We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Rid of the Jukebox!”
Review of Chilito's

Chilito's
Ranked #60 of 105 Restaurants in Tulare
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Get Rid of the Jukebox!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent Mexican food at an unbelievably affordable price. I would have been charged double the price for my fabulous chimichanga in a restaurant here in SoCal. Waiter was also wonderful and food came out very quickly. However, it was extremely annoying when someone went to the jukebox in the corner near the bar and decided to play a bunch of rap music that was turned up to high volume. It ruined the entire experience for us!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesertRat011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The bartender at the hotel we were staying at recommended Chilito's. This restaurant was within walking distance from the hotel which was good even on a hot day. The food was good, typical for a Mexican restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beasley33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulare
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Way better than I expected!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I've lived in Tulare forever and had never tried this place until today. I always thought of it as a run down looking Mexican restaurant and nothing ever made me want to stop. Tonight my husband and I, desperate for something new, decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed! The diabla sauce is a must for anyone that loves very spicy food, I had it on the fish and it was so delicious, the fish was so tender and perfectly cooked!! Home made corn tortillas were such a treat. Very good service, I will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ibkatg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Love their warm bean dip!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I like to go here every time we are in Tulare. Love their warm bean dip that is served with fresh tortilla chips! I had the taquitos with rice and loved it. Their margaritas are really good, too! It was quite crowded when we were there which is a good sign these days.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank K. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oh, Yes, Chilito's Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great ! Walking up to the restaurant is exciting when you see the beautiful outside patio dining area. Cheerfully and enthusiastically greeted by a waitress. A big spacious seating selection has options of a spacious dining room, a dining area near the bar with televisions conveniently located throughout or a relaxing outside dining patio. I chose the quite patio with all it's beautiful evergreen trees with nice accents.The servers we friendly and quick to approach the table with chips and salsa. The menu has a nice selection of the usual Mexican dishes. The food was served surprising fast. My server was very attentive and always available for any comments or dining requests. There were several families with small children as well as adult groups. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chilito's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing