We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian surpize in farm town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Piazza Ristorante Italiano

La Piazza Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #4 of 96 Restaurants in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fresh, homemade Italian cuisine specializing in steak, seafood, veal, lamb & Your favorite Pasta! Bread baked daily by chef/owner. Homemade gnocchi, tiramisu as well as sauces, etc. Fresh squeezed cocktails,beer & California-Italian wines. Casual-fine dining restaurant in an Italianesque atmosphere. Romantic & family areas. Private banquet room available. Family owned since 2005. Ample parking. East of Hwy 99, near hotels & shopping.
Penn Valley, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Italian surpize in farm town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have eaten here twice on our way to N. CA. It is a fancy little island in a farm town. The steaks are great but very pricey. Pasta dishes are good, in our limited experience. You can tell it is a local eatery, especially on the weekend. A nice relaxing atmosphere with an upscale feel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank janie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPiazzaItalian, Owner at La Piazza Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you,Jan, for your kind review and that you were surprised to find us in the dairy capital of the US!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

i love this restaurant and have been many times,
I have recommended it to many friends and often suggest we go there if meeting for dinner. I have never been disappointed.
The staff are fantastic, the food is delicious and so is the wine.

cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RiaG720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPiazzaItalian, Manager at La Piazza Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear RiaG720, Thank you for your high recommendation and continued patronage. We appreciate it very much! Melina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unlikely Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Just off Freway 99, in a town famous for it's farm show, I would hardly expect to find a place like this. Authentic gourmet Italian food as good as I've had anywhere. While I tend toward the tortellini, I have never been disappointed with trying something different here. The tiramisu is the must try item. Last time we went, my wife and I ordered 3 different deserts to take home and split over the remainder of the weekend. If you're in town for the farm show, or the antique farm show, or if you're just driving that long stretch of Fwy. 99, it's definitely worth stopping in!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Honest J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPiazzaItalian, Manager at La Piazza Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you honest J for your wonderful review. When I first starting eating the chef-owners food tortellini alla panna & tiramisu were my favorites too. Now I have so many favorites! Melina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Italian - who says”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Two adults, two children on a week night. The service was prompt and attentive. Spouse had lasagna and I the veal parmigiana. The children’s menu is limited; they can have spaghetti or they can have spaghetti. The older boy ordered a seafood Alfredo petite portion [half-price of the adult cost plus $2.00]. The lasagna was declared good, but nothing to distinguish it from frozen Stouffers. The veal parmigiana was ample [three pieces] but well covered in thick cheese [not lightly sprinkled with grated parmesan], like it was so poor it had to be disguised. Total bill [one glass house Chanti] was $66.00; not exorbitant but over priced for the quality. I’d classify this establishment as a “wannabe” Italian restaurant, but probably using other than a qualified Italian chef.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kids wanted pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

pizza is different here, but still good pizza. May be back

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Enu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPiazzaItalian, Manager at La Piazza Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed our food, but we do not actually have pizza. La Piazza is a word that means plazza or town square. Most cities in Italy have at least one piazza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piazza Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to La Piazza Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing