We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charter Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We really enjoyed this place. Room was very nice. Location was prefect for us. Close to the national parks and outlet stores within wlking distance. There are plenty of fast food restaurants just around the corner and an IHOP straight across.
Wifi was fast and reliable, even in the room. Breakfast was very nice too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lt_Frank_Drebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    51
    16
    5
    9
See reviews for
74
70
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on Pet Friendly hotel site and what a find. Clean, friendly and good rates. Breakfast was great, as was happy hour and they even provide bathrobes with all the amenities of a high price hotel. Love this place and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurat111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We enjoyed our visit and were pleased with everything. We had plenty of room. The breakfast was good although I think they could have done a better job with the eggs. We ate at the end of the breakfast period and things were getting scarce.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Level 6 Contributor
740 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel had a lot going for it: clean, spacious suite with a comfortable bed and comfortable sofa (some hotel sofas are awful), very quiet (Room 327), free Internet, table and chairs, desk, free local calls, ironing board and iron, hair dryer, one bathrobe, cable channels, clock, good lighting for reading, good water pressure and plenty of hot water, a pool, good A/C, elevator, lobby with comfortable chairs, decent breakfast (sausage, eggs, cereal, waffles, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, milk), safe parking, near several restaurants, plus helpful and polite staff. We've traveled a lot and this was very comfortable and downright inexpensive. We've paid twice as much for this quality and comfort. Would definitely stay here again. BTW - They allow pets, but we never saw or heard one. We have no complaints at all!

Room Tip: We always wear ear plugs for hotel stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very good hotel .Clean like it should be.
friendly and helpfull staff
Nice looking Hotel is very OK
you have alittle outside area
Swimmingpool is also clean
You also can go to the internet because there is a computer
many people have wifi but i am still from an other planet

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had 2 nights here, using it as a base for day trips into Sequoia, King's Canyon and Yosemite. The hotel is perfectly clean and pleasant. It offers a breakfast (limited selection available but we enjoyed making our own waffles in their machine!) in its very overcrowded lobby area. You can't walk anywhere from here for dinner, except IHOP next door. The pool is small and a bit grubby but my daughter enjoyed a swim at the end of the day. You can get a very nice beer in the hotel lobby, which was appreciated after a day of driving.

There is a small laundry room, which was quite handy.

One tip - you can go over the road to Smart and Final and pay $3.50 for 35 bottles of very nice spring water - much better than paying $1.75 each along the way - and very useful when walking in the parks!

I left my UK plug converter and iPhone charger behind and when we asked for it to be sent on to Los Angeles the hotel said it was never handed in, so either the maid decided to keep it or the cleaning wasn't thorough enough for her to even notice it, and the next guest decided to keep it. Not sure which of those options makes the hotel look better!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 800MeganG800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I don't write reviews very often, but I think this is worth sharing. We had a guaranteed booking for a night. When we arrived late evening the desk clerk told us that the hotel was overbooked and we had to move to another hotel. When we asked how this can possibly be when we have a guaranteed booking the desk clerk said there have already been a few guests this night who also faced overbooking. Pardon, but do you really think it makes us feel better, when you tell us that you treat many of your clients that way? To make things worse, the room in the other nearby hotel was a worse category than the one we had booked AND payed for. The clerk (Hector) was neither helpful nor friendly.

To me this business practice is absolut inacceptable in the hospitality industry. As a guest I expect that everything runs smooth and I am treated welcoming. This experience in the Charter Inn was the opposite as we had to carry our luggage back to the car, drive to another hotel and get in all 30 minutes later into a room that was worse than what we had payed for and that we did not selected.

To Charter Inn management: If you really think you have to do overbooking in order to maximize your profits, then develop a process that works for your clients. Like calling clients with guaranteed bookings before you take their rooms away and ask if they would accept to move to a room of at least equal standard when they get a small voucher or whatsoever for their inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fahrenundsparen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulare hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tulare
0.2 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Lodge
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Tulare
Quality Inn Tulare
#7 of 12 in Tulare
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 12 in Tulare
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter Inn & Suites

Property: Charter Inn & Suites
Address: 1016 E Prosperity Ave, Tulare, CA 93274-2354
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Charter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charter Hotel Tulare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing