We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The best breakfast in town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #3 of 96 Restaurants in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best breakfast in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Black Bear Diner has a great variety of hearty and light meals for breakfast. You can hardly finish your plate and the food is delicious. Their lunch and dinner menus are good. Their bacon cheeseburgers are excellent and so are their pies. More of a down home cooking dinner menu (meatloaf, turkey, etc)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    61
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulare, Ca
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great home style food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Black Bear serves delicious food and large servings. Tri tip dinner is always a good choice. Pancakes are the best! If service could only be more consistent!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kspast2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Black Bear Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Tulare Black Bear Diner is one of the greatest restaurants in Tulare. The food is always good and ample. The service has always been courteous and fast. Great dining choice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank donaldanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Yet another poor dining experience... slow service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Arriving for lunch about 1:30 pm we found it to be not too crowded and yet it took 30 minutes to receive our hamburgers once our order was taken. The fellow seated across from our table had ordered before we sat down and received his bacon, eggs and hash browns after we received our order. He thought that the order was not been put in as he thought the waitress was incompetent. The waitress also took a long time to give us our bill after we finished eating and requested it. Other customers were left waiting to receive their bills. The food was average but a little cold. I have only eaten at three Black Bears and have had poor dining experiences at each location. I believe I have visited the three most poorly managed locations as friends and family have had much better luck at Black Bear restaurants.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JRonaldT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bland ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Business traveler eating alone

Pros:
Seated right away

Very friendly service

Clean, countryish decor.

Cons:
The food was bland. I had the pot roast, mashed potatoes and gravy, green beans. The meat was tender but no flavor.

The best part was the green beans and they were greasy.

Helpful?
Thank Sacha_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing