We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“ROACHES!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ROACHES!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I strongly DO NOT recommend this hotel.. STAY AWAY! My friend and I booked for one night after a long drive from Yosemite National Park. The front desk staff was rude. There was drug dealing in the parking lot, and the elevator and room smelled like cigarette even though we asked for a non smoking room. There were stains on the bed sheets. Not to mention that this is completely false advertisement; we did NOT have a flat screen tv like it mentioned that we would get. We instead had a big box tv with only 3 working channels. We tried to make the best of it since we were only staying there for one night. My friend then noticed BIG roaches when getting out of the shower. We then inspected the room and found about 6 more roaming the room. Scared that they would go in our luggage, we grabbed our stuff and notified the front desk clerk. She did not seem surprised when we told her that there were roaches in our room. She did offer another room for us, but at this point we were just done with this hotel! We booked a room at Best Western. For ten dollars more we got a nice CLEAN room and good breakfast. The only good thing about this experience is that I did get my full refund.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    7
    8
    25
See reviews for
23
15
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulare, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I need to let You know first and foremost that I had a very bad experience almost a year ago when I tried to rent a room here and didn't plan to ever come back ,I am so glad that I gave it one more try because thanks to the new People working here Especially Kimberley I can say not only will I be coming back I will be recommending the Red Roof Inn to all My Friends as well.Your rooms where the cleanest and comfortable too

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The room we stayed in was very clean. This is by far, one of the best hotels I have personally stayed in. The manager, Kimberly, was very courteous, and helped us find the best room for my family. We will certainly stay here again!!!

Room Tip: exellent,i would recommend all to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The staff here are very helpful ROCKY worked tiressly to find a room for us were thr wireless internet worked and got a frig and microwave from another room so our food wouldnt spoil and the manager KIMBERLY was instrumental in helping him help us will always stay here when in town.
jo and lesley cole

Room Tip: rooms over office are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We are traveling between Porterville and Fresno quite frequently and require overnight stays at quite a few Hotels along RTE 99. By and large, we have received the most courteous service, the cleanest rooms, and best rates from the Red Roof Inn, located in Tulare CA. At the front desk in the evening, Brittnea has been amazing accommodating our requests and booking our rooms for our multiple stays. Rocky has provided excellent service during the day. Excellent staff choices provided by their manager Kimberly.

Thanks to all, Rudy & Mayita

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are upgraded and have flat screens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RudyYMayita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have said "I will never stay there again" .Then i received a e-mail from the new manager Kimberly, responding to my negative review. Saying she is sorry for the bad experience on our last stay and if we decide to stay again it will be different. Well it was and it was sooo worth it,the staff is awesome Rene at nights is super helpful and was really nice to my dog Bacon. Brittney was another very awesome staff member that made the stay worth a second chance .The only thing i saw that still needed to be delt with was the housekeepers they were kinda rude and some times i would have to go and hunt them down I can see that still needed allot of work. The rooms were and the price was way better than last time. The hotel grounds were cleaner,and all in all Because of the New management and staff worth a second chance

Room Tip: The third floor is less noisy. And the laundry is kinda pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Price was right! Staff was great!!!! Stayed before for business and will stay again!! A little bit of rif raf around but for the value not a problem. The price and staff make up for the rif raf :) Brittney and Rene were very nice! Rooms were satisfactory! Restaurants and stores very close right off the freeway! Thanks guys for a nice stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulare
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Tulare
Quality Inn Tulare
#7 of 13 in Tulare
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 13 in Tulare
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charter Inn & Suites
Charter Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Tulare
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds

Property: Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds
Address: 1183 N Blackstone St, Tulare, CA 93274-2347 (Formerly Tulare Days Inn)
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds is conveniently located alongside Highway 99. Red Roof Tulare is close to downtown Tulare, Tulare District Hospital, the Tulare Fairgrounds, and the Greyhound Terminal. Lemoore Air Force Base and the Amtrak Station are only 25 miles away, and Visalia Airport is just 10 miles away. Tulare hosts the annual Agricultural Expo. Sequoia Park, Fresno International Airport, and Three Rivers are located approximately an hour’s drive from the property. Shopping malls, outlets and restaurants are within walking distance from the property.The Red Roof Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds features a sparkling outdoor pool (open during the summer months), a newly renovated lobby,24 hour Hot Coffee Service,Fresh Apple and Orange juice served daily in the morning, high speed wireless internet throughout the property, plenty of free parking for cars/trucks/vans, and a coin operated guest laundry. All guest rooms feature expanded cable TV, hair dryers and in-room coffee. Deluxe rooms also feature microwaves and mini-fridges. Irons and ironing boards are available at the front desk. Our friendly bi-lingual staff speaks both English and Spanish. If you’re hungry at odd hours, we have surrounded by several great restaurants and we also have a snack vending machine at Red Roof Tulare in the Lobby. One well-behaved family pet is welcome at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Tulare
Tulare Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing