We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Hand Luke needs to clean up!”
Review of Cool Hand Lukes

Cool Hand Lukes
Ranked #5 of 104 Restaurants in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Step back in time at "The Coolest Joint in Town", for a taste of the Old Wild West. Featuring the best in Steaks, Ribs, Chicken and Prime Rib,Seafood & more. Cool Hand Luke's promises large servings, a full wine list, a one of a kind saloon and the best dining value available. Open for dinner 7 days a week, and open at noon on Sundays. Happy Hour All Day Everyday! "Every Guest Leaves Happy"
Exeter, CA
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cool Hand Luke needs to clean up!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We took my mother-in-law to Cool Hand Lukes on 12/9/12 for a birthday lunch. The good - the waitress could not have been more accommodating and friendly. She took our orders promptly and provided fast friendly service even bringing a birthday sundae. The bad - the place was not clean. I could write my name in the dust around the booths. Bread plates had to be replaced, because of crusted on food. The prime-rib was tough and the hamburgers tasted as if they were frozen burgers. The chicken-salad had mushy tomatoes and the chicken was really bland. This is our 2nd poor visit - probably won't give them a 3rd shot!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ShreRnae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    60
    22
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulare, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best steaks ever!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is by far the best restaurant in Tulare. The ribeye and skirt steak are excellent, as well as the calamari. Great dinner salads and rolls. We go here every month. Treat yourself.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ok Food But An Excellent Tume”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The atmosphere was very good. It took awhile to get in even though I called ahead and made a reservation.

Our server was Excellent! She made the evening. The good was flavorful but I wasn't impressed with the quality of the meat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Rib-eye steaks and Prime-rib dinner”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I always enjoy eating at this Cool Hand Lukes restaurant. The service is very good. The bar seems to always be busy during football season as several televisions broadcast the games. There is a happy hour nit to be missed. The best part is the great food. The beans and sourdough bread appetizer nearly fills you up before your main course arrives. The prime rib and rib-eye steaks are cooked to perfection and if you can squeeze a desert down, they have some of the best. Prices range from $12.00 for a dinner and up depending on what you order. It is a good family restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leachwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Evening drink before bed”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Comfortable and welcoming for drinks before bed. Children very welcome. Evening meal little expensive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cool Hand Lukes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing