We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“not much to do at tulare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charter Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charter Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“not much to do at tulare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Room is large, sheets are clean but carpet is really dirty. Air cond/heater is very noisy. Breakfast is fine, bread, bagel, waffle, yoghurt and lots of coffee and juices. There isn't much to do in Tulare though, we travelled to Visalia for the farmer's market as the one in Tulare us on another day. Found a really authentic Mexican restaurant called Vejars, fantastic food. Very popular. We stayed here for a night before going to the Sequioa National Park the next day. Its slightly more than an hour away. Would stay at Three Rivers if we have the chance to do it again. Its much nearer to the park and the nearby Lake Kaweah is beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    46
    12
    5
    9
See reviews for
66
65
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

After traveling for 2 weeks this was far the beat place we stayed. The rooms were great and spacious. Amenites were great they have eveything you need.The breakfast was by far great. The young lady vanessa at the front desk when we checked in was awesome we even had to take a pic of her to remember her by!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetheart1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very clean rooms,great staff has everything you need away from home.Would stay again everytime.lots of Amenities.Only regret is pool and hot tub closes at 10.Your paying for service should be able to use as adult

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokey1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Awesome place for money, best place we stayed at over 10 days. Very nice, GREAT breakfast, free wireless wifi. Refrigerator in the room that worked! The breakfast had bacon, eggs, waffles with strawberry and whipcream topings, yougurt, lots of coffee and juice. THe rooms were very clean and very spacious!! Close to restaurants but not walking, try the Black bear diner just down the street. (by car)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrrrkva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
366 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very nice and charming hotel well located near the road to go to Sequoia Park ; the lobby is very nice and the service extremely good ; we had 2 rooms and they changed the configuration of our booking to allow less walk for our children .
Swimming pool is nice and you feel at home in this hotel; rooms are very spacious and breakfast was also good . we asked for dinner around and they gave us plenty of good address . there is a small mall in front to have an expresso .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevelair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

First off, I had extremely high expectations for this hotel, given all of the positive reviews and the website information about the property...all of which turned out to be misleading, or a flat out lie!!! When arrived at the hotel, that I booked in THE FIRST WEEK OF MARCH, I was told that they had "accidentally" overbooked the hotel, and that I would have to move the Best Western...uh, Okay? I was then told to "hold on, let me see what I can do" by the front desk clerk, as if she were doing me some sort of favor. After about 15 minutes or so, she came out to inform me that they had "found" a room for me...great, right? Not so fast ! I then inquired about the free "happy hour" advertised on their website, which boasted of "free beer, wine and snacks." I was told that the "free" beverages were actually $2.50 a pop, and that they have "...been trying to fix that on the website, but it just won't stay fixed"...what???!!! As we finally headed upstairs to our room, I knew we were in trouble, as the distinct smell of cigarette smoke began to invade my nostrils as soon as i stepped off of the elevator in this "non-smoking" establishment. Once inside the room, the smell of stale smoke was so intense that my daughter, who is slightly asthmatic began to cough. I headed back to the desk and asked if there were any non-smoking rooms available...of course there were none, since "all of our rooms are non-smoking, someone must have thought it was a smoking room, since we ran out of door signs"...(again, what???!!!). When I got back to the room, I immediately noticed stains on the walls and switches. There was also either dried splattered feces or blood on the back of the toilet that couldn't be seen with the lid up, as well as a puddle of liquid on the floor that seemed too far from any water source to be just water (?). Needless to say, I began to question all of the housekeeping standards of this location's staff. At this point, we had enough and just wanted out. I went down to tell them about all of our issues, and they were apologetic (albeit only slightly). I was then told that I "probably wouldn't be charged anything", but if I saw charges on my card, I could call the GM and "ask for a reversal" of the charges. Charges for a 10 minute stay...insult to injury is putting it mildly. Do yourself a favor, and stay at the Fairfield Inn And Suites around the corner, there's nothing to see here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAnce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, Ca
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My hubby, 9 yo and I walked into the lobby, hot and tired after a long day's drive, hoping for a quiet swim, a soak in the hot tub, and a peaceful night's sleep. But. There were people everywhere. It was a noisy, festive atmosphere and, upon making inquiries, we were told there were multiple children's basketball teams staying there, along with parents and coaches.

I expressed some apprehension about getting a quiet night's sleep, and the lady behind the desk said, "Oh, it's going to be really loud." She then assigned us a room on the 3rd floor. Children were running up and down the halls, yelling and laughing. When we opened the room door, spirits already sagging, a thick cloud of smoke wafted around us. It was a smoking room and we were non-smokers.

We shlepped back down to the front desk and explained the problem to the non-sympathetic young lady. Suddenly the other person working there, Alex, jumped in, ascertained the problem, and escorted us upstairs to a non-smoking room. He promised to speak with the coaches about the noise, and said that he personally would monitor the situation, asking for acceptable volumes of noise. Later he called and offered us, unasked, a healthy discount for our inconvenience.

It wasn't long before we heard a coach bawling out the kids for their behavior in the hallways. Alex really made good: we had a peaceful night's sleep. This dedicated young man turned our experience around in a most pleasant way.

The hotel itself was clean and enjoyable. The hot tub was great. The pool was really cold, but that didn't stop the kids from jumping in and having fun. Breakfast was good, with a large selection of food.

I only hope that Charter looks a little more closely at the people it places behind the front desk: they can really make, or break, the experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyGrassValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulare
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tulare
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 13 in Tulare
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Tulare
Quality Inn Tulare
#7 of 13 in Tulare
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter Inn & Suites

Property: Charter Inn & Suites
Address: 1016 E Prosperity Ave, Tulare, CA 93274-2354
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Charter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charter Hotel Tulare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing