We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a great place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #3 of 102 Restaurants in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
169 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were looking for a place for dinner after a long day of driving. We found this place and we were glad we did. The prices were very reasonable and the food was good. The sides and desserts were large portions. They had $9.99 regional specials which was more than enough. We saw that this was a chain restaurant and were hoping to find another during our trip but alas we were not successful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank safety_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    69
    19
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Get a plate full of great food. Any meal of the day. Chicken fried steak, meatloaf, pot roast, burgers, and breakfast. Deserts too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dirthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
527 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“So good we went back the next day.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in Tulare 2 nights. The first night when we went to Black Bear Diner we both had their "little less" meat loaf dinner. When it arrived my husband commented to our server that if this amount was "less" he was glad we didn't order the "regular" size. We had a lovely salad to begin and the entree came with the meat, mashed potatoes, vegetables and a corn muffin with honey butter. I couldn't eat it all - it was a lot of food. It was very good and really "hit the spot". I get tired of sandwiches. Our bill was $21.68 including tax. The next night my husband ordered his favorite - fish and chips - and I asked if I could get a side salad with a grilled chicken breast on top which they agreed to do. I also ordered a corn muffin which we shared "for dessert". Again, really yummy food. Our bill that night was $19.00 including tax. The place is large, and clean, and the staff is friendly. We love Black Bear Diners. They have a wide selection of food at reasonable prices and we have never had a bad meal at any of the locations we have visited.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great find by accident.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great place to stop for a bite to eat. Awesome service. Good food. Good prices. Would go there again without a second thought.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLR-from-Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steak & Eggs best value in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Excellent restaurant, nothing to complain about. Food is always plentiful, service is great and staff is pleasant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TaylorConsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing