We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charter Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Tehachapi, California
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here just one night. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were very clean and spacious. The beds were also comfortable. Everything in the room seemed to be like new. The room we had even had a ceiling fan. The fitness center was basic but had what we needed. The breakfast in the morning was more than expected, waffles, eggs, biscuits and gravy, fruit and much more. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2crzytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    50
    15
    5
    9
See reviews for
73
69
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,293 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was the perfect stop on our CA road trip near the National Parks. Not sure if it would be wise for actually visiting the parks but we stopped here on our way back home. Clean, simple, big rooms and good breakfast. Great choice for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is the second time our family has stayed here. I was in a regular room. My folks in a handicapped room. Wonderful in both cases. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast and the appetizer bar in the evening was very nice... We will stay here again! Thanks

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ariverbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Great beds. Very nice breakfast. Excellent coffee. Nice happy hour. Superb service. Brandon is an asset to the hotel

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newamica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I find myself in Tulare (on business) about once a month. I always find a place to stay by bidding on Priceline. I am always sent either to the Best Western or to Charter Inn. One plus for both of these places is the free breakfast, including make-your-own waffles. At Charter Inn, they also provide free dinner on Tuesdays and Thursdays. The dinner is average at best, but if you're hungry and not too particular, what the hay!

Rooms are spacious with a flat screen TV and a bunch of channels. The free WIFI is spotty. On multiple visits, I have had to call the front desk and have them reset their router(s).

Compared to the Best Western, the Charter Inn is my second choice. Nonetheless, a pretty good place to stay. Convenient to Hwy. 99.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street ale a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDDING
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We booked this hotel based on others' reviews..... we were not disappointed. If you're traveling on hwy 99, stop at this hotel. It's special. Our room was spacious, bed comfortable - breakfast - surprisingly good - scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, waffles, etc. All good! Nice staff. GREAT price! We'll stay on our return trip north to our Redding home.

Room Tip: We went to La Fiesta Mexican Restaurant for dinner - amazing food for what I'd call lunch prices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We chose to stay in Tulare, CA for 1 night in June because it was a good waypoint on our trip back to Santa Monica from Sequioa National Park. We chose this particular hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. We weren't disappointed. The location was convenient and safe. The facility was spotless, the pool was clean, the room was simple but spacious and in perfect repair. The included breakfast was more than adequate, and very convenient for our early departure. And the price was under $100. It was probably the best bargain of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasualVTTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulare hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tulare
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulare
0.2 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 12 in Tulare
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Tulare
Quality Inn Tulare
#7 of 12 in Tulare
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter Inn & Suites

Property: Charter Inn & Suites
Address: 1016 E Prosperity Ave, Tulare, CA 93274-2354
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Charter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charter Hotel Tulare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing