turn back on.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mydogchazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulare
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulare
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 13 in Tulare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#4 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 99 Palms Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 99 Palms Inn & Suites

Property: 99 Palms Inn & Suites
Address: 26442 North Highway 99, Exit Number 92 off CA-99, Tulare, CA 93274 (Formerly Motel 99 Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 99 Palms Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 99 Palms Inn and Suites is located just off Exit # 92 on Highway 99 (Golden State Highway - both North and South bound)in the historical Tagus Ranch in Tulare, California. Nearby world famous attractions include Sequoia National Park, Kings Canyon, World Agriculture Expo, Tulare Outlet Center, Visalia Fox Theatre, Visalia Convention Center and rural agricultural farms. The hotel is surrounded by the beautiful farmland of California with 55 extra large and clean rooms and a nice outdoor pool in the middle of its Grand Courtyard. The hotel also has free Wireless Internet throughout the facility so you can work and relax from anywhere within the hotel premises. We take pride in customer service, cleanliness and ensuring that your stay is relaxing and comfortable. Free Complimentary Coffee and Continental breakfast is included with snacks and microwavable foods for sale in the lobby. We also have RV and Truck Parking spaces available. Downtown Visalia, Tulare, restaurants, malls, shopping and the Convention Center is 4 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your 99 Palms Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing